time for action

22 Jul

I am humbled by the comments left on my last post. Thank you for all of the support and encouragement and friendship. I am still stressed but I am feeling like I can handle everything.  I have to admit, I am surprised at how I am reacting to this stress. I have been feeling low, alone, and even lower. I am not a low person so this is really throwing me for a loop.

Yesterday, after work I did a quick inventory and realized we needed some groceries.  So we went grocery shopping and stocked up on healthy, on-sale groceries. Stocking the house a little bit helped. Today we will go to our meat market and stock the freezer (hello $3-$4 whole chickens) with good quality meat at reasonable local, non-grocery store prices. We will continue to check out the local produce stands and farmers markets.  This weekend, while the Jersey tomatoes are lovely, we are going to buy a ton of tomatoes at $2 for a bucket and make sauce to freeze.  Filling the fridge and freezer makes me feel secure and therefore less stressed.

I decided the first thing we needed was food, good healthy food not just cheap. I can’t pay bills and have an empty fridge and/or pantry. To me that doesn’t make any sense.  I need to know my family is still eating good and healthy foods. Have you been in a grocery store lately?? I swear, it IS cheaper to eat like crap. I can’t let our health suffer because of a stupid bill and stupid stress. We have made great strides in choosing healthier options and I will not let us go back.

This morning,  I came across the “Don’t Quit” poem. I have read this poem before but today, I actually googled it. Did ya’ll know that there is a lot more to the poem than what we all have heard forever?!?!

Check it out:

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest, if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
When he might have won had he stuck it out;
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow–
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than,
It seems to a faint and faltering man,
Often the struggler has given up,
When he might have captured the victor’s cup,
And he learned too late when the night slipped down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out–
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit–
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

– Author unknown

Wow! I have never read the whole poem but I really like it! I am going to come back here and re-read this poem when I feel like I can’t keep going. I know there will be many more time when I just want to give up.

Yesterday, I took steps to help settle my stress. Today, I am taking more action to help even more. Yesterday, I filled the pantry. Today, I will fill the freezer. Today’s plan is to clean and organize my house.  There is too much clutter and that will distract me and paralyze me from moving forward.  I also know that if I am going to be working out at home, I need a space to do that.

TODAY, I am taking control of the things I can control.  After the house and mind are declutterred, cleaned and organized I can think of a new plan.  Stay tuned.

How do you take control when all around you seems to be falling apart? How do  you keep moving when you feel paralyzed?


8 Responses to “time for action”

  1. Kirsten July 22, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    I'm so glad you feel less overwhelmed and you have a plan. ((hugs))

    • jeninRL July 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

      Thanks! and I can feel that hug! xox

  2. Christina July 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I love love love that poem, so fitting! I'm in the midst of a stress-filled time too and it's the little things (like your posts, and that poem) that really help me put things into perspective.When I'm stressed, I clean. For whatever reason, if my life is in chaos it helps to have an organized kitchen, bedroom, etc. Something about the lack of clutter makes me feel more in control of everything. That and I exercise… nothing like a good hard run to put things in perspective. Those endorphins are miracle workers, I swear! Keep on goin, I'm so glad you've already found ways to lower your stress :O)

  3. Trish July 22, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Taking a bad situation and turning it around! THAT is awesome and I knew you had it in you. I love your plan and am so proud of you! xoxo

    • jeninRL July 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

      I am trying Trish. I will fake it til I make it if its needed. I cannot curlup in a ball and cry but I can control the things I can control. I amdetermined not to fall apart.Thanks for your continued support.xox

  4. lastminutemandy July 23, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    I come to friends! And that's what you have done. We'll help push you forward. I know April will make you drop and give her twenty. And Trish will cheer you on. And everyone sends you great big gooey piles of lurrrrrve. 😉

  5. seemamarun July 24, 2010 at 3:29 am #

    I love that you have put a positive spin on what would otherwise make some people (me included) want to just curl up in a ball and scream “I give up”! Grocery store crap is so cheap, you're right, but fueling our family and ourselves with the good, albeit more expensive, stuff will make the difference in the long run. The Don't Quit poem is one of my favorites. I have re-read it so many times. Keep up the great work at controlling what you can control. I'm proud of you!

  6. Shannon July 27, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    XOXOXO Love you!

Leave a Reply

