mindful

25 Jul

I have been known to be a bit of a scatterbrain. I start a zillion things but I don’t always finish everything I start.  I usually am “working” on 3 or more things at a time.  A.D.D. anyone?!?! Ok, I have never been diagnosed but I have definite tendencies. So, for the first time in my life (maybe a bit dramatic but close enough) I am going to focus on one thing at a time.  The focus of the week is to be mindful.

This week, I begin training for my very first half marathon.  A half marathon?!?! Really, who am I? It wasn’t all that long ago that I proclaimed I hated running. I was never gonna be a runner and that was fine with me! I am still not exactly sure when and how it happened but I started running. And I liked it!

But why a half marathon?!?! Good question, I am so glad you asked!

I know myself. I am easily distracted and the queen of procrastination. A half marathon required me to truly prepare. I must train. I must train for weeks and weeks….12 weeks to be exact. I cannot half ass a half marathon. It is absolutely essential that I put in the hard work required to complete 13.1 miles.  ESSENTIAL! That is why it had to be a half…so I can’t procrastinate and half ass it.

This past week I let stress get the better of me! I did not work out. I allowed myself to eat things I know I shouldn’t have been eating. While I don’t feel I went overboard like I used to do, I made choices I have not been making. The worst part is I knew exactly what I was doing, I just didn’t really care.

The word for this week is mindful. I need to spend time with my thoughts and be mindful in my actions. It will do me no good to just mindlessly go about my business. I need to be mindful in my training. I need to be mindful in my eating. I need to be mindful in my relationships.

Training begins tomorrow. I am super excited to start my half training.  I am following Hal Higdon’s plan for a novice with a few changes. I will be switching my rest day from Friday to Saturday depending on what day I decide for my long run each week.  Based on some advice from friends who have completed half marathons, I am going to make sure my rest day is the day before my long run. I printed out my training plan and added dates so I can cross off each day.

Thanks to my good friend, Jenna, I have been menu planning for a while now. I have not been the best menu planning blogger lately but I have been planning. Summer is a bit harder to plan and blog but I know how incredibly important menu planning is to my journey. I am not the most organized person so I need all the help I can get. Making a menu plan really helps me keep everything straight.  I enjoy sitting at the table with a notebook and cookbooks and recipe magazines spread out around me. I take everyone’s schedules and meal choices (the kid and husband each get to give me requests and I fit them in as best I can) and put together a plan.  I write it all out and stick it up on the fridge.   This week I am trying something a bit different. I am posting a picture of my hand-written menu.

Along with my menu plan for dinners, I am going to plan out my breakfasts, workout gear, lunch and work clothes before I go to bed. I want to be ready and prepared for each day. I finally broke down and got myself a new Fitbook.  I know I need to track better and I loved my old fitbook. It feels good to start a new fitbook, which conveniently enough has 12 weeks worth of tracking and my training is 12 weeks long.

I must be mindful in my relationships. I have decided to take a week away from twitter.  Twitter distracts me and eats all my time.  I need to spend more time with my family and myself. Quality, undistracted time. I am going to see how I feel after a week but I think this twitter break will be good for me. I am also going to limit my online time, the random time-wasting online time must be limited. I will continue to blog.  This week really taught me that I need my blog. Writing is like therapy.

Tomorrow is a big day.

A fresh start.

A beginning.

Week 1, HERE I COME!!

5 Responses to “mindful”

  1. Nadine July 26, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    I hate Twitter and refuse to use it. It IRRITATES me that a lot of the bloggers who do giveaways do so ONLY with Twitter comments.Anyway, congrats on your HM training. I used the Hal Hidgon plan for my 1/2 too and I will offer you this advice, piggybacked on making sure your long run comes after a rest day…keep the strength/stretching after your long run…AND definitely use some of your XT days to strength train! Strength training for runners doesn't always have to include weights but body weight strength training that helps build up muscles in the quads and hip flexors that can lead to injury.Mos of all, have FUN!

    • jeninRL July 26, 2010 at 10:55 am #

      Thank you for your comment. I don't host a ton of giveaways but I can'tstand all the hoops some people make you jump through to enter a giveaway. Ilike twitter too much that I am starting to hate it – therefore, I need abreak. Would you mind terribly giving me some suggestions for the strengthtraining? Should I stick with upper body strength since I am working my legswith the running or should I do whole body strength?Again, thank you for your comment.XOX, jen

  2. DareToBecome July 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Love your resolve and I am right there with you – time to detox from Twitter!

  3. Tanya July 27, 2010 at 3:37 am #

    So excited to see your updates on your half. I'm loosely following the plan starting this week too – but more just to be able to increase my distance and to get into the habit of working out more often.

  4. Lisa July 28, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    WOW! You have come so far! A half marathon! I'm so impressed!Feel free to use AcceptYourChallenge to log your training…. and help motivate others. I need just half your energy, woman!~ Lisa~ http://acceptyourchallenge.com

Leave a Reply

