keep on keepin' on

28 Jul

picture source

I guess I should be honest and tell you that I am not 100% ok. YES, I know what has to be done but this money stress has me…well…stressed. I am focusing on eating good for me foods. I am tracking my food using my new fitbook and while I am not the best tracker, I am working on it.

I am focusing on the early stages of my half marathon training.  As a total distraction and because my brain is moving in weird circles lately, typing half marathon made me thing of Ryan’s post today.  Should I even call it a half, Mr. NoMoreBacon says 13.1 miles should not be half anything~ but I am not sure what I want to call it. I am training for quite possibly the biggest challenge of my life…so far..so if it isn’t a half what is it!?! How do I refer to my training?I do not and will not call it a race. I am not a fast runner (not even close to being fast) and I still and probably always will use the run:walk method. I do not want to get caught up in trying to be fast. I just want to finish!

I am still fighting the funk. I am still exhausted. Little Miss Lucy has decided that 3am is a good time to play….for an hour! Ummm yeah! This is not conducive to getting up early for working out. I will figure this out. For now, I have only run once this week and I haven’t done any other real workouts. I have been working my butt off at work in the disgusting heat in a building with no air conditioning. I have been cleaning and moving furniture and boxes and books all around the school. Did I mention no air conditioning?!? I may not have logged any strength workout but I have been doing something. Not too impressive, huh?!?

BUT

I am making good-for-me food choices. I am moving and doing something. I am moving and running (ok, it was only once but that was just the beginning)! I have only worked out 1 of the first 3 days of my training. This upset me earlier but now I know I must keep moving forward. I cannot dwell on this “failure” but instead I must dwell on my amazing run yesterday (I will blog about my first run very soon).

My good friend, Jack tells me to just keep doing what I know is right. Day after day.  Day after day after day. I must keep on keepin’ on. Day after day.

Tonight, we finished dinner and I was just all the sudden tired. I was a bit thrown off by this tired because I actually slept in a bit this morning. While Lucy was up at 3am she slept until 7:20 which let me sleep until 7:20 which is a switch from our normal wake up call of 5:30-6ish. I was totally running late for work today but it was sooo worth it. I am tired so I will rest for tomorrow is another 3 mile training run. I did not get an official training workout completed today but I am going to be mindful of my body and right now it is saying it is tired and a tad uncoordinated.

I may not be perfect. My training may not be perfect. But I will keep on keepin’ on! I will keep fighting even at times when it is hard to keep fighting the invisible enemies. I will remain true to myself. It will not always be pretty and positive but it will always be real.

Tonight, while  I was looking for an image for this post,  I found this image: Keep Calm and Carry On.

That is all I got! All I can do!

I will embrace my  NOT-perfectness!!

Can you embrace your not-perfectness?!?

18 Responses to “keep on keepin' on”

  1. Lisa July 29, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    You know you are my inspiration right? You have the best get up and go of everyone I know!~Lisa~http://www.acceptyourchallenge.com

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

      Thank you, Lisa! I am glad I can inspire you! Now it is time to get your rear in gear with me!! I am thinking a challenge may be in order – who can workout the most consistently – something like that – whattaya think?!?

      much love, jen

  2. Bari_F July 29, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I'm in this 1/2 challenge with you-110%. I'm sorry you are dealing with other crap and your sweet little Lucy is not letting you sleep.

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

      Bari,

      knowing that you (and so many others) are training with me is SO helpful! I think about all of you when I am out for a training run! Blogging this stuff out helps a lot and is probably the best thing I could have done – I probably would have gone crazy if I kept it all in my head. I am glad my friends are still here for me – even when I ramble and bitch and gripe – you stick around – now that is love!

      much love my friend, Jen

  3. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans July 29, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Keep calm and Carry on. That is one of my favorite sayings! Things will get better. I know it! I'm hear if you need to bitch and whine or anything at all! xoxo

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

      thanks hooker!!

      much love, XOX

  4. lastminutemandy July 29, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    Your not perfectness is fantasticness. One day at a time, and before you know it, you'll cross that finish line. 😉 (OH, and, did you have a call today you need to fill me in on!?)

  5. Karena @ Very Nearly Vegan July 29, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    I feel you, Jen. Especially on the little one messing with your sleeping habits. My little mister is doing the same thing right now. You're doing fine. The work you're doing IS counting.Love the saying — that may have to be my mantra this week!

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

      I feel terrible complaining about my puppy when I know you mamas with little babies have it soo much harder! We are gonna kick ass at our events!

      much love, jen
      XOX

  6. Nadine July 29, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I'm looking at your countdown to race day clock and thinking….yikes…me too! I just realized that we are running our half on the same day!!!Since this is not my 1st 13.1 my training plan is only 10 weeks long, so I haven't 'officially' started yet, but I'm sweating over it, too. You're RIGHT to remember that it won't be perfect. There is NO SHAME in the run/walk method. There are runners who have built a whole career on it and I'll tell you something else. I have SEEN it work. You will PASS people who are trying to run the whole way and your body will absolutely thank you at the end.

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks Nadine. Hearing your words actually helped a lot! Is your half the same day – October 17th?

      much love, jen
      XOX

  7. Elisabeth July 29, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    In my world, “trying” is the main goal. I don't have to win, I just can't quit. I don't have to be fast, I just have to get there. Life sometimes takes over, and fitness goals are forced to take a back seat. It's OK. You'll pick your training back up and be just fine. I mean…don't wait until like the week before the race…lol.

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks woman! I am not going to push training to the back burner any longer. This first week it may take all I have in me to just run 3 days but I will run those 3 days. Next week I will work on running and cross training/strength on the non-running days.

      Thanks for having my back!

      Much love, my friend! XOX

  8. Jenn @ Watch My Butt Shrink! July 29, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Oh babe, I’ve embraced my “not perfectness” a long time ago!
    You know, even if you sleep in, getting your sleep interrupted at 3AM just messes you up.
    Tell that dog to pipe down,lol!
    Seriously, I hope she starts sleeping all night soon, so you can get the rest you need.
    In the meantime, keep on hanging on – this too shall pass!

    • jen July 29, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      Thanks Jenn!

      *I am testing a new commenty thing – so tell me if you get an email of this reply!

      much love, jen

  9. Lisa July 29, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Ooh, GAME ON! HAHAHA

  10. Shannon July 29, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Jen I love that little picture! Lucy is a stinker pot huh? Badfunkland is sure to disappear soon enough. Keep taking time for you and enjoy the moment. That is what I am focusing on 🙂
    XO

  11. audrey July 30, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    You have the attitude of a winner. Never give up and keep on. You’re an inspiration to so many people (me included!). I’m proud of you.

Leave a Reply

