a quick update

5 Aug

Summer is flying by and I am enjoying as much of the family time as I can while I can. I am sorry but that has left me less time for blogging. I promise to get back to blogging more regularly. I have a lot of In Real Life “stuff” to blog about and I want to blog more frequently but I will not let blogging interfere with my family time.  Priorities have to be set and blogging is part of that but how can I blog if I don’t live?!?

I know myself and I know I will procrastinate and be lazy if I let myself. I am finally on summer vacation completely.  Sort of.  This school year coming up is already looking to be insane [I teach English at an alternative high school] with 13-20 new students, mostly young freshmen & sophomores. I have a lot of prep work ahead of me this month. I write all my own lesson plans; I do not have a set list of books I must teach – I must teach the basics of English (reading, writing, speaking, listening & media) but I search out materials and lessons that have real life implications. For 5 completely different classes.  I have classes separated by grade level so I can have all academic levels represented in each class. The next month will be very busy as I prepare myself for the first month of school.

Goal: I will have all my lesson plans written for the first month of school by August 20th.

I have been training for my half marathon. I need a new name for this – I am tired of saying “my half” – but it is what I am doing. I started this week off strong. I ran on Tuesday and it was my best run ever! I felt strong and fast and the run itself was amazing. I was AM so proud of myself and that run. Getting my runs logged has not been easy: hello east coast HOT & HUMID SUMMER, hello husband is home with me, hello I am lazy & I procrastinate and I make excuses. I am working on all that. Yesterday, I should have logged 2 miles or a cross training and I did NOTHING! I had a 7 hour round trip car ride for a family situation.  I woke up at 4:15am to get my day started and the run just never happened. Today, I am packing and preparing for a trip (more about that in a minute) and I am planning my runs for next few days.  Today, I will log my 2 miles from yesterday. Tomorrow, after driving to the mountains, I will log my 3 mile run and Sunday I will log 4 miles. I have been kind of slacking but Tuesday’s run reminded me how much I like running and how much my body and mind appreciate it when I run.

Camping In Real Life

What the heck does that mean?!?!

It means that my family and I are packing up to go to the mountains. We have friends who live in Northeast Pennsylvania. We will camping in said friend’s yard – he has a huge-as-far-as-eye-can-see kind of yard  complete with two ponds, a giant hill and a shooting range. I cannot wait to leave tomorrow and go hide in the mountains. Rest, relaxation and camping…all with the comforts of home. I NEED INDOOR PLUMBING! I am not a pee in the trees kind of girl. I love camping this was and we do it at least once a year. This time I am even excited about running while on vacation – the humidity up in the mountains is like nothing compared to here right by the ocean.

Today’s agenda is full of vacation prep.  We are taking Lucy with us. A LOT OF PREP today. I refuse to eat like crap just because I am on vacation. I will make ahead some healthy grab & go things – like fritatta muffins, banana bread, hard boiled eggs, fruits, etc.  I have a busy day ahead of me so I better get it all started.

I will be back to share more of the fun of Jen In Real Life….hahaha…can you stand it?!?! What is your favorite way to escape?!?!


3 Responses to “a quick update”

  1. MizFit08 August 6, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    I admire your attitude and resilience, Jen.go forth & have a great trip :)xo xo

  2. Lisa August 7, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    have a great time hiding in the woods! I like to hide in the mountains of Utah. 🙂 and great job on getting your runs done…it is a challenge during the summer with this awful humidity.

  3. Tanya August 8, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Have a fun fun time!!! Ahh yes, getting the runs in when things are crazy can be hard but consider hiking, walking and all the activity still keeps you in shape and feeling good.

Leave a Reply

