training with my boss

12 Aug

Back home! Back to reality! Back to training for a half marathon! HOLY WHAT HAVE I DONE?!?! I have less than 10 weeks to train for 13.1 miles!

Last night I went out for a run. At 8:45. It was dark. It was humid (like 90% but I didn’t know that until I came home and looked it up)!! I ran twice last week, once was on vacation on Saturday, but did not follow up runs with good-for-me food and I definitely overindulged while on vacation. I was kind of beating myself up about all of this yesterday when I finally decided I was going for a run. I was going to run and let all of the gunk out of my head. Unfortunately,  it was way too hot to get 3 miles in but I did manage 2 miles in a little over 28 minutes.

I am and probably always will use walking breaks. Last night I used a 2:1 ration or 2 minutes running followed by 1 minute of walking…rinse, lather, repeat. I rocked 2 miles doing this last night..even with the humidity and lack of music (Lucy the super puppy ate through my skullcandies and it was very dark so I wanted to pay attention). I really like running with walking intervals.  I have been trying to use walking breaks but I was hating watching my watch all the time.  It felt awkward. I felt awkward.

And then I read Marisa‘s review of the GYMBOSS and I wanted to try one.  I contacted the company and asked if I could review one. They sent me one! How awesome is that?!?!

photo source

This little gadget is just that small and simple. It looks like the pager I had in high school. Pagers….that kinda makes me feel old. But really who wants to think about that?!?

The GYMBOSS is the perfect little gadget for me! Small, lightweight, and EASY to use. I set my GYMBOSS to whatever intervals I am feeling. Last night I set it for 2minute runs and 1minute walking…and I set out. I have tried the GYMBOSS on vibrate but I don’t really feel it…I have tried the vibrate on my hip (like where a pedometer) would go and up on the collar of my shirt. I like the GYMBOSS on my shirt the best but the vibrate feature I do not like. I started using BEEP HIGH and even with my ipod on (loud – is there any other way?!?) I still hear the GYMBOSS beep.

My GYMBOSS has really taken the guess work out of intervals. I hear a beep and I switch from running to walking or walking to running. I love it! I just focus on my running and not how long I have been running.  The GYMBOSS is also good for other sorts of intervals – cardio/strength intervals at the gym or rounds of boxing for example.  I have not yet used my GYMBOSS for intervals other than my running but I can see how useful it will be!

I had the pleasure of spending a very early Saturday morning with Marisa to run. I love that she has family in my area and visits frequently in the summer.  Do you see that pink pager-looking thing by Marisa’s neck?!? That is her GYMBOSS and we kicked about 4 miles that day – using 2:1 intervals.

I have a GYMBOSS. Marisa has a GYMBOSS. Do you want a GYMBOSS?

I have one silver GYMBOSS to giveaway to one of my lucky readers! Entry is simple – tell me how you will use your GYMBOSS. That’s it! I will accept comments until Sunday at 11:59PM EST and then pick one winner Monday morning when I wake up.  I will handle the shipping and send GYMBOSS to winner on Monday. Since I am handling the shipping, I will ship anywhere!

Happy commenting!

20 Responses to “training with my boss”

  1. Kirsten August 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    I’m not sure if I would use it for running, but I can totally see me setting it up for one of my kids to do intervals. My older two need some cardio work to make their gymnastics and swimming easier and they hate doing cardio. I bet a gadget would do the trick, because who *doesn’t* love new gadgets?!

  2. Heather Hurd August 13, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    Ooh, this would be awesome. I’d use it in the fall when I go back to trying to finish C25K

  3. South Beach Steve August 13, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    Tabata! It would be so much easier for tabata than a regular old timer.

  4. Elisha August 13, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    I would use it to train for my first 5K. I’ve tried numerous times, but I’ve never made it to running the whole way. My goal is to run a full 5K this fall, then a 10K next spring. Eventually, I want to run a marathon.

  5. FatFighterTV August 13, 2010 at 3:50 am #

    Hey Jen! I am so proud of you for running in the heat. It has been hot here, too, but all I keep telling myself is that I would much rather be hot than cold (hate winter). I do intervals all the time – I have a bad back so I usually do longer walking intervals mixed with running spurts. So… I guess that is how I would use the GymBoss – for my run/walk intervals. 🙂

  6. Chfree34 August 13, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Hi Jen. I am just starting the c25k program and since I am not a runner it is so frustrating to keep staring at my watch. I feel like my energy should be spent on concentrating on the run. I want to run a 5k at the end of September so the Gymboss would really help with my training.

  7. Loser For Life August 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Yay for GYMBOSS!!! Running intervals have been the way to go for me! It was a tough mindset to get used to since I originally began training by running without stopping. But, I started to have major hip/IT band issues and had to find another way. Intervals was the key! And GYMBOSS made it easy to do them!

    Keep on keepin’ on, Jen! You’re doing awesome!

  8. Irene Robertson August 13, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Maybe something was in the air last night because I went for a run but could only do about 2.2 miles. I think my body was still in shock from the triathlon.

  9. Jogger (Elisabeth) August 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I TOTALLY want one. Actually, The Man has one for when he trains people, and he was using it on Wednesday when he kicked my ass on the TRX. The whole time, I was thinking “I need one of those for running!”

    I’d love one because as much as I like to think that I can constantly run more than 3 miles without stopping, the reality is that I need walking breaks, and it’d be much more organized if I had a Gymboss!

  10. Nancy August 13, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    This would be the perfect thing for me to use when I walk and do faster and slower intervals. If I had this, I might even try the C25K program. I’ve been thinking about trying it.

  11. Lauren August 13, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Hi Jen, I would use the GYMBOSS to help train for my first 5K. EKKS!! I lost about 50lbs just through dieting, but NEED to add some exercise to my life! I want to be able to do an entire 5k, running in the next 8 months. If I can do that, I can do anything! You are such an inspiration – keep it up girl!!!!

  12. Lisa August 13, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Jen, ooh gadgets! I would so use the GYMBOSS to get back into my running. I keep trying to just run run run because like you, it’s too darn hard to pay attention to the intervals.

  13. Nadine August 14, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Welcome Back, and welcome back to 1/2 training — you SO got this. I have trained both ways, run, run, run, and run/walk and run/walk is definitely the way to go — no shame, and a MUCH easier recovery. The BEST part is passing some run, runners during a race when they slow down or stop (it WILL happen!)

    I have never even *heard* of GYMBOSS, but it sounds like the answer to my prayers!! I heart running gadgets, and I also hate being distracted by looking down at my watch to time them well. You had me at ‘even with my ipod on loud’ because not hearing it would be my biggest worry!!

    • jeninRL August 16, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

      You are the WINNER!!!! email me (jeninreallife@yahoo.com) your address and I will send it asap.

      • Nadine August 16, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

        Really?! Thanks so much!!! Email coming!

  14. MelGetsFit August 14, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    I ❤ fitness gadgetry! This would be great for me because I do lots of interval training like walk/job combos, faster/slower intervals on cardio equipment, etc. This would make it so much easier than having to constantly watch the timer on the equipment or my watch.

  15. present_time August 14, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    So I am usually an anti-gadget but have been interested in working on building speed and endurance not only in my running but I have recently started biking and the Gymboss sounds ideal. I could easily clip it on my person or my bike and let it do the guesstimating for me (it always makes the time go much more slowly when I keep having to check my watch).

  16. Aine August 16, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    I would totally use this to get further in my Couch-to-5K program!

  17. Mary (A Merry Life) August 16, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    That looks like a pretty cool gadget. I’m not entering to win because you’d have to ship it so far, but I just wanted to say I’m proud of you for training for a half marathon!

  18. Anonymous August 16, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Ack. So bummed I missed this. Ordering mine now. I NEED it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

