hot, humid & a cry for help

17 Aug

I am a summer girl. This is my time of year. I have the entire month of August off from school. This is my time!! My favorite time…usually!

This summer has been hotter than bejebus. So hot that this sunshine seeking girl is seeking the inside and air conditioning. I am one of those people who are always cold, so for me to seek out the AC – ugh, it’s HOT!

South Jersey doesn’t just get heat! Noooo, we are just a hop away from the bay & ocean so our air is generally very moist. Hello HUMIDITY!  Most of this summer the humidity has been 85% or higher.

I have let the heat and humidity be my excuse.

Someone please tell me why I decide to train for a half marathon and someone turned up the heat to HELL degrees?!?!

I have NOT been training properly. I have not been very consistent and I need to stop blaming the heat and humidity.

NO. MORE. EXCUSES.

NO MORE EXCUSES!

Why do I do this to myself?!? I have always done this…I set a big goal and then I flounder until I have to haul ass to play catch up.

Well, I am here trying to fix whatever is wrong with me.  I do this ALL the time. I need to fix it! I need to make a plan and stick with it!!  No excuses!!

NO EXCUSES!!

JUST FUCKING DO IT!!  ~~> yes, I am yelling at myself.

I am asking YOU, my friends, for help!  Check in with me, ask me how I am doing, ask me what I have done active today (or tomorrow).

I am on facebook as jeninreallife and I am on Dailymile … are you?!? Hit me up and let’s help & encourage and support each other. I am a great cheerleader!!

Please.

13 Responses to “hot, humid & a cry for help”

  1. Julie Anderson August 17, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Go Jen go! I’m the same way. I’d prefer to run when the mood strikes me, but it doesn’t strike me enough, so I have to FORCE myself most of the time. Of course, after the first mile I always say “this is kind of nice, why do I fight it?” So sometimes I trick myself by saying I can walk today the whole way. And of course I start running after 2 blocks. So, I’m here to give you tricks!

    • jeninRL August 17, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

      Thank Julie.

      You are so right…I just need to walk out of the house…preferably with
      clothes on…maybe even in workout gear & sneaks. The funny thing is , I
      like running..I feel great after a run – why do I fight it?!?
      Thanks for the tricks…now just to use them!

  2. Kyra August 17, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Run it like a ROCKSTAR, Girlfriend! I hate the heat too. Our humidity is less (65% or so most mornings) but it’s been over 100 every day so far in August. It will cool off, you will get it done. I still envy you for having a treadmill though 😉 LOVE YA!!

  3. KCLAnderson (Karen) August 17, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    “Why do I do this to myself?!? I have always done this…I set a big goal and then I flounder until I have to haul ass to play catch up.”

    Maybe it’s not the right goal for you?

    I used to do this all the time too…and found that setting goals is not a good motivator for me. I really had to examine why I was setting goals and found that it was because that’s what other people did. People I admire, people who had what I thought I wanted too. Now, I am not saying that to discourage you or to say don’t run a half marathon if that’s what you really want, but make sure it’s what you really want…

    • jeninRL August 18, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      This is my goal but I think self-doubt has been creeping in! Not sure why
      but I do this to myself and I need to stop! I know I can do anything I put
      my mind to!

      Thanks for the thoughts! I love ya lady!

  4. Irene Robertson August 17, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I am right there with you. This heat AND humidty is dis-gust-ing! It truly makes me not want to do ANYTHING!

    But I am training right here with you girl..so just keep going.

    • jeninRL August 18, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

      I feel like Dory from Finding Nemo – “just keep swimming, just keep
      swimming” instead I say “just keep running, just keep running.”

  5. Anonymous August 18, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    I know how you feel, hooker. I am the same way. Big goals then I weeble wobble. I’ll check in with you. I put my coupon for the local gym by the door so I can go tomorrow and see if the little one likes the child care and if the trainer can get me ready for my 1/2 in January. My coupon is for $10/month so I def. gotta check it out!

    PS: I KNOW you can do this. 🙂

  6. JourneyBeyondSurvival August 18, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    You’re gonna rock this. Somehow. 🙂

  7. jenn August 19, 2010 at 3:08 am #

    I know how you feel. I’m working toward a 5k (not as impressive as a half marathon, but I’ve just started running recently) and the humidity and heat is horrible. I went running last night and when I was done I was soaked from head to toe. I’m ready for fall.

  8. Nadine August 19, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Here’s the way I look at it Jenn. I live in FL. I run in FL. If I waited for the heat and humidity to go away, I would never run. I get up at the butt crack of dawn and run because it the coolest part of the day (and, um, its 75 degrees and 80% humidity) — people say to be flexible with your training plan, ok, I get that, but you also need to know its a training plan. Its a plan for a reason. You have a schedule now attach some TIMES to it (Thurs AM, Fri PM) and consider it as important as a doctors appt. Enlist friends to cross train with you if you can’t convince them to run.

    You’ve got 8 weeks, which is either ONLY 56 days or STILL 56 DAYS depending on how you choose to look at it! Plenty of time to train and finish that 1/2 marathon strong! In Jersey, the heat is going to away soon enough. Its going to be beautiful on 1/2 marathon day!!!

    • jeninRL August 19, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks Nadine,

      This may just be the kick in the ass I needed! Our weather is so similar. I
      know if I stay too flexible I will talk myself right out of it – whatever it
      is. I will work on a weekly schedule with times! I will blog the weekly
      schedule and follow up with actual workouts posted on DailyMile. I am SO
      not a morning person but I am trying to be on running days. I enlisted the
      husband to help and I think that will help. It is hard to get out of the
      house when everyone is sleeping and the puppy is wide awake. Big Man is on
      board which will be a huge help – he told me if that alarm goes off at
      buttcrack I better get out of bed! Thanks for the tough love! XOX, jen

Leave a Reply

