I am not even sure what the heck to title today's post

19 Aug

Hell, I am not even sure what is going to come pouring out onto this page.

Yesterday, I begged you for help. I told you I was struggling with getting off my ass and doing what I need to be doing. I wrote that post and you know what happened?

I got off my ass and I did something. I put on a sports bra and laced up my sneakers. I marched my butt to the living room and kicked the husband off the tv. I put in a Leslie Sansone dvd and I “walked away the pounds” for 45 minutes, 3 miles. I followed up 45 minutes of sweaty living room walking with week 1, day 2 of the hundred pushups challenge and 50 situps. Then later on that night, I participated in the Shrinking Jeans #tworkout.

After my hour workout and the much needed shower I was feeling rejuvenated!  Seriously, there is nothing like a good sweat and noodley arms to remind a girl.  A little bit of self-doubt disappeared.  I was feeling better and then I read my email and I had some of the sweetest comments here and on facebook. I had new dailymile friend requests. No, this isn’t about making friends but, it’s one awesome side effect. My friends encouraged me and supported me and believed in me. I felt the love coming through the comments.

I must admit, between workout afterglow and the love I felt in comments I was pretty much feeling like a rockstar.  I feel my mojo coming back. I even asked Big Man for help. I told him I need to start getting up early: two reasons here – 1. school starts back in 2 week, I need to get back in my routine and 2. I need to try to get runs in early whenever possible for humidity purposes. The alarm is on Big Man’s side of room because I usually don’t hear the stupid thing. I am a horrible morning person, unless I get up when I want and don’t have to rush. I am reaching out because I need help!

Today I set the alarm for 6 am. I actually woke up with the alarm, so did Lucy. Big Man took Lucy out while I quickly got dressed. I was just grabbing my sneaks when Big Man came back and told me it was raining. Not just raining but downpouring. I climbed right back in bed. No fricken way did I need to go splashing around at 6am. It continued to rain heavily ALL day. Finally around 6 pm the rain slowed down and finally stopped. After a late dinner, I set out for a run. It was sometime after 8:30 that I left the house. The rain was done, for the most part, but the air was wet and heavy. I just ran – no ipod, no HRM – just me and my GYMBOSS. I didn’t have a predetermined turnaround point. I just ran and turned around when I wanted to…basically, I knew it was after 9pm and I thought I should head for home. I ran on my local bikepath, it is very safe and very well-lit but I am still not going to be stupid. When I run at night I don’t listen to music because I don’t want to be distracted. I also wore the brightest t-shirt I own.

Tonight was a great run! I can’t even tell you what I thought about but I just kept moving. I stood up straight and kept my eyes on focal points down the path ans just kept getting to those points.  I pushed myself to keep going. Towards the end I wanted to walk one of the running intervals but I kept telling myself “on the next interval” but when that interval came I said it again. I even pushed myself to go a little bit faster at the very end.  When I came in the house, I was greeted by a very excited puppy. I realized she needed a bath. Sooo, before I got my shower I gave Lucy a bath. I totally think wrestling with a wet, 25-pound wiggly puppy counts as resistance training.

I know it’s only two days of pushing myself but I feel positive.

Thanks!

Day #3 here I come!!

6 Responses to “I am not even sure what the heck to title today's post”

  1. Skinny Sushi August 19, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    I am so happy to hear this! Every day that we get off the couch and push ourselves is a huge victory, so congratulations on two huge victories!

  2. Fitarella August 19, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Not sure if my comment went through, I’m on my phone. It basically said that you ROCK and are totally inspiring! I am in a workout rut right now and have been spending way too much time with my puppy on my comfy couch 🙂 luvs ya J!!!

  3. ladybugs714 August 19, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    you are so strong, and its great to see that when you needed it most you pulled it out and did it! Hugs friend…keep pushing, we all feel like giving up (some more then others, ahem self speaking) but getting back on track makes us realize how much we need it. Physically and mentally!

  4. Kyra August 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Yes, wrestling with a wriggly dog is resistance training.

  5. Nadine August 19, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    HOOOORAY! That’s the spirit! I love the energy in this post. Good for you!!!

  6. Brooke F August 20, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    amazing what a little accountibility and motivation will do! 🙂 great job getting yourself out there

Leave a Reply

