a different sort of challenge

24 Aug

Ya’ll know I love a good challenge.

I am currently on Team A, or The Lowdown Dirty Loser, for the Shrinking Jeans Down & Dirty in 30 Challenge.  While this is based on weight loss, I am having more fun getting to know 5 new friends and teammates.  The sisters always host a good challenge and I am having so much fun! They never disappoint!!

But, another challenge has surfaced and this is one I could not turn away. My friend Jess over at Half of Jess is hosting Drop Dead Gorgeous by December.  I joined this challenge because it is not about weight, unless that is your personal goal.

I took this right from Jess’s page:

Rules for Drop Dead Gorgeous by December:

1. You can join at any time, but once you’re in, you’re in for good.

2. I will post people’s progress only if they want it to be publicized.

3. The challenge starts this Sunday, August 22 and ends Sunday, December 19.

4. Have FUN.

What to include in your Weekly Report:

1. A picture of you holding up a positive sign for yourself.

2. Your current week’s weight as well as your challenge start weight. *optional

3. Your goal(s) from now, or whenever you decide to join, until December.

4. ONE thing that you are proud of for the week.

5. ONE thing that you can improve upon for the following week.

I need a break from weight loss challenges but I really like the idea of challenging myself to think about the positive things in my life. I like bragging about one thing every week. I really like the idea of having a weekly picture. I will include the dates on my pictures because I want to keep a record of that for myself. I hope to really see some changes.

Week 1 Report:

Rockin’ the Red!! (My sign only has 8.2.2010 because I forgot about the positive part but I dyed my hair night before this pic and really like the new reddish-purply tint my new dark hair has)

Starting Weight: Not Applicable

Goals from now until December:

1. Make working out a habit.
2. Run/walk 3 times each week and strength train 3 times each week.
3. Complete a half marathon.
4. Try one new good thing (whether it be food, recipe, workout, etc.) each week.

ONE brag for the week: Today, I am proud that I got my butt out the door and ran/walked 4.92 miles.

ONE thing to improve upon for next week: My “off my butt” time. I have been way too comfortable with my couch lately! I will pay attention and not sit idle so much! I can monitor this with my Gruve.

Thanks Jess!! So, who is joining me and Jess?!?!

PS: Please help me name my new category.

13 Responses to “a different sort of challenge”

  1. MizFit08 August 24, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    CHEERING YOU ON JEN.
    and counting the days to Fitbloggin
    (is that sad? :))

  2. Angelasue August 24, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    What a fun challenge! I can’t wait to see your progress, too. 🙂

  3. KCLAnderson (Karen) August 24, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    You’re looking pretty damned drop dead gorgeous already!! GO JEN!

    • jeninRL August 24, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks Karen!! I see it too!! =)

  4. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans August 24, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Look at you looking all hot and stuff! xoxo

    • jeninRL August 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      awww shucks!! why you gotta make me blush?!?!

  5. Shannon @ BetterNextTime August 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m joining you! I love this challenge. 🙂

  6. Anonymous August 24, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Dude, I agree with all these fab ladies – you look amazing!

  7. Nadine August 25, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Love your goals. Love them.

  8. FatFighterTV August 27, 2010 at 3:22 am #

    I love #4 – try one new good thing each week! I may have to try that!

  9. Warcraft Accessories August 27, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    Always interesting to follow an original website. Thanks for the post .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. | Traveling Well - August 29, 2010

    […] Jen (who is indeed my friend in real life, despite us having never actually met in real life!) posted recently about a wonderful new challenge she’s participating in.  It’s the Drop Dead Gorgeous […]

Leave a Reply

