bumps in my real life

5 Sep

I have made it no secret that I have not been training up to my full potential. I have let excuses and heat and more excuses stand in my way.  Summer was a very stressful period – an unexpected bill and an unexpected puppy messed with the delicate balance of our tight budget. I did not handle the stress well. I certainly did not handle the heat well. I withdrew into myself and stayed at home and did a whole lot of nothing.  Being broke and it being hot as Hades did not sit well with me and I turned into a hermit.

I blogged a few times about my struggles and stress but I never really put all my feelings out there. Today I feel the need to get a few things off of my chest. I need to clear my mind of all that is weighing me down.  I never admitted that I was lonely and worried and worried and hating the situation. I really turned to my husband. We have become tighter during our time of financial strain. It sucks being broke and it really sucks juggling to pay the bills. But ya know what?!? I finally realized it is pretty awesome that even though it took some creative budgeting, WE did it. We came through it ok. We continue to pay down our current credit cards without using credit in anyway. As a teacher, I am used to summers being the leaner months and we prepare for that but this summer had a few obstacles thrown at us. Bumps in the road of life.  At times I was so upset that I cried or yelled but I never turned on my family and they never turned on me. We got through it together!

Life is not perfect. My bills are not magically caught up but school is back in session and soon comes a paycheck and back to normal. Well….my normal anyway. My husband still does not have a steady job but he definitely works hard. Lucy is healthy and getting big and a welcome addition to the family even if her arrival was not the ideal time. She needed us and we needed her. The karate kid has no clue that her parents are stressed and she had a pretty awesome summer (the kid has a better social life than me for sure…lol). My tripod is a happy and healthy unit. Life may not be perfect (whatever that means anyway) but Life if Good!!

For some reason, back to school always makes me reflective of the past year and the year ahead.  I have already reflected about my school life. I have such an awesome plan for this year. Every year I get more organized…you see, I have so many ideas that it is often hard for me to translate them all into actualities. Part of my school plan can and will be used in other aspects of my life. I will be taking time each week to really look at the week prior…I have not done this, not really and I know it is the only way to stay on top of “things” and continue to make progress.

This might translate into more blog posts on mushy feelings or more posts on progress.

I went back to school on Wednesday and students came in on Thursday. I was in my classroom Monday and Tuesday. I started setting my alarm Monday to get back in the swing of working for a living or reality if we must.  I showed you my new plan just the other day. I have already learned that my real life has a lot of bumps and I need to be flexible with my plan. The more rigid I try to be the less I enjoy and the more likely I am to just give up. I also realize I have been all or nothing…when  I am on I am really on but when I am off that is it, I am off! I have been totally off for most of the summer and instead of allowing bad days and just enjoying the good days I caved at the first sign of yuckiness.

I am learning and growing so much and I have an even newer game plan. My calendars stay up and they are my guideline. Some days the workout will get switched around and some days I will walk more than I run but I will get my training and my mileage when it fits the best for me.  I have already put the hundred pushup challenge on hold – 2 reasons: my wrists are killing me and I have enough to challenge myself finishing 13.1 miles. Even though I have the next two months mapped out I will evaluate every week and plan each week according to family schedule and my physical needs.

This week I put my training right on the front burner. The other front burner had back to school written all over it. I juggled both front burners quite well and I was happy. Monday I stretched and did some pilates. Tuesday I got out there and ran 2.9 miles. Wednesday I went out to run but walked more than ran those 2.6 miles. Thursday was a very tiring day so I did two on-demand workouts. Friday I was exhausted, so I rested. Saturday I woke up with one hell of a twinge in my back and I rested some more. Sunday, the back issue was still there so I did not push myself to try and run. I am not happy that I did not get my long run in this week but I am not going to beat myself up. I am going to move on and kick ass this week coming up. The back issue is just a bump but it could become a huge obstacle. A new week starts now.

Barring a physical need (I will listen to my body…it’s the only one I have and I plan on using it for a great long time) I will not make excuses.  I will just

I know I will feel better if I do!!

I will continue to learn through the bumps in Real Life! How do you get through the bumps?!?

BLOGGING IS MY THERAPY!

5 Responses to “bumps in my real life”

  1. MizFit08 September 6, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    girl I am WITH YOU.
    on the blogginastherapy
    the NOT training to potential (ahh the run. you stuff befuddle me)
    and yet, like you, Im NOT giving up.

  2. Wifey September 6, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Great post … and attitude! I’m dealing with a little “bump” myself right now – an injury – and it’s hard but I think a positive attitude and lots of blogging will definitely help!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  3. tricia September 6, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Love it! Have a fabulous week!

  4. Jen, a priorfatgirl September 6, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I love that throughout everything, you and your husband grew tighter. Speaks volumes, actually!

    I second that, blogging is my therapy as well!

    • jeninRL September 6, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      The husband is my best friend and I swear to you, he has kept me sane through
      this. Not every day is rosey but all we have is each other. We said for better
      or worse, for rich or poor…well…we are testing it all. I feel like a lucky
      woman to have the relationship I have with Big Man. He is my rock.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

