lil sis

8 Sep

Last night I had the best run! After weeks and weeks of floundering with all this running stuff I feel the first glimmer of hope. I felt this back in March when I ran a whole mile. I felt like this when I blurted out how much I loved running and thought I should sign up for a half marathon. And then summer’s heat and a depressing financial blow hit me and I didn’t train properly and I constantly felt guilty about not training properly.  I could not get out of the funk I was in, not completely anyway, no matter how much I wanted or tried.  The last few runs I have set out on have not been great/

NOT GREAT at all!

Not great runs are very hard to get over. I did not get in my long run on Sunday because of a horrible backache. Monday, I kayaked my way to a workout and feeling a bit better. I was a wee bit sore after 30 minutes. I wish I had a camera with me when I kayaked…I was out in the back bay and a huge blue heron swooped down in front of me. It was beautiful and that moment something happened. I am not sure why that moment was so meaningful but right then I realized I could not give up on myself. I was going to dust myself off and start training.

One day at a time.

One training session at a time.

One run. One mile at a time.

I am going to train for the enjoyment not the stress of training for a half marathon. Now, more than ever, I want to finish this half marathon. I am not a quitter and I will not give up on myself. I will, however, do this for me in my own way. That means…I will run 3 days per week and one weekend day will be a long run. I will concentrate more on running to run than running for mileage or time.  I will need to go for high miles on Sundays but during the week I will just run for the time I have which should be at least 40 minutes.

Last night’s run was superfantasticalandamazing. My younger sister, Laura, met me and we ran around my neighborhood. Laura is wanting to get back in shape and lose weight and generally be super hot for her wedding next year.  While she has been treadmilling for the last few weeks she hasn’t run in a good long time. She thought we were taking it slow for her but really it was for me and my slacking behind. We started out walking and walked 10 minutes or so then stopped to stretch and then we started running intervals. We did 1:1 (1 minute running: 1 minute walking) stopping once more to stretch and ending with a 3 minute walk around the block at the end.  My little sis did amazingly awesome! I am so proud of her!! She wants to do it again! She wants to do it on Thursday and again next Tuesday.  I will keep you posted to our progress.

The karate kid will not be running cross country this year and she is a bit bummed. Unfortunately, cross country was the whole month of October last year and this year she has to focus on karate. Sometime in November she will be testing for a black belt. 6th grade and a black belt…seriously, where is my baby?!? I told her that we would run together at least once a week and then I found the coolest 5K ever and when I told the kid she was SUPER EXCITED!! So, on Halloween morning me and my favorite kid will be running a Monster Dash. In costumes! Not sure what the costumes will be but I am sure that kid is going to LOVE the planning.

I hope ya’ll have a GREAT day!

Much love!

5 Responses to “lil sis”

  1. Nadine September 8, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    look at that….the motivation spreads…running with sisters, 5Ks with daughters, perfect!! Love it all!

  2. Jeremy Logsdon September 8, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    That’s an awesome story and attitude. I like your plan, too, and it makes me wish I could run! 🙂

  3. KLI September 9, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    you rock girlfriend!!!

  4. FatFighterTV September 9, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    Such a cute pic! I love doing intervals. I have a bad back and have to do longer walking intervals than running ones. And you are right – enjoy the ride, k?

  5. Dr. Mo September 13, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    So Proud of you, cutie!! One “Step” at a time!! You’ve Got this!! 😉
    Love ya Lots
    @FitInMyHeart (Dr. Mo)

Leave a Reply

