having fun

13 Sep

is THE MOST important thing!

IF I can’t do this and have fun I really don’t want to do it.

I thought my problem was heat, stress, self-doubt…ok, well it was probably a combo of those things but mainly, I wasn’t having any fun. My feet hurt more than I let on but I made do with not-the-right shoes because I had to and that did not help make my runs any better. This week I rediscovered the joy I found running in the snow.

I love my little sister! I am super proud of her – she wants to get back in shape (she was a field hockey superstar in high school) and she is doing it. Little sister came and ran with me last Tuesday and we have another date for this Tuesday. I had so much fun running with her and I can’t wait for our run this week.

Somehow, I am a very lucky girl. I went on a second run on Saturday with my very awesome new friend, Kerry. We ran a good bit of the first half and then walked the rest of 8.25 miles!

8.25 MILES!!!!!

yes, I am kinda yelling. When we mapped it out we were shocked that we had gone that far. Talking really makes the time and miles fly.

Amazingly enough, we both felt great…a bit tight in my hips and knees and arch but not pain. I woke up Sunday feeling great too. I feel the miles but I don’t hurt. AND, I am still reaping the benefit of 2 hours getting to better know my new friend and no phones ringing or work to get in the way.

I had so much fun.

I learned a few things during my fun runs this week:

1. I NEED to stretch often (and I need to learn good stretches for before, during, and after a run- but I think I know just who to ask). big hint here!

2. I like running 1 minute, walking 1 minute – my body likes it and I am going to roll with it. I have to run my own run. I don’t want to call it a race ’cause I am not really racing anybody.

3. I am going to have FUN with this half training. If at the end – I have crossed the finish line and I have been running 3 times per week on most weeks….and I still like or even love running…then I win!

4. As much as I love listening to my ipod when I run, I like listening to what is around me better. I may be leaving my ipod at home or at a way lower volume to test this theory.

5. As much as I LOVE challenges with my friends, I cannot participate in any challenges right now. Running and half training are way more mental than I could have thought it would be. I need to focus on me and I can’t add one more thing right now. This one is very hard for me to admit – I want to join challenges (especially a certain awesome Shrinking Jeans challenge which shall remain nameless) but it would not be good for me right now.

I am focused on me and ready to have some fun.

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

did you click?!?! you should…it just might set the mood right for the day ahead…trust me!

My workout goals for this week:

1. 2 “short” runs, 1 “long” run
2. 3 “other” workouts (yoga, pilates, strength, exercise TV)

3. stretch daily

What are your goals?

9 Responses to “having fun”

  1. Lisa September 14, 2010 at 3:14 am #

    you both are so cute! I saw your tweet about your shins….make sure you aren’t increasing your long run too much. Even though your mind might be ready, your body might not be there yet. Build up slowly. That is my unprofessional advice. πŸ™‚

    and you are so right—having FUN is the most important thing!

  2. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans September 14, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Do what FEELS GOOD TO YOU and don’t worry about what everyone else is doing or saying. You will have good days and bad days and that is all part of the experience!

    Have a fabulous week, chica! xoxo

  3. Anonymous September 14, 2010 at 3:33 am #

    Good for you. I’ve just gotten to the place where I am happy with crossing the start line and crossing the finish line…everything else in between is the icing on the cake.

    Do what works for you, what makes you happy, and you’ll be successful.

  4. Anonymous September 14, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Such great advice!! Gotta do what is right for YOU and not everyone else!! We will miss you during this challenge but I totally get what you are saying!

  5. Nadine September 14, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Friends make everything better πŸ™‚ And finding the fun in it is truly what keeps you going. Nobody really LIKES exercise do they? They just love how they feel AFTER tackling it.

    Now..about that stretching thing….I could go on for paragraphs here!! You never want to stretch cold muscles, so go at a slow pace for 5-7 minutes (jog or walk) THEN stop and stretch. Do calves (on a curb) quads (hold a tree/pole for balance) and hamstrings (put one leg out with your toe up and bend from the waist over until you feel it in the back of your leg) — when you’re finished running, do the same stretches (hold for 30 seconds each) — and add a groin stretch (feet together knees pointing out, elbows on the knees) — and an IT band stretch…and maybe even look into getting a foam roller to help with all of this ($20, and one the best investments I’ve ever made!!) — go to coolrunning.com for pretty pictures. Believe me, it helps and definitely helps to keep you injury free.

    p.s. how are you liking your new not-wrong shoes?

  6. Ayslinnichelle September 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Hey Jen, I just found your site and have been browsing through it- me likey! I saw that you’ve done the C25K program, which I am currently in the middle of- how’d you end up liking it? I also see that you’ve kept up running afterwards, which is one of my goals once the program ends (although I’m not sure how well that will go once it starts snowing)…

    anyways, thanks for the motivation and thoughts, I’m gonna follow your blog if you don’t mind, and if you’re interested I have a blog over at makingthegoal.blogspot.com (although I am a blogger newbie, haven’t been doing it too long yet!)

    Look forward to reading more!
    Ayslinn

  7. KLI September 15, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    I had a blast!! The interval run/walk is great. It makes it so much easier and less hard on your body. And I look like a really really pale person in that pic – hahah!! xxoxo

  8. Katdoesdiets September 15, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    I love when I have a running partner, I feel like I could run forever…however those are rare around here.

  9. Karen September 17, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    I think it is great that you are having fun with your running. I work out every day and most of the time I just do it to get it done and to enjoy how I feel that I DID it. Maybe I need to take up running.

Leave a Reply

