I'm a bondi girl

15 Sep

In a bondi world

Life in plastic.

It’s fantastic.

Ok, no plastic here! But somehow the barbie song popped into my head when I wrote that title.

I had a point…

A while ago I reached out to Bondi and asked if I could review bondibands, their version of a headband, for the old blog and they agreed and sent me an awesome new headband.  I read many rave reviews about bondibands but I must admit I was completely skeptical.

Sure, they look good.

And they talk a good game.

BUT, could they hold up to my mop on top of my head.

People, I have a lot of hair.

AND, I am currently growing out crazy layers (which I loved but no, I am just leaving my hair alone and letting it grow, grow, grow….I miss my long hair).

Thick hair and layers of varying lengths is a workout nightmare. A hat would work but my head would just be ridiculously hot in the summer or in indoor classes. EVERY headband I have ever worn sucks! I must have the funkiest shaped head because headbands slip out of place constantly. Not too much is worse than having to continually fixing my dang hair during a workout. OK, headbands causing headaches might be worse.  I have tried thin bands, thick bands, in between bands. I had been using bandanas and they were the best but they still slipped.

Bondibands really are the perfect workout headband….and I want to try the hat style bondi just because it looks super cute. I may have to get one for the cooler weather. Reasonably priced at about $8 per band – I have tried cheaper and more expensive headbands…so yeah, $8 is reasonable. I have worn my bondi for a few months and it is still in the same shape as when I received it. It is super easy to care for – I wear my band into  the show and wash it with my shampoo then hang it to dry. I wash my bondi every time I wear it.

Shhh…don’t tell anyone but I am getting Big Man and karate kid their own Bondis for Christmas!

Enter bondi…

I took this picture after a particularly sweaty run. I waited until 8pm for a run and it was still 90-something degrees with 9000% humidity. I ran for 52 minutes that night. That is some serious sweat, people.

But my bondiband stayed right where it I put it. Sweat did not roll down into my eyes. I didn’t have to mess with hairs falling into my face. I have worn my bondi everywhere for all sort of different workouts and just to run errands. Isn’t my bondi cute? It says: Determination, Strength, Energy and the Chinese symbols. Sometimes, during a run I think of what my band says and it does help me! Sometimes, during a run or some other equally sweaty activity I forget I have the band on my head.

Bondibands really are the perfect workout headband….and I want to try the hat style bondi just because it looks super cute. I may have to get one for the cooler weather. Reasonably priced at about $8 per band – I have tried cheaper and more expensive headbands…so yeah, $8 is reasonable. I have worn my bondi for a few months and it is still in the same shape as when I received it. It is super easy to care for – I wear my band into  the show and wash it with my shampoo then hang it to dry. I wash my bondi every time I wear it.

Shhh…don’t tell anyone but I am getting Big Man and karate kid their own Bondis for Christmas!

9 Responses to “I'm a bondi girl”

  1. Kirsten September 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Love my Bondis!!

  2. MsGigglepuss September 15, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Wow, I need to get me a Bondiband! Like you, I have really thick hair with some layers and have struggled to keep my mop out of my face during workouts. Thanks for introducing me to these!

  3. Katdoesdiets September 15, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Good to know!

  4. Nadine September 15, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    oooooh I really LLIIKKE that. I may have to get me one or ten.

  5. Anonymous September 16, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    LOVE Bondi Bands too! Nothing else works for my funky head either! And holy crap you got a lot of hair! 😉

  6. Shannon September 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    You are a cute Bondi girl! I may have to try one of those things out my hair is always in a funk!

  7. Mary (A Merry Life) September 17, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

    Very cool. Never have tried them but it’s good to know!

  8. Lisa September 19, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    now i have the barbie girl song stuck in my head. ACK!! 🙂

  9. Lori @ For the Run of It October 28, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    I just found the wonder that is the Bondi Band also. I love it! I think I need at least 4-5 more!

Leave a Reply

