I'll get there when I get there

20 Sep

I am going to tell you about my 8-mile training run on Saturday but I have to tell you what happened today (Sunday) first. The karate kid’s oldest friend (I met friend’s mom when girls were 2, they have been having sleeopovers since they were 3) had a birthday party and a sleepover. I was heading to pick the kid up after while Big Man made Sunday night dinner and watched football.  I hardly ever drive any longer than 5 miles from home but my friend now lives half hour drive away.  It was a gorgeous day for a leisurely Sunday drive and I drove along jamming to the radio. I was singing and probably too loud for the fact the windows were all the way down. As I was driving, there was  this moment when a young man (and a girl on the back) on a crotch-rocket bike came wizzing up the middle – right on the white line of a busy 2-lane major road. There were cars everywhere and this idiot flew threw traffic, weaving in & out and cutting people off like crazy.

When he went by me, my heart jumped. This idiot was an accident waiting to happen. A few minutes later I was stopped at a red light and guess who was two lanes over?!? Mr. Crotch-Rocket himself!! So for all that he was at the same spot.

The thought that popped in my head:

I’ll get there when I get there!

There is just no reason for me to rush!

What the heck does this have to do with my 8-miler?!?!

I am so glad you asked.

Saturday afternoon I set out to run 8 miles. I started off feeling so great. I walked for an extra minute about 35 minutes in to stretch my calves a bit. I sipped some water and kept going. I even sent out a pic on facebook and to a few of my friends.  Twenty minutes later I was really struggling. I shouldn’t drink any water while I am running, I felt like I was going to throw up and I was completely sapped of all energy. It hit me like a ton of bricks. I sat down for a few minutes and took a few deep breaths and ate the Sports Beans I brought with me. I texted a friend and while she did not provide the magic answer I had hoped for but just the texting back & forth for a few minutes made me feel better.

I am so glad I tried these little jelly beans. I felt a bit better and after about 5minutes I kept going. I walked more than I would have liked but after about 10 minutes of walking I started adding run time. I kept going.

I used my water bottle to wet my head (always feels better when my hair is wet) and the back of my neck. I never completely recovered but I kept going. Many, many times I wanted to call Big Man and ask him to pick me up. I just kept feeling like I wasn’t going to make it. I didn’t call home. I kept going.  I finished. It was ugly but I finished.

Today, my legs feel good. My knee was a bit tight this morning but I walked around the grocery store and then I followed doctor’s orders and soaked my legs in an Epsom salt bath.  I feel great! My legs feel great. My run may not have been easy but I did it!!

I finished.

I feel like a runner. I am a runner and I am going to ROCK 13.1 miles on October 17th. I may be slow but I will finish!

I am a runner and I will get there when I get there.

The workout/training plan for the week

Monday: Yoga or recumbant bike

Tuesday: Run/walk for 55 minutes

Wednesday: Run/walk for 40 minutes

Thursday: Run/walk 55 minutes

Friday: REST

Saturday: 9 miles

Sunday: 20-30 minute walk or bike ride (slow & leisurely to stretch the legs)

Goals for the week:

~Stretch properly during & after every run.

~Drink minimum 100 oz. water every day.

I leave you with two questions for the day:

1. How will you get there?

AND

2.  What are your goals for the week?

6 Responses to “I'll get there when I get there”

  1. Karena @ Traveling Well September 20, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Hiya, Jen! Good on you for sticking it out! I, too, will get there when I get there. I’m not a runner, and may never make that leap, but I’m proud just to be out there putting in my miles. I have a One More Mile tee — “First or last, it’s the same finish line!” So true.

    Goals for the week? Swim 3Xs, 8 miles on the weekend. And stop sabotaging myself in the evening with snacks and drinks!

  2. Loser For Life September 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    My sentiments exactly, Jen! I’ll get there when I get there!
    And guess what??? I’m gettin’ to see you on October 17th! Cliffhanger… 😉

  3. DareToBecome September 20, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    “I’ll get there when I get there” – I so love this. You will get the same medal as the first place and the last place finisher so just have an awesome time girl!

  4. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans September 20, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Good job, girl!!!

    You should try to eat the beans (or GU, or shot bloks) before you hit that wall. That way your energy will stay up, instead of you trying to play catch-up. Try taking something around 30-45 minutes and every so often thereafter!

    xoxo

  5. KCLAnderson (Karen) September 20, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    I love this!! I think I may make it my new mantra!! I’ll get there when I get there…and besides, there is no there, there 😉

  6. Anonymous September 22, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    I love you.

    Things got so much easier for me once I joined this mentality. If I start, I know I’ll finish. Who cares how long it takes?

    I have a tri this weekend so I’m walk/running today, biking tomorrow, swimming on Friday and RESTING on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

