I never knew [a product review]

29 Sep

I never knew that there was a need to be fitted for shoes.  When I was a kid I remember being measured and I know my daughter has had her feet measured but honestly, that seems to be missing from most stores where shoes are sold. Therein lies the problem, I haven’t been going to shoe stores…and to be honest, it is mainly because of price. It is easier to just order something online as I really do not like to shop.

BUT

I LOVE Shoe Stores!

AND since I have been really getting my bootay in gear with the workouts, I especially like seeing all these pretty sneakers…don’t they just look lovely?!?!

A few weeks ago, I was given an absolute amazing opportunity to learn all about the need for proper fitting running shoes. Ya’ll may remember me mentioning this half marathon I plan on finishing. New Balance sent me to a local store and I was fitted for a proper pair of running sneakers.  I have not had a proper pair since starting running, or ever really.

I have worn NB sneaks before and always liked the brand but I have not been wearing NB for most of my running experience. That is a whole long story but basically I was put in shoes for a high arch but I have a low arch. I have since been to a foot doctor and I now have awesome orthotics but my feet and legs still hurt (not as bad as before the orthotics but still hurt). So you see, I was in desperate need of proper fitting shoes.

The nearest New Balance store is an hour drive away. I really wish there was a store closer.  Proper-fitting running sneakers made the trip well worth it.  I must admit, I got a bit turned around finding the store because of some construction near the store (sidenote, I swear NJ is always in  the middle of some road construction or another.) I called the store and they guided me right to the store.

I put on my socks and my new friend watched me walk back and forth for a few minutes. I have to admit, at first I was a bit self conscious but I got over that quickly. I already knew that I over-pronate (when I stand my feet roll inward) but I learned that I also supinate (or under-pronate). I have always worn the outside of my heels out of shoes. Even though I roll inward every time I have ever sprained my ankle (at least 16 times and only the right ankle) I roll the ankle out. Of course, I have to have difficult feet but my difficult feet coupled with the cartilage issue in my knees it is a wonder my feet always were sore so often. It is also no wonder I have yet to find a truly comfortable pair of sneakers for running.

I LOVE shoes and sneakers but I had just about given up on finding a perfect shoe. There are only two pairs of shoes that I have worn for more than a few months before my feet hurt too much to continue wearing them: my birkinstocks and my danskos. I thought it was hopeless that I would find shoes for my obviously weird feet. I learned a lot about my feet at New Balance. I found a great pair of running sneakers after trying on about four different pairs, I settled on the first pair I tried on. I tested each pair walking around the store and even running outside. I have never had a shoe store let me run outside to test out a pair of sneakers. I like my ankle to be secure in a shoe and I like a little bit of weight and cushion without too much bulk.  I even learned a trick with the laces to help secure my ankle into the shoe.

These are my new babies!! I LOVE them so much….let me count the ways:

1. Super comfy!!

2. Made in USA.

3. My feet feel so fabulous before, during and after a run!

I actually have no complaints about my new shoes. Okay, maybe it would have been awesomer if they came in wicked cool colors but I am sort of  a simple girl and I dig  the grey. They did have the same model in pink for breast cancer… maybe that will be my next pair.

I ran a few times before I sat down to write this review. My review of New Balance was twofold: 1. Being fit for proper fitting running sneakers and 2. the actual running sneaker.

Having my feet fit properly was a pretty amazing experience. I would never have chosen this shoe – I admit, I would have looked at the sneaker that looked cuter and maybe had some purple in it. I even tried on a cute pair with dark purple all through the shoe but they just did not feel as perfect on my feet and they were kind of heavy. I tried the grey pair on a second time and I was sold! They fit perfect and comfy! My feet feel cushioned and secure in the grey babies (I know you all think I am crazy but I need to name my new shoes!!

But feeling good in the store doesn’t always mean feeling good on an actual run. So, I tested them out. Kerry and I ran/walked for 8.25 miles. We didn’t mean to go that far it just sort of happened. Running/walking and talking and the miles just slipped away. I didn’t think about my feet once in two hours non-stop moving .  I have worn my new grey babies on several short runs and several long runs and I am in love! My feet feel good and my arch does not ache at all! I used to feel a twinge in my arch with every step. I am not saying that a pair of shoes magically fixed my arch but my new grey shoes eliminate that twinge and I don’t have pain during or after my run. I do have a tightness when I am done my run and I ice, biofreeze, and soak frequently to heal. My legs feel better all around and I know part of that (a big part) is a proper fitting sneaker.

I love my new grey shoes and hope to log many many more miles in them! My first half marathon is only 18 days away. Me and my new shoes are now very acquainted and excited to knock out the next couple of training weeks. And then, we have another half marathon to train for!!

Have you ever had your feet fit by a professional?

Disclaimer: New Balance provided me a wonderful opportunity. I received a new pair of NB running sneakers in exchange for a review of my experience at the store and with the shoes. I was not compensated further than 1 pair of sneakers and 1 pack of socks. The opinions expressed here are my own and I ALWAYS speak my mind!

5 Responses to “I never knew [a product review]”

  1. Nadine September 29, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    When people complain about pain from running, I always start by asking about the shoes. Even after my first real pair of running shoes (bought GRUDGINGLY by me, who really didn’t WANT to run) — I didn’t believe that properly fitted shoes really mattered. By the time I ran my first 1/2 (in New Balance, actually!) – I was convinced. I’m on my 4th pair of shoes now — and interestingly, I haven’t purchased the same pair twice. Its not that I didn’t LIKE the other shoes I’ve worn, I guess I like to keep trying different kinds to see what I really like. I wore my New Balance into the ground.

    As for you. You just scared the bejeeesus out of me by saying 18 days til the 1/2 – yikes, only 2 long runs left to go! I’m so glad you found an awesome pair of shoes to go the distance in!

  2. Tanya Patrice September 29, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    How fantastic! I’m going to be fitted for some shoes soon because my feet kill when running on pavement. I’ll be checking out some NB to see if they help out too.

  3. MsGigglepuss September 29, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    I always have wanted to go to one of those running shoe stores and get properly fitted. I guess I have been a bit intimidated because I HATE SHOPPING and NOSY SALESPEOPLE! By the way you described it, it doesn’t sound bad at all. Congrats on finding a great pair of shoes that will get you through your half marathon!

  4. Katdoesdiets September 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Awesome. I love my running store. I wish every runner could go get a proper fitting, so many have no idea. I’ve never tried New Balance.

  5. Patty@NYC Girl at Heart September 30, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    I have been wearing New Balance sneakers my whole life. I just love them! I have tried on other sneakers and they NEVER EVER felt right, so I’ve never worn reebok, nikes, or anything else. Of course I haven’t been fitted for sneakers in years and since I just became a runner this past summer I really should! I’m so glad you wrote this post! My first 5K is in late Oct! I will be running in my NB sneakers…maybe I’ll even get some new ones. Great review!

Leave a Reply

