13 miles

2 Oct

I amsitting on the couch on a Saturday morning drinking my coffee and blowing my nose!! I knew when I went to bed I was getting a cold but throughout the night it got worse. My nose was so stuffed that I slept with my mouth open so my throat was desert dry and sore when I woke up.

AND, all the sudden it feels like Fall. Brrrr….chilly in this house…..only two days ago the air conditioning was on because it was so stinking hot and muggy.

I feel like my head may be on another planet but I have the craziest urge to run!! I have 9 miles scheduled for this weekend and I am not gonna let a stuffy nose stop me!!

Sorry to start off all snotty 😉

and none of this has anything to do with the title of this post …so here goes the real reason for this post:

I have not blogged a lot this week and I wanted to blog!! Every night I have wanted to blog and just tell about my day or ask you all questions. I have not blogged because….I have….

been…

RUNNING!!!

Yep, yours truly has finally gotten her running groove going! Or, I found my half marathon MOJO. I have to throw at a HUGE THANK YOU to two very awesome friends!! Lori and Mo really helped me this week and I bet they don’t even know it! Their support and encouragement really helped me fight through my own mental block.

I have two weeks until my half marathon. Okay, it is two weeks from tomorrow. I am getting excited. I saw real progress this week, both mentally and physically. I have a hard time staying consistent – even day to day. I struggle with the balancing act that is motherhood – ya know the work, kid, husband, house responsibilities need to be addressed AND I need to workout and train. I struggle sometimes and this week was one of those weeks. The kid and the husband are both sick and I am terrible (please read the sarcasm here) because I left them alone while I went to work and I left them at home while I ran…3 times this week.  I logged 13 miles this week, and this is before this weekend’s long run.

13 miles!!

Actually, the total for the week so far is 13.15 miles. In 3 runs I ran/walked a half marathon!

I feel like a runner! I feel like I can do this half marathon!

I have been worried because my training has not been going the way I would have liked it to go. Unfortunately, I have no one to blame but myself. I let myself make excuses. I let myself blow off training runs. Well, this week I did not let myself make excuses! Oh boy did I have good excuses this week.

This morning, I am struggling with this stupid stuffy nose and bubbly ears but I WILL be running today.  I am heading to the pharmacy to get a few supplies that will hopefully help with this stuffiness and balloon head. Big Man and I have some Saturday errands to run and then I will be out running. I will blog more about my running awesomeness later, after 9 miles are logged, complete with pictures!

See ya later!

Hope you all have a GREAT day!

Much Love, Jen

6 Responses to “13 miles”

  1. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans October 2, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    You are doing it! YAY!!!

    I am getting sick again, too! What the hell!

  2. Tanya Patrice October 2, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Mad props to you! I had a very similar week – not much running, and had a 5K this morning. I decided last minute – literally 90 minutes before the start, to just go do it. And it was great! So I know you can and will do it. And if you ever find out the secret to the balancing act between, motherhood, you time, blogging, wifing, house stuff – I NEED to know it 🙂

  3. Nadine October 2, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    you and your running awesomeness rock, you know? I’m so glad that you and the 1/2 marathon mojo found each other!

    Can’t wait to hear all the deets!

  4. Anonymous October 3, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Running despite the sickness? You ARE a runner!! (I felt like a runner yesterday because I ran through mud and a puddle….it’s the little things!)

  5. FatFighterTV October 5, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    Congrats on your 13 miles – WooHoo! Feel better soon.

  6. Kat October 5, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    I hope you are feeling better Jen. You are doing so well with your running – great job!

Leave a Reply

