10 for 10/10/10

11 Oct

Honestly, the date is just coincidental but I find it very cool!  I had 10 miles on the training schedule and lately I have been doing my long run/walks on Saturday so I have Sunday as a rest & re-coop day. This week I decided to switch it up and run on Sunday – sort of a dress rehearsal for next week.  SUNDAY! Oh. My. Word. Sunday…as in 6 days from now I will be running in my very first half marathon. (I still HATE calling it a half – to me 13.1 miles isn’t half of anything!!)

I am so not a morning person. I like waking up when my body naturally wants to wake up. I have to set an alarm for work mornings and I really really dislike that stupid buzzing alarm clock but its necessary. I am much more of a night person. I like sleeping in and being lazy when I do waker so I am not naturally a morning person. I finally admitted this and stopped trying to fight it. I stopped trying to wake up earlier than I need to for work to go running or workout. It just isn’t in me to get up at 5-something on a regular basis and it makes me cranky and then when I fail (which I always do when I try for earlier mornings) I feel so guilty and I just wind up hating myself for not being able to do it!

I finally STOPPED trying to be something I am not! I am not a morning person!! I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON!! I tried! I have gotten very caught up in all the wonderful twitter/bloggy peeps who wake up bright and early for workout purposes. I CANNOT and WILL NOT compare myself to others anymore.

I have found my groove! I am a very lucky and happy teacher so I am usually home around 3:30. I have no excuse why I can’t run or workout afterschool or even after dinner! When I went back to school in September, I got into a workout groove! I really found my running mojo. I started running really regularly and loving it! I have set aside time every day for my activity – I use the hour my daughter is at karate a few days a week and I run or walk. I stay late at school on Mondays and do a yoga video (yes, I could do this at home but with a 5-month old puppy any floor exercise is almost impossible when Lucy tries eating my ponytail!)

Lucy is super cute and I love her to pieces!!! I can’t wait until next year when she is old enough to start running with me!

I have made it work for me! I have found MY time, my peak time where I am happy and want to run or workout in some other manner.  I have found my happy and I am grooving with it!

Back to my 10 miles on Sunday, October 10, 2010 (10 for 10/10/10).

I used this as a dress rehearsal of sorts for next week. Since I am not a morning runner, I am a bit nervous about race morning. I woke up when my body was ready to wake up, about 8ish am, and I had a cup of coffee and breakfast and 20 ounces of water and potty-time. I also wound up chatting with a girlfriend and she decided to run with me for most of my miles. I was out the door by 10:30ish. I met my friend about a mile from my house on the bikepath and we kept going along the path. at about 4.5 miles we were near a grocery store and I needed gatorade since I am out of my sport beans. Another thing I have learned, I do not like to drink (or even sip on) water during runs. Water during runs make me want to throw up but gatorade works just fine! Since we stopped for hydration and a potty break I snapped a pic with my cell phone:

Not the best picture but I am putting it out there because I love you all and know you should see me at my sweatiest! Yes, that is an ipod Touch sticking out of my sports bra (and the cell phone was in the other boob).

I had so much fun running with my girl, Darryl. We have never run together but we did it! At first she was jogging slow enough to keep jogging while I walked my interval. I REALLY like Darryl’s nice and slow pace. I actually wound up running 2 intervals and walking one (I set my GYMBOSS to 1:1 intervals so it beeped every minute) for a lot of the miles. After the gatorade break we both ran 2 minutes, walked 1 minute until we made it back to her turnoff home and I finished my last mile or so.

When I rounded the corner near my house and I heard my nike+ say “you have reached 10 miles!!” and then Paula Radcliffe’s voice say “you have recorded a new PR for 10K” I burst into tears. My body was overcome with sobs…deep from the soul sobs…I could not stop and I walked in the house and I was in tears and sweaty and my chest was heaving from the sobs and I looked at Big Man and just kept crying. Poor Big Man, he hates when I cry!! I was crying but smiling so he was really confused! He hugged me and told  me to get my sweaty ass into the shower. So of course I started laughing and almost spit orange juice out of my nose! I LOVE that man of mine!

Sorry there is no post 10-mile picture but I was too blubbery to even think about a picture!

Me and Virginia Slims…..we’ve come along way baby!!! I have learned so much and grown so much while training for this half marathon and I have so much to share but this post is getting long and rambly enough. Thank you to all my friends who have been there for me through this journey. Damn, it is making me sappy and I may cry again!

How did you spend 10/10/10?

Oh yeah, CONGRATS to all my peeps who became  half-marathoners and marathoners yesterday!!!

9 Responses to “10 for 10/10/10”

  1. Kirsten October 11, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    So proud of you, Jen! You did it! And you are going to rawk your FIRST HALF EVER next Sunday! Lucy is adorable, btw.

    • jeninRL October 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      Thanks Kirsten! I will be happy to be running “with” you next week!! Much love my friend!!

  2. DareToBecome October 11, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    Yes, you have come a long way baby! Love you.

    • jeninRL October 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

      Love you right back!!

  3. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans October 11, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    So proud of you, girl! You look be-yoo-ti-ful in your sweaty glory! 🙂 xoxo

  4. bodybypizza October 11, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Oops. That comment posted twice. LOL!

  5. bodybypizza October 11, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    You, my friend, are a total rock star! And you know what? I love that your goal is to simply get out there and do your best and I love that you’re doing run/walk intervals! I used to cover much more ground doing intervals than I did doing a paced-jog. Crazy how that works.

  6. Nadine October 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    whoooo hoooo! 13.1 here you come!

  7. Kim October 15, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    linked to your blog from Lauren’s! I’m a fellow Turtle with my second Half (yeah…you are right…13.1 should TOTALLY be called something different) the week after yours!

    Way to bust out your 10!!! Can’t wait to read your race recap – you will rock it! =)

Leave a Reply

