13.1: a learning experience

24 Oct

I have been thinking a lot about training, running, and this whole half-marathon thing.

1. Never say Never! It really was not that long ago that I swore I would never be a runner.

2. It’s not how you start, it’s how you finish!  I had a terrible start to my half training. I won’t bore you with all the details but I really bailed on most of the first 6 weeks of my 12 week training plan. I finally got in the swing of my training and the last month was amazing. I nailed every training run and I continually felt stronger.

3. I can do anything I put my mind to doing. I have pushed myself many time but this whole running thing truly is the hardest I have ever pushed myself physically and mentally…at the exact same time! Running is hard on my body but in a good way. My knees don’t ache the way I feared they would. My arch has felt great since I now have my orthotics and a brand spankin’ new pair of running sneakers.

4. Nothing feels better than a pair of properly fitted running sneakers. I started running in the wrong shoes and my feet hurt but I still wanted to run. Running in proper shoes lets me feel like I really should be running.

5. I finished a half marathon! I feel like a rockstar! I pushed myself harder than I ever have BUT I could push myself more. Yes, I think I could have pushed myself harder but that in no way shape downplays how awesome my running accomplishments are!  There is always room to improve but I will not compare myself or my running to anyone else. My running is mine! I want to improve for me because I want to see just how good I can be!

6. I love my walking intervals! While I plan on increasing my running intervals I will probably always use walking intervals.

7.  I need to work on the other training parts of running/training. My core is not strong enough and I need to work on core strength to help my back/hips. I also know core strength will help with my balance which will help with my running. AND, I want to be strong EVERYWHERE – that means I must strength train.

8. Ice, Ice Baby!! Every single time I ice my knees and arch I sing this song in my head. Speaking of ice…ice is my friend. I have knee issues. Sometimes, I forget but I do have issues and had had problems with my knees since I was a kid. I have been diagnosed with Chondromalacia patella and my knee caps sit off-center, I also have a weak ankle ligament and low arches. Icing is a huge help for all areas but I tend to not always do what I should.

9. Aspercreme, Bio-Freeze and BodyGlide AntiPainGlide are all my friend! I alternate which product I use. Bio-Freeze is m last resort because it makes me cold! If I ice, then take an epsom salt bath and then lotion up with one of these awesome products, my knees and arch feel so good. This is my go-to recovery concoction.

10. CHOCOLATE MILK is amazing for recovery! I don’t drink a lot of milk and I never really have but running makes my body crave milk, well chocolate milk specifically.

11. I cannot drink water at all when I run. Drinking water while I run, even if I stop running and drink water before continuing run, makes me nauseous. Gatorade does not have the same effect. I enjoy gatorade when I am running but I don’t need anything on runs shorter than 5 miles.

12. I love when a friend, a sister, or a daughter joins me on a run. I can’t explain how awesome it is to run with my sister and friends and talk about life and stress and life and fun stuff like weddings and music and boys or run with my daughter and hear about her day and all things important on that day. Daughter is 11 so important stuff changes frequently!

13. I love to run! I found my IT, the physical activity I want to do! I like training. It gives me a plan and I like a plan even though I may not always follow said plan. I need a plan, but I need to be flexible in my plan.

13.1 I am starting to train for my next half marathon. I want to train and complete another half marathon but this time I will not be running an official event. I will be virtually training for the Disney Half Marathon on January 8th with my awesomest friend, Mo, aka Dr. Mo aka @fitinmyheart. Mo will be running her very first half marathon and as a way to keep myself motivated and a way to support my girl, I will be running here in South Jersey (and I am already hoping for a crazy heat wave for January)!!

Running has sparked something in me that I did not know existed. I am going to keep exploring the wonders of running and myself because as I learn more about running I learn more about me.

16 Responses to “13.1: a learning experience”

  1. BK October 24, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    🙂 this made me smile from EAR 2 EAR.. u go Jen!!! wooohooo

    • jeninRL October 25, 2010 at 2:10 am #

      Thanks BK! I am a changin’ woman! =)

  2. Anonymous October 24, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Awesome, awesome post! We have discovered many of the same things about ourselves 🙂 I love that you are training to run the Disney 1/2, even though you aren’t going to be running in Florida. I may have to do that too, although in Michigan, it will probably mean a 1/2 marathon on the treadmill because we could have 4 feet of snow on Jan 8!

    • jeninRL October 25, 2010 at 2:10 am #

      DO IT!!! Maybe we could each make our own medal for our Virtual Disney Half?!?

      you would get a special award for a treadmill half….just sayin’!!!

      • Lisa October 25, 2010 at 2:29 am #

        Yes, we totally need a Virtual Medal.

  3. Lisa October 24, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    I am so proud of you Jen!!!! And I think I might have to steal your idea about running a 1/2 virtually with some of the other girls doing the Disney Half…..something to ponder.

    • jeninRL October 25, 2010 at 2:06 am #

      Thanks Lisa!! Ponder the Virtual Disney Half baby!! I am starting tomorrow as day 1 of the second week of Hall Higdon half training. I loved it for my first half and I want to conquer it even better this time!!

      ps…dude, I was totally gonna call it Virtual Disney but realized that would make it VD for short….bwahaha!!

      • Lisa October 25, 2010 at 2:28 am #

        I’m thinking we mighneed to take this to all of Shrinking Jeans. If so, would you be OK with that?! I’m still thinking about it. And I totally think we should call it VDH- Virtual Disney Hookers, errrr…..I mean HALF.

      • jeninRL October 25, 2010 at 2:34 am #

        OF COURSE!! love all you hookers….take it to the rest of the leaders…let the VDH grow!!

  4. Anonymous October 25, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    Great thoughts, Jen! Thanks for sharing! and can I just say….soooo stinkin’ proud of you!!

  5. jeninRL October 25, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    DO IT!!! Maybe we could each make our own medal for our Virtual Disney Half?!?

    you would get a special award for a treadmill half….just sayin’!!!

  6. Anonymous October 25, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    YAY!! You’re training for another 1/2! That’s great!!! I’m so proud of you for seeing this through. You are amazing!

  7. Nadine October 25, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    YAY! Welcome to the club (of addicted runners, I mean!) — I have been searching for another race to run as well!

    A lot of what you said has resonated with me — I also get nauseous from water when I run, but not gatorade. And, I too am racing against myself, no one else!

    You are an inspiration to a lot of people Jen! Your enthusiasm is catchy!

  8. Loser For Life October 25, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Love it, Jen! So glad you found something that empowers you! You rock!

  9. Tanya Patrice October 25, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Love these – and since I haven’t don emy 1st marathon yet, I’m even more excited to get to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

