it's a hoedown

21 Nov

I hate coming here and whining! I hate coming here with no news to report! I especially hate boring you with my woes!

BUT…

Things are bleh. Nothing bad has happened, nothing to really complain about. I am just trudging along.

When last we met (I know I suck at blogging regularly) I was going to go 31 days with daily movement.   I did not do well on that mission.  I did not plan well enough! I plugged through a few days but then a meeting came up and the kid needed extra karate classes and I was not prepared.

I need to plan.

I need a plan to follow.

I need to follow a plan.

I have tried being free…just working out every day and it doesn’t work for me. I cannot just wing it!

I have tried creating my own plan but I have yet to plan properly. I can plan class lessons but planning my own life eludes me. I need to work on being less scatterbrained in life and working out.

I may have not done so hot at working out every single day but I am not quitter. I can keep trying and looking. I will find what works for me or I will keep looking.

Holiday Hoedown Challenge

In the meantime, I have joined the newest Shrinking Jeans challenge: The Holiday Hoedown and I am on Team HoHoHoes with @reallifeadv, @lissajoy, @karena_0, @melgetsfit, @gettinfitbritt, @LastMinuteMandy, and @tryn2bfit. We are all striving to get through the holidays without gaining a ton of needless weight! We started on Wednesday and I stepped on the scale for the first time in forever. I am not completely surprised on one hand and on the other I was expecting much worse.  I have not run; I have not exercised very much at all; I have not eaten all that great. I was expecting much worse.

So now I have a new starting point. Another fresh start, eh?!?

I have a challenge.

Now, I need a plan.

Nutrition Plan:

1.  5-7 servings of fruits and veggies

2. 1 small “treat” per day

3.  100 oz of water every day

4. mindful eating

Exercise Plan:

I will begin a 8-week 10K Training Plan on Monday, November 22, 2010.  I do not have a 10K race scheduled but I know I need a plan to follow. I will focus on being a well rounded runner in training. I will work on my core and resistance training and  not just the running.

note: I have decided this training plan because I really like the structure and what is planned for each day. 2-3 miles on school days (especially with shorter daylight hours). Plus, I like how stretch and strength days are built in.

Mis.

1. aim for 7 hours of sleep

2. take daily vitamin

3. enjoy Thanksgiving without going overboard! Enjoy Thanksgiving after putting in a great workout (according  to the training plan I will be running 2miles and strength training)!

4. Every night make a to-do list for the next day.

5. Spend less time on the dang laptop!!

I am going to enjoy the holidays with my family without stress and worry! I am going to stay on a healthy path! I am going to stay on MY healthy path!! What about you?!?

10 Responses to “it's a hoedown”

  1. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans November 22, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    You are going to be a huge success, I know it!

  2. Gyrl1214 November 22, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    Good luck on the training plan – it’ll be great because there’s not too much pressure from a race.

  3. Anonymous November 22, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    You are going to do great!! A plan is important especially at this time of year!!

  4. Anonymous November 22, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    I’m so glad that you got in on the Hoedown! You are going to do amazingly well!

  5. Karena @ Traveling Well November 22, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Love your goals, Jen! I think they’ll help you get past the holiday madness just fine. With some ho ho hoes backing you up, of course!

  6. Irene November 22, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    I am right there with you. I feel like I am sucking at taking care of myself so much that my body seems to be rejecting an idea of change.

  7. Wifey November 23, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I love it! Sounds like your “plan” is right on point! You can do it. Can’t wait to follow you and the other Hoes. Tee hee hee. I couldn’t resist.

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  8. Biz November 23, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Yep, if I don’t plan it is utter chaos. Sounds like you have some great goals to get you through the holidays. I am going to keep up with my exercise every day – I hope to not only maintain but lose a few pounds before January !.

    I am with you! 😀

  9. Brittany November 29, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    You can do this 🙂

  10. Journey Beyond Survival November 29, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    I’m all over you. Like a man to man defense. No way you gettin away. Know what I mean? 😉

Leave a Reply

