calling myself out

28 Nov

There was a fascinating twitter conversation this afternoon. I was in and out of conversations between a few different people. All the chatting started over the buzz of the new program Weight Watchers launched today. People are excited and excited people share their excitement.

All that chatter got me thinking and asking myself what the hell am I doing?!?

I have not been giving my all to me!

My half was 7 weeks ago.

7 weeks!!!

I apparently need someone to come and kick me in the ass. HARD.  I need to kick my own ass!!

*I cannot join WW or a gym. Would I like to?!? Yes, but it is not an option. I don’t have the money. SO WHAT?!? Right now the budget is stretched as tight as it can get and I will not add any stress to that budget. Any extra penny that we find goes to making sure we can pay the bills. It’s hard and it sucks a lot of the time but we are ok. We are strong.  I don’t need money or a program to know what I need to do. I need to eat less and move more. I know it’s actually more complicated than that but for right now I am focusing on simple!

Some things I have learned about the “Eat Less” part:

* D’uh! I have not been tracking or calorie counting or points or anything. I have been slacking in every way possible. I hate tracking and I am just not good at it. I try to eat the right foods but I LOVE junk. One change I am going to make (starting right now) is no junk. If I want sweets I will make something, I will not eat out of a box. I am also going to focus on adding in veggies to every meal. I will make the best food choices at each meal.

*White potatoes happen!At my house, we are very normal eaters – there is usually rice or noodles or potatoes of some kind at most meals. All are very inexpensive and stretch a meal nicely. AND seriously, I grew up eating potatoes and noodles and rice (one at almost every dinner) and while I wasn’t skinny I wasn’t fat, maybe 10-20 pounds overweight.  I didn’t get fat eating potatoes or noodles or rice. I got fat eating TOO MUCH food. period. I am determined to lose weight by eating normally.

*I like sweets! But I have learned that if I don’t have that first one or first bite or first piece I am fine! I have decided to forgo desserts (except fruit) most days. I will allow myself one sweet treat for dessert per week. I don’t like putting foods on a no-no list but I need to make an exception.  Same goes for chips. I just don’t have any self-control when it comes to chips and brownies.

What I learned, the “Move More” part:

*Most days I have no excuse why I can’t workout or run right after work. I am usually home by 3:30. But, I usually come in and chat with the kid and/or the husband. I am lame for not working out in some capacity every single day! That stops immediately. I am 150% committed to 10K training.

*I need a plan! I work better when I have specific plan to follow. I have enlisted some friends: my girl, Kerry, and my sister, Laura (or Aunt Lala) will be my IRL partners and my girls, JBS & Mandy will be my Virtual partners!  We all seem to be in the same blah boat and we needed a little push to stay strong and healthy.

Miscellaneous brain floaters:

*I am lazy and I will put off working out until there is no time to actually workout because it is bed time. I HATE getting up in the morning – I really like sleeping in until I am ready to wake up. I have tried, albeit not very hard, to wake up early and I just hate it! If in the next 8 weeks I do not complete every workout in the 10K training plan I will give morning workouts a fair chance.

*I like sweets! But I have learned that if I don’t have that first one or first bite or first piece I am fine! I have decided to forgo desserts (except fruit) most days. I will allow myself one sweet treat for dessert per week. I don’t like putting foods on a no-no list but I need to make an exception.  Same goes for chips. I just don’t have any self-control when it comes to chips and brownies.

*I spend way too much time distracted. I love twitter and facebook and blogs (I read a ton of blogs). I love all the connections I have made through these sources. I have become amazing friends that I would not have ever known if not for twitter. That being said, I need to limit my twitter time and that is hard but I am going to do it. Starting in the morning, I am going on a 5-day twitter vacation. I am also going to give myself online time limits. I need to focus on my priorities and I have a hard time focusing because I have the attention span of a gnat. If I even open twitter, it leads to chatting and reading all kinds of news-type blogs/articles and all of the sudden it is hours later.

I get motivational quotes sent to my email every day. Here is one I just re-read today:

“A man can fail many times, but he isn’t a failure until he begins to blame somebody else.”

Steve Prefontaine, American middle and long-distance runner

I blame no one and this post is my way of calling myself out. I have been slacking and the slacking must be stopped!

14 Responses to “calling myself out”

  1. Anonymous November 29, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    i could have written this!! but I didn’t!! sounds like we are in the same boat….let’s fight this together, k?? We can….we will!!

    • jeninRL November 30, 2010 at 12:14 am #

      We will definitely fight this together!! We can do it!! We just gotta keep fighting!

  2. Melissa @MelGetsFit November 29, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    Good for you! I’m glad the Twitter conversation we were all having gave you the push you needed to call yourself out and come up with a plan. You can do this!!

    I’ll be on a 5-day Twitter vacation myself this week, but not because I want to do it. LOL I’m in a training class for work this week and then I have a final Wednesday night and Friday night for school. The only time for Twitter I’ll probably have is an occasional sneak visit from my iPhone during class breaks.

  3. Karena @ Traveling Well November 29, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    Good for you, Jen! Sometimes what you need is someone to call you out — how much better when you can do it for yourself! Also, I can relate to every single one of your *miscellaneous brain floaters*. I love Twitter and all the friendships I have there, but I occasionally think if I spent even half the time I normally spend on Twitter moving around (not even working out, just housework, playing with the kids, etc) my body would be so much better off!

  4. Nadine November 29, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I HATE Twitter. There I said it. I really do. Its probably because I don’t get anything other than phone calls on my phone (no internet or email for this girl) so having it only on the computer is pretty much a waste. I hear you about everything else. Dessert is my downfall, most days. So, I learned to plan it in. Planning it in is SO MUCH better (for me) than eating around it or avoiding it.

    If you’re excited about the new WW plan, you can follow it without being a paid member (you KNOW what to do..maybe not the details about whats NEW, but that’ll all be public knowledge within a few days) –and you can have the accountability of a weigh in (which is what works for me more than anything) right here or with the Shrinking Girls.

    As for setting limits and priorities, today is my day to do that. I have been working like a dog lately (60+ hours a week) and while the OT is nice, everything else in my life is suffering and it shows. So. You are NOT alone here. Good for you for drawing a line in the sand to make it happen!

  5. Jules November 29, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    You can do this Jen…no matter what your plan…YOU have a plan…and your right it doesn’t take money …it just takes a different type of investment…

  6. Anonymous November 29, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    I hear ya, Jen! I have been slacking in a serious way. I can’t believe our 1/2s were 7 weeks ago! I haven’t run more than 1 or 2 days a week since then. I called my sports chiro this morning to try and get in and see what he says about my foot issue. Sure, it hurts to run, but does that mean I’ve done any other real exercise either? NOPE. Definitely need to get back on track. Let’s make a promise to kick each other’s butts if we have to!

  7. KCLAnderson (Karen) November 29, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Jen!! You are OKAY! Something I have come to realize is that I am only an expert when it comes to what “works” for me. I don’t need to look outside myself for answers. I believe that to be true for all of us. Rely on your own patience, intuition, acceptance, and intention. Relax, breath and trust yourself. Anything done out of desperation usually backfires.

  8. Ryan November 29, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Jen it’s hard, you have to remember that. No matter how many times you say you are going to give up “junk” food or “I’ll exercise today” something always comes up or you eat what you want anyways. I think the best option is portion control, if you eat something split it in half and have the other half later. That’s the only advice I can give (sorry). It’s hard to stay focus especially when it comes to living a healthy lifestyle. Try and stay focused. You have support right here

  9. Anonymous November 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    YES. Yes, yes, and YES.
    Thank you for always helping me – what can I do to help you?

    • jeninRL November 30, 2010 at 12:10 am #

      email, text, chat – just generally bug the shit out of me!! we are in this together!! MWAH!

  10. Sheila November 30, 2010 at 3:22 am #

    You can do this just hang tough!!

  11. Biz November 30, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    I agree, you don’t need to go to WW or a gym to lose weight. You just need to be mindful of what you are eating and move. I had a girlfriend who lost 60 pounds and kept it off just by . . . walking!

    She got up to walking about an hour and a half a day – not all at the same time. She’d walk 30 minutes before work, 30-45 minutes at lunch and 30 minutes after dinner.

    You can do it! I’ll be your cheerleader if you need another one! 😀

  12. KIMpossible December 2, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    It’s so hard to get back on track once you let yourself slip. Back when I practiced the whole abstinence from all foods I shouldn’t be eating thing, it was so much easier. Now that I have allowed sweet treats back into my life (on occasion), well…not so easy. Day by day, decision by decision, you will be pleased with your results! Having a plan and sticking with it definitely makes a difference – at least that’s what I’m going with for getting myself back on track, too!

Leave a Reply

