I needed it

9 Dec

If you follow me anywhere – twitter, facebook, or right here – you all

know I have been struggling. I feel a bit lost. I decided to start training for an imaginary race. I set a lot of goals for December. But I am still not focused and consistent.

Work has been insane. My kids (students – I always call my stu

dents my kids) have a hard time at the holidays. Seriously, there are times when they break my heart or make me want to pull my hair out. The holidays bring out their crazy. I understand totally but it’s not always easy.

Great things have been happening: Did you read about the amazing thing that happened last week?? Go check it out, please! I never really toot my own horn or really ask for any attention, but I am just so stinkin’ proud!!

Christmas will be here in a few blinks and I still have so much to do!! Being broke has been a huge stressor on me. I want my daughter to have a great holiday but I don’t want to go into debt. We (me and the Big Man) sat down and decided to make the holidays about family and not presents. We did get the daughter some stuff but we did not break the bank. In fact, I have been quite thrifty looking for great deals. We have decided that everyone else is going to get some baked goodies!

More work for me, but work I gladly will do and the daughter has already volunteered to help!

So, with all going on…and not going on….my brain feels a little like this:

SO, today I am playing hooky!! I needed a Mental Health Day!! I am going to decompress!! I am going to unwind and really really take some much needed time to think about what I want and how I want to get it!

Do you ever take a random Mental Health day?

7 Responses to “I needed it”

  1. justineelliott December 9, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    I know how u feel. I am trying to figure out how to make the holidays warm and memorable with out money since we have none right now. We will struggle until my hubby finds a job, hopefully soon. What kinds of baked goodies are ya makin?

    • jeninRL December 9, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      we are in the same boat – hubs has been out of work for nearly 3 years. The struggles suck but I think how we respond and react is what defines us! Stay strong, Justine! Email me (jeninreallife@yahoo.com) if you need a sounding board!

      As for baking, I am making banana breads and zucchini choco chip bread and maybe choc chip muffins.

      Good Luck and Stay Strong!!
      Much LOVE!

  2. Kayla December 9, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    You deserve a mental health day more than anyone! Enjoy it!!!

    I know how much you have been struggling lately so I want to remind you that regardless of how many struggles you have had, you always make it through them. You are strong, Jen…one of the strongest women I know! Keep you head up. Brighter days are ahead of you. 🙂

    I love that you are making Christmas about FAMILY and not about gifts. Family is the real meaning of Christmas. Since we live on a one person income, JJ and I are doing the same thing. Lots of baked goods and tons of memories.

    I love you, Chica! You are absolutely amazing. Remember that. 🙂

  3. Laurie9797 December 13, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Yes, I’ve taken many much needed mental health days. They truly help renew my spirit, and I hope you have a terrific day off! 🙂
    I have 4 days this week and then I’m off until the week after Christmas… MUCH NEEDED!!

    xoxo

  4. Biz December 13, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Hang in there Jen. Growing up all my daughters toys fit into a small toy chest and when her birthday or Christmas came around, I told her she had to give up some stuff so it would all fit and we would give the toys she no longer used to kids who weren’t as lucky as her. She never knew I couldn’t afford to fill up any more than that toy box could hold, and she took the best care of her toys.

    Make memories instead – they last longer! 😀

  5. MizFit08 December 14, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    how you be now Friend?

    heres hoping you really had time to THINK and FOCUS ON YOU!

  6. Wifey December 16, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    Good for you (for unplugging) and for Big Man (for being financially responsible)! Headed over to read your good news!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

Leave a Reply

