I'm training for a marathon!!

16 Dec

My marathon does not have a date yet. My marathon does not have a start line or a finish line for the matter. In fact, my marathon most certainly will not run in a straight line but that’s alright I have never been able to stay in a straight line anyway!

Seriously, just ask any person who has ever run with me…I am forever bumping into them!

Back to my marathon….I am not talking about the 26.6 mile variety…I am in awe of my awesome friend Lori and I will watch and cheer her on as she trains for her first marathon…I am not ready for that kind of marathon. Sorry to trick ya with that title.  😉

However, I have recently realized that this whole healthy living thing is like training for a marathon.

1. I get out of it what I put in ~ as of late, I have not been putting in effort worthy of results.  This applies to food and fitness.

2. There will be good runs and there will be bad runs ~ or days or workouts or meals – this is me getting over the “it’s not fair” temper tantrum I have been having in my head.

3.  One bad run, workout, meal does not ruin an entire day or week or whatever.

I KNOW what to do, but I haven’t been doing what I know to do.

Not all the time anyway.

I don’t want to be completely hard on myself. I have been having good days and not so good days. It is life and there are ups and downs.  I have been in a bit of a funk but I am fighting it with every ounce of my being.  I have enlisted a few friends to really help me! I asked for help and my girls have stepped up! I really do have the best friends!

After a few intense conversations with Mo and Mandy I was able to work some things out. They really helped clear my head and it had gotten all kinds of fuzzy in my head.  I set too many goals and put too much pressure on myself. I tend to that and then I get all sort of excited and want to go all gung-ho and then when it is time to actually do what I do I get all paralyzed. I don’t have all the answers but I am starting to question myself and all the things I do – they whys especially.

I am finally starting to believe I have a real mental block.

I have been in a holding pattern of sorts.

When I started this journey it was just to lose some weight. I lost 45 pounds in the first year and I felt great. I had changed some habits and started eating better. I even started working out.  I started running and stopped dieting. I got very lazy about the food stuff while I trained for a half marathon. Basically I just ate as good as I could but I didn’t really pay all that much attention but because I a lot I was maintaining.

I finished a half marathon but I haven’t lost another pound in the last year.

YAY to maintaining!

BOO to not losing!

Enter marathon training!

I have a copy of Jeff Galloway’s Marathon book and I picked it up the other day and started reading it. I won this book last year from a blogger contest, I think. While reading I started seeing this parallel between training for a marathon and training to make healthy living second nature.  Galloway’s training plan basically takes a newbie to marathon in 6 months or 26 weeks.

26 weeks!!

WOW! That is a commitment!

I will say it again, I am not ready for the 26.2 mile kind of marathon.

However, what I am ready for and what I deserve to train for is the marathon of healthy living that is the rest of my life.  I want to be “normal” and I don’t even know what the exactly what that means so I will settle for healthy living as second nature as breathing. I don’t want it to be so damn hard all the time. I am not delusional, I do not expect sunshine and lollipops all the time… even though I think that would be nice!  If it were easy I wouldn’t be having this constant fight with myself but for me it’s not easy.

So I will fight! Every damn day, I will fight!

My new mission: To make more gooder than badder choices.  (Yes, I am an English teacher – please don’t hold that against me!) In the spirit of lightening up on myself I am going to make the best possible choices at the the time. Occasionally I will make bad choices, I am after all only human and I like junk food and being lazy.  One decision at a time.

I have decided that for the time being I am not going to log my food online or even my workouts. I am keeping a simple notebook with a a daily log of what I eat and how I workout. I have been doing this for the last few days and I am even writing a little observation each night about the day I had. I am not following a training plan but I am moving and grooving. I will run a few days a week and do workout dvds (or using exercisetv.com) on the non-run days.

Move more, eat less!

Move more, make better food choices!

It’s a Marathon of Health Living!

One Day at a Time…

EVERY.DAMN.DAY.

*A few months ago, I was shopping at the mall and I saw this shirt hanging in a store window and I snapped a pic with my cell (not  the picture above). The other day I was going through pics on my cell and I came across this slogan. This slogan and reading the Galloway book and conversations with Mo and Mandy lead me to a lot of reflecting and thinking.

Today, December 16, 2010, I begin training for a marathon!

I will have to focus and train EVERY.DAMN.DAY.

To make healthy living truly second nature I will have to fight EVERY.DAMN.DAY.

I will start my training slow and with the basics. Yep, I am going back to the basics once again. Basics work. Move more, eat less EVERY.DAMN.DAY.

*If you read all the way through the marathon (haha – get it) post then I thank you! I have had all this rambling in my head all day and I had to write.  Do you ever feel the need to just start back at the beginning in order to move forward?

8 Responses to “I'm training for a marathon!!”

  1. Anonymous December 16, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Great post!! Makes me realize that I’m not alone in this journey and I need to do the same thing….one day at a time, one week at a time WE WILL SUCCEED!!!

  2. Nadine December 16, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    YES! Inspiration usually comes to me in the form of a new month (especially when the new month lands on a Saturday – which is tied to my Weight Watchers weigh in day…its a little mental game we play, but whatever works to make it happen. For me, giving myself a clean slate is the way I say…it doesn’t matter what I did (or didn’t do, for that matter) for the last (few days, or months) — it is what I do NEXT that’s going to make an impact.

    You should come back and read this post when your motivation wanes. You have a knack for analyzing the situation, and now you have a plan to move forward.

  3. Marisa @ Loser for Life December 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Jen!!!!! I can’t tell you how much I love this post! And I needed it! Yes, yes, yes, I have been feeling VERY MUCH that I need to start back at the beginning in order to move forward! I’ve been thinking a lot about it and your post just solidified it for me. Thanks for the sign I needed, Jen 🙂
    Oh and I sooooo want that shirt!

  4. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans December 16, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I love your new outlook. I think it is just what you need.

    I LOVE THAT SLOGAN!

  5. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans December 16, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Oops! Forgot to add love YOU!

  6. Kyra December 16, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    I’m with ya on the “yay to maintaining”. I get frustrated because I’ve been basically at the same weight since last year too. This post highlights some of the things that have been rambling in my head too, so thank you for getting them on paper (so to speak) so that we can all start to focus again! Go you!

  7. Anonymous December 16, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    I love you. I really, really love you. Because you are real. And honest. And wonderful. I have no doubt that you will make this happen. Because you are amazing.

  8. Wifey December 22, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    EVERY. DAMN. DAY. I love it! And, this post. I’m sure you will conquer this life marathon. Looking forward to cheering you on!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

Leave a Reply

