Inspiration

21 Dec

What or who inspired you to start a fitness/sports routine and how are you planning to gain power in the New Year?

I have blogged a bunch lately about this funk I find myself in. I am fighting and I will keep on fighting.  I figure anything worth having is worth fighting for – so I fight for my health!  When I started this journey health was not necessarily on my mind: I wanted to lose weight (For the record ~ I know I still have weight to lose and I do want to lose it – I know I have not been very productive in this area – keep reading). I now want more than to just lose weight. I want my health. I want to be fit and strong.

Why do I want this?  I could maintain the status quo. My husband loves me as is. I have no real health issues. So, why do I want this?

My biggest inspiration for just about everything new adventure of the last 11 years is my daughter, the karate kid.  I put myself through college as a single mom because my daughter deserved better than a 22 year old waitress could provide. We fought for six years but we made it through and I graduated college and have now been teaching for four years.  Unfortunately, my weight crept up over the course of those single mom/college student years. Along the way I met a guy who would become my husband and comfort and love led to food and more weight. Amazingly happy led to weight gain but love for what makes me amazingly happy leads me to take control.

I started this whole life changing journey so I would be a better mom. A thin and active mom had to be better than an overweight and out-of-shape mom.  The kid loved it when I started exercising.  She would Walk Away the Pounds with me on many afternoons.  I think she especially loved the extra trips to the park and playground after school and we even found a great place to stop and play basketball.  I love that my kid has always been active; she really does love to be moving. I couldn’t have been a prouder mom when last month my baby earned and received her Black Belt in Tae Kwon Do.

Last year, the karate kid expanded her horizons and tried running for the first time when she joined the cross country team at her middle school.  My little girl ran her heart out and all though she was usually in the back of the pack, she always had a huge smile on her face.  I was inspired to start running. I didn’t immediately fall in love with running and many times I swore I would never be a runner but I kept trying.  Last August, this girl who was never gonna be a runner finished a half marathon.  I may not be the fastest runner but I always finish my runs with a smile and my first half marathon was no different. My biggest supporter, aka the karate kid, was at mile 10 cheering for me and she jumped in line and ran next to me for about half mile.

I must think back to this more often because it does really make me happy.

As a teacher, I hope to influence and inspire and motivate my students. I could have never expected a student to credit me with her desire to be healthy. I blogged about this last week and I am still in awe. In a nutshell, one of my students, Jill, came to me for advice on food and fitness. Jill has been staying after school with me 3 times per week to run and/or workout and walk about food and healthy living. Jill came to me because she saw the changes I had made. I am still amazed that I was able to inspire one of my students to work on getting healthy.

I don’t think my daughter or Jill will ever know how much they inspire me to continue living a healthy and fit life.

As this year ends, I am thankful for all that I have learned and I look forward to a new year full of new adventures.  2010 was the year I finished a half marathon and discovered I really love running.  2010 was a year of great starts and 2011 can only be better! In 2010 I tried many, many fitness activities and I have found a few that need to be further explored in 2011. On the list for further exploration: pilates, jazzercise, strength training and running. 2011 will be the year I call myself a runner.  This teacher has plenty more to learn.

Disclosure: this post was written as a tryout for Team 4all. 4all is looking for ten blogger brand ambassadors and I want to be one!

3 Responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans December 22, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    You would make an awesome ambassador for Team 4all!

    I can’t wait to see what you accomplish in 2011!!

    I miss you! We should really catch up sometime!

  2. Sheri December 23, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Wow, I am so glad I ran across your blog from MizFit’s comments! You are very inspiring! I too am a weight loss blogger and find that its so uplifting to write and read about others stories!

    I just started running, it isn’t easy for sure, but I love the fact that “I” am able to run.

    Great job on your Half!

  3. Biz December 31, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Great post Jen! Just wanted to wish you and your family a Happy New Year! Look forward to reading what the new year will bring you! 😀

Leave a Reply

