no resolutions here

31 Dec

I have the worst track record with NY Resolutions. I realize that I set lofty goals that are not reasonable. I realize I self-sabotage.  I realize I make a lot of excuses…a lot.

During the past few days, I have had a few conversations with different friends. Ladies, I hope you know just how important your friendships are to me!  Through these conversations I realized even more: I do not want to set any resolutions. I suck at them and I do not need to set myself up failure and I don’t need to try and map out what I hope I will do in the next year.

I can strive each and every day to be the best ME I can be!

One of the most important lessons learned in 2010 I just learned. While BBIMing Mo and Lori and emailing Karen, I came to a sort of revelation.  I sort of figured out that I am holding myself back. I am not being fair to myself in this journey. Losing weight or becoming a runner or becoming fit and healthy takes hard work.  I did not put in the hard work in 2010 that I should have but I will not dwell on that. I learned something important. Basically, I am ambitious to a point.  I will do things that take long but generally I don’t push myself too hard. I let myself make excuses.

I phone it in.

Even when I was training for a half marathon, I did not put my all into it.

How did I let this happen?!?

Anyway, talking to my girls helped me sort through some of the gunk in my head. I know what I need to do but I just haven’t given it my all.  It all boils down to this has to be something I do for me for me alone.  I have to do it for me. Even if Big Man is sitting on the couch. Even if it is cold and I am tired.  Even if the weather is crappy and I had a bad day at school. Even if Big Man asks me if I want cake or pie or milkshakes.

I feel better when I am being active! I feel better when I am eating right. I feel better when I am being active! I feel better when I am eating right. I feel better when I am being active! I feel better when I am eating right. I feel better when I am being active! I feel better when I am eating right. I feel better when I am being active! I feel better when I am eating right.

I need to remember this every day!

I will not be making some grand statement of 9zillion things I want to do this coming year. I will not set myself up for failure this year.

This year I will be the BEST ME I can be!!

I will make a commitment to myself. That commitment is to make the best choices every day.  Every day I commit to taking care of myself and doing what is best for me.  I will spend more time taking care of me. I want the things that make me feel better (eating right and being active) to be just how I roll…I don’t want to have to struggle to do what is right for me. All that is going to take commitment….to myself.

I  hope that at the end of 2011 I can confidently call myself STRONG, a RUNNER, and a GOOD PERSON.

I am making the commitment to myself and it is about damn time. Every damn day, I will focus on me!

I DESERVE to make this commitment to myself!!

Tonight is New Year’s Eve and I plan on spending the evening with friends at my house. I will be getting a bit of wine drinking on this

evening.  So, Cheers to you and yours…may 2011 bring you all the health and happiness you can stand and then give ya some more!!

and I leave you with this quote (thanks Wifey, I yanked this right from your FB status):

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called OPPORTUNITY and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.” – Edith Lovejoy Pierce

10 Responses to “no resolutions here”

  1. Heather H January 1, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Awesome post. I am so with you. No more useless resolutions, just promises to ourselves and one another to remember that we deserve good lives and good living.

  2. Jeremy Logsdon January 1, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    I think the plan of simply planning to be the best you you can be everyday is a fantastic way to look at every day, whether it’s New Years tomorrow or not. 🙂

  3. DareToBecome January 1, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    Bellissimo!!! This post…..and YOU!

  4. Jules January 1, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Yes.. here’s to 2011 being the year you start that book called opportunity and commitment.

  5. Anonymous January 1, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    it is so nice to look at a whole new year as opportunity! can’t wait to see what great things you do with it!

  6. Lived in Wien January 1, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Great pics of you and your sweetie! What a great way to start the year -by being active! I’m starting the new year by reading “Women Food and God” by Geneen Roth at Caribou. Blessings!

  7. Sheri January 2, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    All of us go through this same thing every day. I know I am 2 years deep into maintenance just about and I’ve gained about 8 pounds back and want to lose it, but I can’t seem to wrap my head around doing it again.

    You are so right, we do feel better when we eat right, or when we are active, why is it we don’t care in the middle of our food frenzy?? Drives me nuts, I haven’t figured that one out yet.

  8. Anonymous January 3, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Jen, I get where you’re coming from! I think moms especially have a hard time giving it our all, because we’re giving our “all” to everyone else. But – it’s so important that we take care of ourselves; we’re better moms when we do!
    I’m with you in 2011 – let’s ROCK IT!

  9. Wifey January 3, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    I can SO relate as I often get in my own way. I’m certain that you will do what it takes to be the BEST you this year! Looking forward to CHEERING you on!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  10. Pocket January 4, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Jen all we can do is live everyday and be the best you can be. Lori and Mo knows that this is a journey and you see that everyday in their blogs, twitter, and facebook posts. You cannot beat yourself up if you “fail” at something. Just know that it’s a journey and you have to make mistakes as you go along

Leave a Reply

