ODD numbers & challenges

3 Jan

I love challenges! I love challenges but I took a break from challenges while I was training for my half. I wanted to focus just on that, but I still managed to half-ass it. I didn’t put my whole heart and soul into my half training and I regret that.

Well, I can’t go back and change and of my past wrongs.

I can only move forward and learn from my mistakes. I know my mistakes – I didn’t stay true to me and I am a huge procrastinator and I didn’t make myself do it without excuses. I know my mistakes and I am going to learn from them.

I LIKE CHALLENGES:

Challenges are fun!! I love the support and encouragement from fellow challengers. I like the short burts – challenges has been anywhere from 3-13 weeks – so there is constant “newness” and excitement. Variety is the spice of life, right?!?

Speaking of challenges:

My fabulous friends over at the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans are hosting a new challenge. The Power of ONE – and I am the ONE – so it’s the power of ME.  AND this challenged ends on February 23rd….the day before my birthday!  This challenge was designed for ME…and since it’s all about me! Power of One is about weight loss (I know, pick up your jaws I am talking about weight loss again) and I have not been been losing weight.  I am focused on getting into a fitness habit and not eating so much junk or huge portions, I will track food and fitness, and hopefully I will be a little bit lighter for my birthday.

and then on facebook I saw posts about something called a 100 Days Challenge. Of course, I was intrigued.

Info right from The Penguin:

The challenge is to move – intentionally – for 30 minutes a day for 100 days in a row. It doesn’t matter what it is. You can move for 30 minutes once, 15 minutes twice, or 10 minutes three times. You can park your car and walk around the block on your way to work. You can take your dog out for a walk. You can dance, or skip, or do whatever makes youhappy. You just need to move.

Can there be any more perfect challenge to help ya get your groove back?!? Join in anytime!!

I may not be able to go back and change what I didn’t do in 2010 but I can do better in 2011.  Redemption, if you will. Really, I just want to prove to myself that I can train! I like running and I like the way my body (and mind) feels when I am running consistently.  I want to put my whole self (heart, body, mind) into training for an event. While I will be training for a half marathon in August (more details to come), I am going to start slow and train for an 11K. Yep, 11K!! I have found an 11K  race for the April Fool’s weekend and there is 13 weeks until then. I was reading around on jeffgalloway.com and I found a 13-week 10K training plan that looks perfect for me!

Did you catch that?!?

13 weeks of training.

11K is the event!

April Fool’s Day (weekend) is the date!

I like to be a little on the ODD side!! and I totally crack myself up!

So you see, I have a few challenges for the next few months. ALL challenges lead me to a better me and I will feel so accomplished in mid-April when I have moved & grooved my body 100 days in a row and I have properly trained and completed an 11K. I am a work in progress but I feel confident that I am making all the right steps in the right direction.  I am a work in progress and I will keep working and keep progressing.

I have thoughts on keep myself accountable and tracking (my weakness for sure) my food but I will save that for another post because I have already rambled on too much!

What can I say, I like odd numbers and challenges.

I know not everyone can possibly love challenges the way I love challenges but I wonder what you think. Do you like challenges??

14 Responses to “ODD numbers & challenges”

  1. Anonymous January 4, 2011 at 3:45 am #

    Challenges keep me focused…they give me something to strive for and work harder for! That is what I love most about the ShrinkingJeans gals…they push me and challenge me to be a better me!! Sounds like you have some great plans for the year!

  2. Jules Big Girl Bombshell January 4, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    I use to like challenges, or so I thought but for me, and this may seem a little odd, they are like resolutions..just because I sign up doesn’t mean I stick to it once the newness, excitement, etc wears off. I have had to find some peace in the down times to try to learn to keep me consistent!

    You WILL make it for your training and YOUR RACE.. I Believe!

  3. Melissa @MelGetsFit January 4, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    You *know* I love a good challenge! I’ll be cheering you on as you train for your 11k. 🙂

  4. Jess January 4, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I love the Power of ONE!
    I wrote about it in June 2010
    http://jessisfound.blogspot.com/search/label/ONE
    : )

  5. Sheri January 4, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Good for you Jen, challenging yourself like that! I am one not about challenges because everyday is a challenge for me to eat my allotted calories and workout. Currently working out is not a challenge its eating my calories without going over.

  6. Anonymous January 4, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I joined this challenge for a lot of the same reasons — mostly because it was ‘ME’ focused (and not a team) and also because it wraps up right around MY birthday (which is the 17th) — and a milestone one for me. I tend to do better when I have a goal or a specific time frame! I like the variety of challenges you are involved in right now!

    • jeninRL January 4, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks Nadine! I am all about ME this year! and YOU!

      ________________________________

  7. Kayla January 4, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE challenges! I LOVE you even more than challenges! 😉

  8. Irene Robertson January 4, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    This is a great challenge. I am involved in something similar – 60 minutes every day of this year.

  9. FitInMyheart January 4, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    It sounds like you have the FOCUS back on YOU!!! #Perfect!!! You will ROCK IT!!! I’m behind you 110%!!!!! Love ya lots!!
    Dr. Mo (@FitInMyHeart)

  10. KLI January 4, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    you rock!!! I need you to kick my butt into gear – I’m in a funk and need inspiration!!!

  11. Biz January 6, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Love your positivity Jen! 😀 And the Egg Harbor cafe my daughter and I ate at first started in Door County, Wisconsin, and they have 3 others in Illinois – its really good food!

  12. Jen@ Making Messes January 7, 2011 at 3:15 am #

    I love challenges too! They definitely motivate me. Thought I have to admit I tend to bite off more than I can chew. So lately I’ve backed away from challenges to allow myself to just be. But you’ve inspired me to maybe do a small challenge!

    • jeninRL January 7, 2011 at 3:53 am #

      I backed away for the same reason. Now, I only join challenges that are good for
      me and not going to stress me out. I promise myself not to join too many and
      only join multiple challenges IF the goals are similar and conducive to make ME
      better!!

      I am glad I could inspire you!!

      Much love, jen

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

