a very snowy 2.7K

8 Jan

Today has been an amazing and crazy day!! My very awesome bestie, Dr. Mo, set out to run her very first half marathon in Disney so I woke up early to cheer her on!!  Mo is not the only friend in Disney this weekend – Christie, Brooke and Kirsten are running their first FULL marathon tomorrow. In honor of such a momentous weekend, I wanted to participate in the Sisters of the Shrinking Jeans 2nd Annual Virtual 5K.  I was stoked to get out there today, and then it started snowing…and snowing….

So I bundles up. I am wearing a turtleneck, hoodie, coat, 2 pairs of tights, 3 pairs of socks, and a pair of ugg-like boots (with more traction than typical uggs).

First things first, I had to shovel a bit and play with Miss Lucy. She loves the snow!

Yep, that is SNOW! And, yes, snow is up to the tops of my boots.

My streets may not get plowed but my mail gets delivered!!

Not sure if you can tell, but this is a Domino’s delivery truck! Someone wanted and received their pizza…ewwww…

Trudging through the snow was tough, and by this point my arches were killing me. I did not sit but thought about it. This bench is on my bikepath…do you see a bikepath?!? Yeah, I don’t see it either but look what I did see…

This dude had the right idea!!

I cut my 5K short…only wound with a 2.7K and I am ok with that!! I am happy with my 2.7K!!

I like the snow!! For the first time in my life, I did not stay bundled up in the house, safe on the couch – I got out and walked in the snow….and I LOVED it!!

(My feet, not so happy with my choice in footwear – not that I had a choice since it was the boots or sneakers and I was worried I would fall in my sneakers – but they will be fine!)

14 Responses to “a very snowy 2.7K”

  1. Anonymous January 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    You kicked ass. ‘Nuf said!

  2. Anonymous January 9, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Way to get out there, Jen! The snow is SO pretty, but that’s really ALL I miss about that.

  3. KCLAnderson (Karen) January 9, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    Running in the snow sounds great…in theory LOL. Not sure I would have had the fortitude that you did!! I love your dedication! 🙂

  4. Lisa January 9, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    I love the picture story and the one of the pizza delivery? Hi-la-ri-ous. Great job on getting out there in that crazy weather!

  5. Anonymous January 9, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    OMG Jen! You are a much stronger woman than me running outside in that weather! GREAT JOB!

  6. Anonymous January 9, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    You gotta love the snow!! Great job for getting out there and doing what you could. Love all the pictures!

  7. JBeyondSurvival January 9, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    You ROCK Jen. Hahaha about the mailman and pizza. Awesome guy cross country skiing. Genius.

  8. barb_at_jiggles January 9, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    w00t! Great job, even if you had to cut it short – it’s so much harder to walk in the snow, so you probably did as much work as a 5k 🙂

  9. Anonymous January 9, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Wow!! I’m impressed that you didn’t stay inside all nicee and cozy by a fire or under a blanket! I think that’s where I would have been! You did great for getting out there and doing the 2.7K!! That’s awesome!!

  10. Tonyne January 9, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Holy crap girl! You are awesome for getting out in that mess. 🙂

  11. Anonymous January 10, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    Holy Cow, what determination to do this challenge in the snow!!! Way to go!

  12. Thea January 10, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    Dude, that’s awesome! That is definitely a walk for the bank! I’m so proud of you for going out in those conditions. Way to follow through on a plan.

  13. Wifey January 11, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    You’re such a trooper! We’re snowed in in Atlanta today and I haven’t set one foot outside. You go!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

Leave a Reply

