sick of sick

21 Jan

This sickness has invaded me and I am so tired of being so tired. I am sick of being sick. For the better part of two weeks my head has felt like it is holding 100 pounds of snot.  I have been so tired.  Last week wasn’t so bad, I just had a stupid cold and was really tired. Monday and Tuesday came and I felt pretty darn good. I even worked out enough to work up a sweat.  Wednesday morning I woke up feeling worse than I did last week. Wednesday I broke down and bought medicine (mainly because Mo put her foot down and insisted) and today (Friday) I am feeling better. I am certainly not 100% – I am still a bit tired, sore and stuffy but I am on the mend.

I may have been stubborn in breaking down and buying medicine but I rested.  I came home a few days from school and took naps.  I went to be at a decent hour. I only officially worked out once or twice and I don’t even feel guilty.

I have made it a point to take care of myself.  I have been drinking a ton of tea – I am starting to really like tea and I think I may be able to break my addiction with my coffee and sugar free french vanilla creamer.  I have eaten so many bowls of soup; it’s a good thing I like soup.  I may not have gotten in very many actual workouts but I made it a point to get in movement – I parked as far away, I went downstairs at school just so I had to come back up the stairs,  I paced my classroom more than usual. I moved intentionally. If there is any bright side to being sick  it is listening to my body and actually taking care of myself.

I may actually be on the road to recovery.

Tomorrow, big man asked if I would go walking through the trails at a local park. It is cold, not as cold as some places, but it’s cold enough to be deemed bitter – plus I am big weeny – so its cold.  Until I got sick, I was enjoying the cold so I am sort of looking forward to getting out there tomorrow.  I figure I have been sick long enough. I will continue my nyquil/dayquil combo for the weekend but I am on the road to recovery…I will have it no other way.  But I am over being sick.

I am going to walk every day until I am 100% ~ my lungs need a lot more recovery. I am going to walk my way to a full recovery. That is my only mission these days. I can’t believe a stupid little cold settled into me and lingered this long.  I must be somewhat on the mend because I want to walk.

I feel the need, the need for speed…

if by speed you mean more than a snail’s pace, which I do!

Onward!

How are you all making out this winter?!?

3 Responses to “sick of sick”

  1. Sheri January 22, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    Get better soon!

  2. Heather January 22, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    Feel better – have you tried a neti pot? They sound gross but they help so much with a cold!

  3. Jennifer C January 22, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I hear ya – the sickness has been in my house for so long now, it’s another member of our family! I’m battling my latest cold as I type. This one was so bad I lost my voice for the last couple days (my kids must have been lighting a candle!).
    I hope you feel better right now! Enjoy the freezing walk, lol!

Leave a Reply

