the plague has left the building

30 Jan

I may not have actually had the plague but there were moments when I thought I was never going to be well again. I have been sick off on on for most of January. It started with some sneezing, then head pressure, it was a cold that just lingered. Lingered and festered and became a lovely bronchial infection. And because it must be fun to kick a person when they are weak and whiny, my body was then invaded by a nasty stomach bug.

My daughter had the stomach bug first!! Damn kid, she was better and ready to take on the neighborhood about 24 hours  after the first puke.  Oh to be 11 again. I puked for about 12 hours, slept for another 6 and then was pathetic, weak and whiny for another day a half.

A day and a half after that brings us to today.

Sunday night.

My last day of school was last Monday.

Oh boy, just another manic Monday!

A few good things came out of the Great Winter Plague of 2011

~ I was feeling out of shape 3 weeks ago, before the plague. I am weak and out of shape. The bronchial thing has left my lungs sort of trashed.

~ I have pretty much stopped drinking coffee.  I was drinking a TON of coffee every day, as much as 80 ounces each day and I use a bunch of sugar free french vanilla creamer.  I have tried a few times now to have a cup of coffee when the husband makes it but coffee just has not tasted the same.  I can potentially be saving myself 200-300 calories a day. <small changes>

~ I like tea. I mean really like. I am a convert. Does green tea have caffeine!?! I think I could drink green tea all day long, at least on coldazz days of winter.

~A good friend told me I am too hard on myself. I took her words to heart.  I set myself up to fail. I try to do too much and when I can’t do it for whatever reason, I just give up. Sometimes, this can be a good thing as I am all about being flexible and reinventive. If I am being honest, it is a way to cop out before I fail. I am just realizing this so I don’t have all the answers/details.

~ Another good friend wrote a blog post about small changes, and I realized I could do that. I can make small changes. I can focus on small changes instead of the whole shebang (which, if I am being honest, is a little scary.)

~ I am realizing if I am going to move forward, I have to be willing to make changes. Changes to my own way of thinking, eating, moving, all of it. I don’t know why but moving forward is hard. The only way I can truly move forward is to make the commitment to myself because I deserve it.  Why is this so hard?!?

~ There is no answer!! Life was never guaranteed to be easy. I want to become a healthy and fit person. I have to work at this, wanting it hasn’t gotten me anywhere.

~I have a plan but that is another post.

~ What the heck am I still doing awake. Good night!!

Being sick and stranded to the couch for the better part of a week and lots of Nyquil and then a bit of dehydration may or may not have contributed to my serious reflective state.

6 Responses to “the plague has left the building”

  1. Anonymous January 31, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Hope you continue feeling better and regain your strength soon!! Reflect away….it is good for the soul!!

  2. Katdoesdiets January 31, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    “the Great Winter Plague of 2011” oh my, too funny. So sorry you’ve had such a rough month! Glad you’re feeling better. Great lessons. Here’s to a HEALTHY February!

  3. DareToBecome January 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    I think people always under estimate the value of small changes…small steps. When you walk do you pole vault from one mile to the next? Life is comprised of tiny little steps. I applaud you and your husband on your steps this week…and the steps you will take next week. *hugs* Lori

  4. KCLAnderson (Karen) January 31, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I am SO glad you’re feeling better, Jen. And you know what? We often get clarity when we least expect it! 🙂

  5. Wifey February 1, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    Glad you’re feeling better … and sounding positive! Loving the small changes.

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  6. Ryan February 2, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Making small changes is the way to go, before you know it you will be making even more small changes on top of the small changes you have already made which will all add up in the end. Happy to hear you’re feeling better. Now it’s time to carry on with this healthy journey

Leave a Reply

