Can't move forward if you're still looking back

6 Mar

If I am to be honest, I am completely dissatisfied with my progress as of late.  I have not done all that I could have done. Then this winter hit and it was terribly long and full of sickness. But, 2010 is over! Winter of 2011 is coming to a close. Spring is most definitely in the air.

I am not going to look back! It is time to move forward.  I know I cannot move forward if I am still looking back and seeing all my past mistakes. But beating myself up and staying hung up on the last year is not going to help me in the now.

I spent the weekend working on my plan. It’s what I do: I plan and I clean!

On Friday, I had a long conversation with Mo. First off she wanted to know about my goals.  Oh boy, there is that word. It all starts with the goal.  Right now, my goal is to be consistent in my workouts and to run the entire 5K at Fitbloggin. Mo helped me work up a good training plan. I think we came up with a winner.  I typed up a neat chart and printed it out so I can cross off the days as I go.  I will be starting each week with a REST day – how cool is that?!?

On Friday, I had a long conversation with Mo. First off she wanted to know about my goals.  Oh boy, there is that word. It all starts with the goal.  Right now, my goal is to be consistent in my workouts and to run the entire 5K at Fitbloggin. Mo helped me work up a good training plan. I think we came up with a winner but we will evaluate in a few weeks.  I typed up a neat chart and printed it out so I can cross off the days as I go. Isn’t it pretty?!?

I will be starting each week with a REST day – how cool is that?!?

Run days will start with 15 mins running followed by 45 mins of walking. LONG run (which isn’t really in my vocabulary anymore) are going to be running until I reach run fatigue (of course hitting that week’s minimum running minutes).  I am focusing on components of my training – the runs, the cross training, the strength training, and even the stretching.

Planning had to be followed up with cleaning!! Yesterday and today were marathon house cleaning days. Every inch of my house has been scrubbed. I have decluttered my way to a very full outside trash cans.  A clean house makes me happy! An organized and clean house helps me feel ready to take on the world.

Don’t I look ready?!?!

I leave you with two questions because I really want to know:

1.  What do you do for cross training?

2. What are your goals?

11 Responses to “Can't move forward if you're still looking back”

  1. Tonyne @Unlikely Success Story March 6, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Love this post. So glad you are moving forward. You rock. Love you.

    1. Weights – I want girl guns.
    2. Right now, just get through it.

  2. Anonymous March 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    With Mo in your corner you can’t lose!
    1. Nike training club app, 100 pushup challenge & the occasional spin class or swim (gag).
    2. Maintain my weight loss & run my entire 25k (with walking thru aid stations so I don’t drown myself drinking my water).

  3. Tara March 6, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    For cross training I do a combination of running / boxing / weight training / working with trainer. As for goals I have a number of races until august to work towards as well as the next level up in triathlon distance (olympic) in september. I’m also focusing on my emotional and spiritual goals. I am working towards becoming an official member of my church as well as working towards my baptism.

    I can’t wait to cheer you across the finish line…

  4. Heather March 7, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I also need to stop looking back and start looking forward!

    Thanks for some motivation!

  5. Jules - Big Girl Bombshell March 7, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    1. just started Yoga
    2. To bridge the long held emotional distance from my body…and move back into it. I plan to, at least, walk the 5K at fitbloggin

  6. Nadine March 7, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Moving forward is best. It doesn’t matter what you did, its what you do NEXT that counts.

    1. kickboxing, spin, and on a rare occassion, yoga.
    2. find a happy weight for good, PR the 1/2 mary (Oct) and achieve some personal balance before my oldest turns 18.

  7. Terri (@teetee_71) March 8, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    Yay!! I totally love your plan! Your back baby!

    As you know, I found love with the punching bag. That and Zumba or Just Dance.

    My goal is of course to lose weight, but be healthy and happy. I want to wear shorts again….

  8. Mizfit March 9, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Im thinking about you. been watching your tweets as well. xo xo xo

  9. Thea March 9, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Well…I think you know my goals. : P

    I bike, Wii, and swim for cross training!

  10. Biz March 10, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Hooray for having a plan Jen! Love it. I try to mix it up with group classes (seriously lacking lately in this department!), walking, exercise TV on demand – otherwise I get bored doing the same thing over and over and don’t work out as hard.

    I’ve had a good week so far, we’ll see if it shows up on the scale on Saturday!

  11. steena March 11, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Glad you’re back and working towards a routine. Planning it all out helps! I also start the week out with a rest day, it’s great!
    What do I do for cross training? I spin, swim, and use the elliptical. The swimming has been the most beneficial thing I’ve done for myself, I don’t love doing it, but I highly highly recommend it.
    Goals? Me? Try again later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

