cooking in real life: hummus & mud soup

13 Mar

Hummus My Way

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas (garbanza beans)

1 roasted red pepper

1 roasted jalepeno

1/2 clove garlic (roasted with olive oil)

juice from 1/2 lemon

salt to taste

olive oil

Directions:

Put all ingredients minus the olive oil into food processor and pulse. Drizzle olive oil as you pulse until you reach your desired texture.  Eat with crackers or raw veggie sticks.

Mud Soup

Ingredients:

1/2 cup black beans*

1/2 cup northern beans*

1/2 cup uncooked barley

1 zucchini, diced

3 carrots, peeled & sliced

1 stalk celery, diced

1/4 onion, grated

1 can crushed tomatoes (or diced)

8 cups vegetable stock

italian seasoning

Directions: Put all ingredients in the crock pot on low for 8-10 hours.

Misc. notes:

1.  I have made this soup a few times and I add random veggies, like green beans or cabbage, whatever I happen to have on hand.

2. I think I like all black beans the best.

3.  It is called Mud Soup because it really looks unappealing but it tastes super yummy and incredibly filling!!

4. I use dry beans for this recipe and I am not sure how this would work with canned beans.

5. I make this soup on a Sunday and I have lunch for the week!!

2 Responses to “cooking in real life: hummus & mud soup”

  1. Janelle March 14, 2011 at 3:34 am #

    Yum! Adding both to my “to make” list!

  2. Biz March 14, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Love your mud soup!! And adding a roasted jalapeno to your hummus? Totally stealing that idea!

Leave a Reply

