one day, day one

15 Mar

4 days on track

3 days NOT on track

start over.

This is about par for the course these days. I have spent the last yearorsonotsureexactly going in this or a similar to this pattern.

lather. rinse. repeat.

INSANITY!

I have heard that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over expecting different results.

Last week, I posted my new schedule! I was bound and determined that this time was going to be different. I wanted it to be different! And it was, at least until Friday. I didn’t pack a lunch and one thing led to another led to a weekend of not on track. And by Sunday I was all self-defeatist. It was sort of ugly.

I did something unlike me. I reached out for help. I sent a message to Terry and she bleeped back  right away. After a few back and forths I felt better.  T reminded me to take one day at a time.

Enter the #7daychip

#7daychip is the brainchild of Brad Gansberg. In a nutshell, Brad has started a movement that encourages and supports one day at a time. Making a plan is not exactly working.  I am ready to try one day at a time.

my goals for my #7daychip are simply to everyday:

1. MOVE my ass body

2. Drink Water somehow I got off the water like a camel kick

3. Vitamins I am terrible about taking a daily vitamin.

4. 5 – 7 fruits and vegetables

I am keeping it simple!!

DOABLE!

Realistic.

I will keep the training schedule I created as a guide but I will take each day as it comes. Like today, it was a gorgeous day and my schedule calls for today to be a rest day but after a lazy weekend and the sun shining I set out for a walk.  If it weren’t for this chest cold I have coming on and a coughing fit I may have walked longer than 54 minutes.

I still have a running goal – to run the entire 5K at fitbloggin.

After that I want to run a 10K approximately July 4th (I haven’t picked an actual event) and a half marathon August 28th.

But instead of focusing on “training” I am going to focus on moving this body of mine. I am going to push myself to go a little longer each day.

I am going to focus on feeding my body the fuel it needs to stay strong. I am going to focus on giving my body what it needs.

The experiments of Jen continue…stay tuned, it has been a bumpy ride.

On to Day #2

big hugs & much love, jen

9 Responses to “one day, day one”

  1. Katdoesdiets March 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Sounds awesome. I think whatever works for us is the ‘right’ thing to do.

    • jeninRL March 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      I may just finally be getting that this is MY journey! much love!

  2. Jeremy Logsdon March 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    #7daychip has been an amazing thing for me, too, even if I haven’t quite earned it yet. I like your guidelines. They seem logical, helpful, and doable. 🙂

    • jeninRL March 16, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      I finally succeeded and Day 1 was in the books – it took me 4 tries to claim Day 1! Keep at it!! YOU can do it, Jeremy!!

      much love & big love!!

  3. Thea March 16, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    You break it down into whatever chunks you need to. You can do this.

  4. Josie YumYucky March 16, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Your current challenges remind me of ME. It took me awhile to find my groove, but once I did, it was all uphill from there. Even on those days when I mess up and need a do-over, I still consider myself going uphill and making progress. You’re just finding your groove, girl! xoxo

  5. Elisha Dew March 16, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    7DayChip has kept me going longer than I’ve been able to in quite a while. I’m keeping my goals super-simple at the moment–one thing at a time!–but right now I’m on day 7.

    It’s such a simple concept, yet so helpful!

    Good luck on your 7daychip!

  6. Anonymous March 23, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Okay…looking more into the chips! 😉

Leave a Reply

