embrace positivity

17 Mar

It has been a long day.

Yesterday I stayed home sick.

Monday during my walk I noticed a tightness in my chest. And then there was the coughing incident. By the time dinner rolled around on Monday, I was stuffy and miserable.

Yesterday, Tuesday, was a much needed sick day.  I lounged on the couch and watched One Tree Hill on the laptop. I drank a lot of tea and was ate soup. I did manage a walk, a slow 30 minute walk. I did not push to go too fast because I just didn’t have the energy for all that. According to my Polar FT4 I was only in the target zone for 30 seconds. I could not have moved faster if I wanted to but the fresh air felt lovely and it felt good to move.

Last night I was short of my fruit/veggie requirement.  This purple bad boy below filled the requirement and was a delicious dessert for me and my man!

Purple Power Smoothie

strawberries

frozen bananas

blackberries

vanilla yogurt

ice cubes

orange juice

Throw all these yummies in the blender. I used my immersion blender because I was too lazy to go up to the attic to the regular blender.

All in all, Tuesday was a good day. I was home sick and that is never fun but I hit my #7daychip goals. I feel like I was able to accomplish something.

Now today is Wednesday!  I went to work today and it was an incredibly LONG day.  The teens were especially entertaining and exhausting today. One lovingly told me I sounded like crap, of course he said this with all due respect. I made it through the day and came home to take care of a sick husband and kid. Yeah, the second the husband is sick all worries of me being sick goes out the window.

All things considered, today was a great day as well!  I knew it would be difficult to cope with work – I’m still sick, so I am tired and I have two sickies in the house.  I made a pretty awesome dinner, loaded with veggies. I figure every little bit has to help, right?!?

I wrote everything above here last night before I went to bed. I was saying how great yesterday was and I realized I hadn’t officially done any workout. I am being honest here, it was all I could do to get myself to work but I started to get down on myself because I didn’t walk. So, I put this post on hold and went to bed.

Damn, bed felt good. I wish I was in bed now but the responsible adult in me is going to school.

Anyway, I decided that I was not going to beat myself up for no workouts. I am calling yesterday a success. I felt like crap but I did go to school, I did take care of my family. I did take my vitamin and medicine. I ate 6 F/V and I drank water.

As I was getting ready for bed last night, I was going to call yesterday a failure. I almost wrote that in this post but I went to bed with intentions of finishing this post in the morning.

I have changed my mind.

You see, I am too hard on myself and I tend to give up way too easily.

I am going to embrace  the positives.

I am sick and I still managed to take care of me while taking care of a sick husband and a sick kid. It’s debatable which one is a bigger baby.

I urge you, to think of the positives…embrace the positives…hold on for dear life to the positives. The negatives are nasty and unproductive!

embrace positivity!

Much love & Big hugs,
Jen

P.S. Bring on Day #4

9 Responses to “embrace positivity”

  1. Karena @ Traveling Well March 17, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    You should definitely go get that blender – smoothies are the bomb! This morning’s was banana and frozen black cherries, with just a tetch of water to make it easier to blend. And my 3yo, picky eater extraordinaire, begs me daily for a *green milkshake* – frozen banana, spinach, and just a bit of soy milk. mmmmm

    • jeninRL March 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      I used my immersion blender – since that is smaller it fits in a drawer in the kitchen! I occasionally add spinach in but I think that requires the big blender. the immersion doesn’t seem to blend the spinach enough. =)

      Thanks K!

      much love & big hugs!

  2. Tara March 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    We forget too often that successful days aren’t always going to be filled with sweat dripping off our our faces. I’m guilty of that more than anyone I think. I freak out if I can’t get to the gym. What we need to remember if at the end of the night we can lay our heads on our pillows and feel good about who we are and what we’ve done then that is just as successful as getting our heart rates up. Being sick and still taking care of yourself is way more of a success than you give yourself credit for. Yes, I know you are saying it was successful but I bet you anything it took some serious coaxing to believe that.

    Love you!
    T

  3. Katdoesdiets March 17, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    First, those smoothies look freaking amazing. Second, I am sending telepathic healing mind rays…or something… lol. Feel better!!!

  4. Thea March 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Oh. Em. Gee. Did you see my tweet yesterday morning?

    “I’ve got to Ac. Cen. Tuate the positive. Because the negative is gonna lead me to the loony bin.”

    I am with you. 110%. You are awesome and I am so glad I have you in my life!

  5. Biz March 17, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    OMG, don’t beat yourself up about not getting in a work out when you are sick – just take care of yourself and you’ll get back at it when you feel better. Hugs!

  6. Mizfit March 18, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    cant believe it is FRIDAY Im glad you rested and chilled and so you can now be ready willing and able to kick ass next week, Jen.

    you needed the YOUTIME.

  7. steena March 20, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Yea, don’t beat yourself up over missing a workout after you were SICK!! Keep up the positive attitude. You’re doing great.

  8. Ryan Raphael March 24, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Happy you are feeling better. Hate those sick days but it feels good to lay back and relax. The 30 minute walk was also good, even though it was not at a pace you would of like it was something non of the less

Leave a Reply

