I’m learning….

30 Mar

I started to write this post, I knew what I was going to write about. I just needed a picture, and since I am on the kiddo’s laptop I just googled “one day at a time” and found the perfect picture.

I love the beach. I grew up in Ocean City, NJ and the beach was my playground. Anytime I am stressed or on the verge of losing my mind, I try to get to the beach.  See, picture up there is perfect?!?

I am not the new kid on the block, but damn do I feel like it! I have been on this roller coaster called weight loss/getting healthy for quite a while. So I have been doing  this thing for a while, and let’s be honest, I have been stagnant. I would think big, make plans but I had no follow through. I really do give up on myself too easily.

NOT anymore.

I am trying something new.

It stared with a little thing called the #7daychip – I set realistic goals and I worked on meeting those goals every day. It took me 4 tries to really get in a groove and get past Day #1.  I finally made it through Day #1 and I even earned my #7daychip.  I had Terri by my side ever day, we supported and encouraged each other each and every day.

I learned a lot earning my #7daychip.

  • It really is all about one day at a time – I am not in the headspace right now for a full out training plan.
  • It is okay to imperative to ask for help.
  • Having a buddy or two or three is AWESOME! I have come to rely on my buddies and between texts, bbims, and emails I have had constant contact with at least 2 of the 3 every day.
  • My community means the world to me. I really really knew that when my blog was hacked and I moved homes. I contemplated quitting the whole bloggy business.  As you can see, I am still here…
  • I need to blog….especially when I am blogging the nitty gritty real stuff. I really feel better when I get stuffs out my chest.
  • My goal says MOVE and that does not always mean dripping with sweat. I need to remember to give myself credit.
  • My current goals do not say I have to be perfect.
  • In fact, I can reach my goals each day and still have a donut. Not the best choice but one bad choice does not negate the good. (This one is hard for me! I am so all or nothing!)
  • The journey to healthier living is harder than I ever thought possible!!
  • This journey is about so much more than simply eating less.
  • This journey is about making better choices, every day, one day at a time!

I am not really religious. I don’t know what I believe and I don’t want to talk about it.

But….

while I was googling pictures, I came across this quote and it is so perfect.

Don’t worry at all…..about tomorrow. Tomorrow can take care of itself! One day’s trouble is enough for one day. Matthew 6:34

 

I will continue to work at this healthy living, one day at a time!! It sounds so cliche but I finally get it!!  What do you think?!?!




Much LOVE & Big Hugs

back to the bullets

6 Responses to “I’m learning….”

  1. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story March 30, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I’m not religious either, but that quote is amazing. Love ya girl!

  2. Brooke March 30, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    As a Christian, it makes me sad to say that I don’t live that verse. At all. Good stuff.

    *hugs*

  3. Angela March 30, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I think your new attitude is going to change everything for you. Lean on your friends, believe in yourself, and remember that you’re allowed to make mistakes as long as you learn from them. I like where you said to give yourself credit. Keep doing that!!

  4. AnnG March 30, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    This verse means so much to me. It’s how I’ve been trying to live over the past couple of years, but it is sooooo hard to do when life keeps throwing crap in your face on a daily basis. So glad that you have decided that you need to lean on your friends for support. I think the friendships that we have in place are there for a reason….to get us through the tough spots!! {Hugs!}

  5. Brittany March 31, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Yay Jen 🙂 LOVE YOU! This community is great, and so super supportive! YOU CAN DO THIS! And i can too! Let’s rock this 🙂

    PS– love that scripture verse… my friends painted it for me on a board 7 years ago, and it still hangs in my room 🙂

  6. Miz March 31, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    and, if youre me, many many days its one MOMENT AT A TIME.

    xo

Leave a Reply

