bullets & confessions with a side of commitment

10 Apr
  • This post could also be titled, “RIPPING OFF THE BANDAID” – so here goes the confessions….
  • I quit my google reader last week. I was feeling insane about all the blogs I was not reading every day. I am one person and I cannot stare at a computer screen 20 hours a day. I still read a lot of blogs but I am less obsessive about it. Everyone tweets or facebooks when they post a new blog anyway.
  • I went back to the scale. I didn’t need the scale to tell me I had gained….believe me, my pants were letting me know. As of April 1st I am stepping on the scale every Friday morning.
  • April 1, 2011’s weigh-in was nearly 20 pounds higher than my last official weigh in with WW March 24, 2010.  While this does upset me, I am not going to dwell on what I cannot change. The last year happened. It was an incredibly hard year for my family (a whole other post but leave it to me to be broke, tighten the budget within an inch of its life and still manage to gain 20+ pounds!) I cannot change the past but I can move forward and continue to grow and improve.
  • I will be posting my weigh-ins again but I am doing it different. I am going to give weigh-ins a whole separate page – I will post a pic of the scale and the date – that’s it. I will use the scale as one tool in this journey. I will  not give it too much power, I will step on the scale document the results, post a picture and evaluate each week based on more than just the number on the scale. It is important but it is not everything.
  • I am counting calories using SparkPeople.  I am only using SP for its ease and the fact I have an app on my ipod touch and my blackberry so there is no excuse. I cannot get all involved with the social aspect of SP – I am too addicted to social media as it is.
  • Even though I am counting calories, I refuse to eat crap just because it is low calorie…at least not all the time. I am not perfect and sometimes crap happens.  I will make more better choices more often.
  • I forgot to add this…I am the worst housekeeper in the world. With hubs working this week and me doing more of the dinners and driving, I found the house cleaning taking a back burner. This week was mentally exhausting, so a lot of stuff took the back burner.

maybe I should be committed….I need to set daily goals/commitments/whatever you want to call them…

  • I will get my sweat on for 60 minutes/6 days a week. I DESERVE to spend one hour working on ME!
  • I will track everything – food and fitness – every day.
  • I will set aside time for my Lucy, it will be good for me and my puppy if we take daily walks.
  • I will “clean” something ever single day.

Working on these 3 simple things will help me work on me!

I run when things are hard or I falter BUT I CAN DO ANYTHING I SET MY MIND TO!

I put everyone ahead of myself BUT I CAN DO ANYTHING I SET MY MIND TO!

I feel guilty when I put me first BUT I CAN DO ANYTHING I SET MY MIND TO!

I am afraid BUT I CAN DO ANYTHING I SET MY MIND TO!!

17 Responses to “bullets & confessions with a side of commitment”

  1. Marisa @ Loser for Life April 10, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Whooo hooo! You”ve got this, Jenn! And you know where I am if you need me! See you SOON 🙂

  2. Jules - Big Girl Bombshell April 10, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    We are on the same PAGE! My weigh-ins will be on Fridays too…I will not post my actual weight just the up or down! and I went back to Spark People to track…but still eating healthy not just calories……..WOOT

    Here’s to BUT I can do anything I set my mind too!

  3. Rebecca Regnier April 10, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Love this – love it. This is a lifetime process. Accepting that there is no finish line is the hard part for me too.

    Great post.

    http://www.doesthisblogmakeuslookfat.com

  4. Rebecca Regnier April 10, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Not sure if I went to moderation or not – if this shows up twice please forgive.

    Just wanted to say I love this post and accepting that this is a lifetime journey with no finish line has been my challenge and blessing this year.

    Great post.

  5. Melissa (@MelGetsFit) April 10, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Love this post!! I have so much Google Reader guilt as well. I may not dump mine completely, but definitely think I’ll drastically pare mine down.

  6. AnnG April 10, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    You can do it, Jen….and I totally get the gaining weight on a tight budget. How do we manage to gain weight when there’s so little money?? With all your friends as a support system you will be successful!

  7. Bari April 10, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Jen, ((hugs)) im so proud of you for setting such awesome, attainable goals. I have no doubt that you will reach them.

  8. Tara April 10, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Fuckin A this post is full of spit and fire!!!!!

    GO GET IT JEN!

  9. Reen April 11, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Hi, Jen. My first visit here. Just read your post and I LOVE IT! I love the idea of setting daily goals. Great idea. And definitely am a firm believer in setting aside a little block of time every day “for yourself”. I have gotten away from that a little. I am still running three days a week, but I used to also set time aside to go to the gym on the off-run days. Your post has me thinking about that again. I miss that.

    Sounds like you have a great plan put together for yourself. That’s a terrific start!

  10. Kyra April 11, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Yup, anything you can set your mind to! Go for it. 🙂

  11. Irene April 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    What is it about April that is making us all get back on the wagon. I like it!

  12. Donna April 11, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Sounds like we are about in the same place, in many aspects of life. Keep up the good fight and you will get there. In fact, I think we’ll get there together. Go Jen, GO!!!!

  13. Yum Yucky April 11, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I love how blunt and to the point you are about the things going on – what the deal is and what you’re doing about it without all the deep thinking. Just cutting right to the chase to get it done! And I am also with you on that housework. Gah! make it stop!

  14. Lisa April 11, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    I LOVE that you added that you will clean something every day. I really struggle with that too, and I think it’s an incredible goal.

  15. Sheri April 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Jen, I too get overwhelmed with all my blogs. I have my favs and usually get through them weekly. The rest I get to if I have time.

    Take care of yourself, that is #1 because then you can be the best that you can be.

Leave a Reply

