Menu Monday

2 May

Menu planning is hugely important!

Menu planning serves a few different purposes:

  1. I never stare at an open freezer wondering what the heck we are having for dinner.
  2. My budget stays on point – no needless ordering out or wasted food.
  3. I plan meals around our schedules – I build in lazy dinner nights (breakfast, tacos, freezer meals, etc)
  4. Everyone gets a say – I ask for everyone’s input (most of the time) and the husband and the daughter each get one night each week. The kid picks breakfast or tacos every time and the husband is easy – steak!
  5. It has made grocery shopping so much easier and less stressful!
On the menu:
Dinners: 
Monday: Stuffed Zucchinis with Spaghetti Squash
Tuesday: Turkey Sausage, Peppers & Onion subs with potato and sweet potato wedges and a salad*
Wednesday: Chicken Thigh Fajitas
Thursday: Turkey Sausage & Veggies over pasta *
Friday: Steak with Fried onion, potatoes and a green veg
Lunches:
turkey, raw baby spinach and hummus on whole wheat wrap
SUPER veg soup (recipe to follow)
leftover stuffed zukes
tuna & veg on whole wheat wrap
 *I have a package of Hot Italian Turkey Sausage and Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage (bought on sale for less than $3 each package) – I will grill up both packages on Tuesday and use half of each for both meals.
Do you menu plan? What’s your favorite reason for menu planning?

2 Responses to “Menu Monday”

  1. Karena May 2, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I’m working at getting back on track with my menus, too. This weekend I did a huge amount of prep for the week — cutting veg for easy, go to snacks; cooking up all the beans I figure I’ll need for the week; making a huge batch of oatmeal for the kids’ breakfasts. Having a plan and being prepared to execute it is SO important!

  2. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story May 2, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I meal plan every week! It helps me avoid the “I’ll just order something” evening as well as it helps me shop what’s on sale for the grocery store each week. I sit down with the sales flier and my cookbook ever Friday night. (I’m wild, I know)

    🙂

Leave a Reply

