weekend recap and a menu

9 May

Saturday was a beautiful, sunshiny day in South Jersey.  I had a morning running date with my friend, Darryl.  Darryl helped push me through my LONGEST run ever.  I have told you before, I like my walking breaks. I really do like my walking breaks but I really, really want to push myself to run more.  I ran 3.1 miles without stopping. I have never run farther than one mile at a time.

I RAN 3.1 MILES WITHOUT STOPPING!

I RAN 3.1 MILES WITHOUT STOPPING!

I RAN 3.1 MILES WITHOUT STOPPING!

How does one celebrate such a running feat?!? If you are this girl, you go and run errands like a mad woman!   Doesn’t everyone run errands on Saturday?!?

Happy Mama’s Day!! I love Sundays and when it is a Sunday all about me?!?! Oh, that is even better!  I had made Overnight French Toast the night before so breakfast was a cinch.  We relaxed and had breakfast and then Q and I headed to the nail salon. Me, my mom, and my daughter went for Mother’s Day pedicures. And after Saturday’s run that pedicure was amazing!

After pedicure, Q went shopping with my mom and I went home. Big Man and I built a fence and planted tomatoes and peppers in the garden. (IF you look to the right of me in this picture you can almost see the dirt patch that became our garden!) We planted 7 tomato plants (yep, that is 7 different kinds of tomatoes) and 8 pepper plants (only 2 different types) and there are at least 4 more pepper plants to go in.

Then my wonderful husband made dinner!

I had a wonderful weekend!

But now, its time to plan for reality!

A menu plan to start the week off right:

Monday: Bourbon & Apple Pork Chops, cabbage and mashed potatoes

Tuesday: Braised Chicken & Shallots with wild rice and green veg

Wednesday: Turkey Burgers with oven fries

Thursday: Mom’s out – husband & kid on their own

Friday: Steak Night – with baked potatoes (sweet for me) and a green veg

*

*

*

How was your weekend? Are you ready for reality?

3 Responses to “weekend recap and a menu”

  1. lissa May 9, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    SHUT UP!!! I would DIE if I tried to go that long without walking. Seriously DIE!

    So proud of you!

  2. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama May 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    You are nothing short of amazing, my friend.

  3. Laura Jane @ Recovering Chocoholic May 9, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Wow. 3.1 miles! I’m impressed. I’m lucky to go five minutes before nearly dying and stopping to walk.

Leave a Reply

