brought to you by the letter P

12 May

Well hello folks!!

Welcome to Jen’s Street and today’s post is brought to you by the letter P.

P as in Pain in  the Piriformis!!

I went to the chiropractor on Monday and that helped a bit but it did not last long enough.  Yesterday the hip/butt area are still bugging me and I didn’t attempt to run (I’ll fully admit,  I was scared it was gonna hurt)!

Basically, what happens is I get this pain right above the left hip area and that pain travels down through my butt and causes pain in my left leg.

I did a bit of research about the piriformis and how to eliminate the pain and I have come to this conclusion:

I AM MY OWN WORST ENEMY!!!!

  • I don’t stretch enough
  • I don’t stretch enough!!
  • I sit on my ass too much!
  • I have imporperly balanced muscles.
  • I MUST do something to help my piriformis or my running will always suffer.
So what am I willing to do:
  • planks – I have heard they will help! and I just stumbled on a 6-week planks challenge.  I WILL do planks every night – right now I can only do a 30-second plank.  I will do 5 sets of planks 5 days a week and I can’t wait to see how long I can hold a plank in 6 weeks.
  • stretch – I WILL make it a point to stretch after every run.
  • strengthen – I WILL take strength training seriously. I will start with one pilates/yoga and one kettlebell workout every week.
  • on non-run days, I WILL walk at least one mile.

FitBlog Chats

WHAT ARE YOU WILLING TO DO FOR YOU?!?


7 Responses to “brought to you by the letter P”

  1. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story May 12, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Looks like you have a great plan to get through this! Sounds painful though. 😦

    What am I willing to do for me? I need to sit down, make a plan and get my ass back on track. I am willing to do that, today.

  2. Bari May 12, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    What a pain in the butt! (sorry-bad joke)

    I’m going to join you on that planks challenge. I wonder if there’s an app for that?

  3. Lissa May 12, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Are you sure it’s your piriformis?? That is what I diagnosed myself with the year that I discovered it was actually herniated and bulging disks in my lower back.

  4. Angela May 12, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I love your resolve to fix this, fix yourself! You are totally awesome and you are already on the road to feeling better.

  5. AnnG May 13, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Tell me more about that plank challenge. This sounds like something that I should do. Besides it will be fun to do it with someone else!

  6. Alison May 13, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    @Lissa – I wondered the same thing. I have two herniated discs and if I’m not careful, they will lead to butt and leg pain.

    So, my question is this – how do you start a planks challenge? I mean, I know what one is, but I have no idea how to make a plan – I’m not a freakin’ personal trainer. Anyone have any ideas??

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I didn’t run, I listened « - June 13, 2011

    […] little while ago I blogged about my piriformis pain.  I know that stress flares up my pirformis but I also know that my body goes out of alignment and […]

Leave a Reply

