Wild Half Training Week 1

29 May

I started training for the Wild Half Marathon (Wildwood, NJ 8/28/2011) this week.  My wonderful friend Heather, of the Will Run for Coffee and Leading the Weigh fame, help me create a perfect training plan.  Heather and I have been bloggy & twitter friends for awhile and I have loved reading her adventures.  I asked Heather for help and she asked a few questions (plus she knows me) and a short while later I had my very own personalized training plan.

I have a 14-week training plan that screams “JEN” ~ it is very refreshing to feel energized just looking at a training plan. I had looked at a few generic plans online and none of them seemed to be what I wanted. My training plan is perfect….well, perfect for me.  I will recap every week and share learning experiences, ups & downs, good moments and bad moments and any random moments that stand out each week.

So Week 1 was pretty amazing.

Monday (day 1): Travel day – I was actually home but after 3 days in Baltimore celebrating Fitbloggin, I needed this day to recover and do laundry. 

Tuesday (day 2): 20 minutes fartleks I like fartleks. I like saying the word but this was the best 1st run of a new training plan kind of run. I did 2 minutes running alternated with 2 minutes walking. It was quite warm and humid but a great run!! 

Wednesday (day 3): cross training I broke out the Pink Lady, my pretty beach cruiser, from her wintery slumber in the garage. I probably hadn’t ridden a bike in 7 months and my legs were feeling it. I did not think I would last 30 minutes but I did. 

Thursday (day 4): 20 minute run another 2:2 run:walk. My lungs felts stronger on this run but legs felt the run a bit more as I was testing a new pair of New Balance. 

Friday (day 5): cross training I admit, I bailed on this workout. The heat and humidity came to south Jersey and I was wiped out. 

Saturday (day 6): 3 miles the heat and humidity are here to stay it would seem but I rocked out 3 miles in the late afternoon. I rocked out 3 miles after spending a lot of a huge part of the day setting up a tent thing and weeding the garden. I used 2:2 intervals and I felt so strong for all 3 miles. I learned that chewing gum is a great way to keep my mouth from being parched – I am not the biggest fan of drinking water while I run but I am a mouth breather so I parch easily.  

Sunday (day 7): 30 minutes stretching the tent thing I set up (with Big Man’s help) is my neHappy Place. I decided to set up shop out there this morning to get my stretch on. I took my yoga mat, laptop and a bottle of water out to the tent and I had a nice shady spot with a beautiful breeze. My good friend Lisa turned me on to Neesha and her hip opening yoga series…myhip/piriformis enjoyed this video.

Week 1 Lessons:

1. Be Gentle – I love my new plan. I love that it starts off nice and gently. I had a rough winter and I needed a win. A successful week is a win.  I once read a quote but for the life of me cannot remember where or who said it but the quote is this: Success breeds Energy.  Never have I understood the meaning of those words as I do today.  I had a great week and I am so completely stoked for the week ahead.

2. Friends help, you just have to ask. Along with Heather, my friend Colleen has also been helping me with my half training, she is sort of like my own personal trainer of sorts – she knows my training plan and she checks in on me. Colleen is a rockstar who has lost 100+ pounds and has become a runner of half marathons. Colleen has helped me remember to trust and believe in myself and to have fun while I am doing this thing! I may have had a different week if Colleen hadn’t said to start slow and enjoy the run and she encouraged me to continue with 2:2 run:walk intervals….in a sense, she was encouraging me to be successful.

3. Success does not need to be “all or nothing”!! Yeah, I said it!! And, I actually mean it! I am learning to give myself credit for what I can and do accomplish.  I am not going to beat myself up for off days or off meals.  In Real Life….that is me, and sometimes real life is too much junk food, pizza or a bit of depression…hey, it can’t all be roses and sunshine.

 Stay Tuned for more WILD fun while I train! 

disclosure: I have been asked by Morey’s Pier (a sponsor for this half marathon) to run and occasionally blog about my training (which I would be doing anyway) in exchange for registration to the event. All opinions are my own. I am training for this race and this is my experience. I am simply sharing my thoughts on the training process. I am not an expert or a doctor, I am simply a girl on a quest to train for and complete a half marathon. 

 

 

5 Responses to “Wild Half Training Week 1”

  1. Beki - Wild Child Gone Good May 30, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    We are running half marathons on the same day! My next half is August 28th! Yay!

    I’m glad you found a perfect training program! It really does help when you find something that fits!

    Love you girl!

  2. Brittany May 30, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    This is awesome, jen! When i start mine in a few weeks, i definitely need to do more cross training and stretching! Oh and strength training too!

  3. Miz May 30, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    You. Rock.

    Not sure if I have a specific goal yet….or just rutbusting. But I’m in.

  4. Patty May 31, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    I’m so proud of you Jen! Way to rock the training plan! You are an inspiration. I’m dying to get back to running but doing the Insanity workout 6 days a week has me tied up! I need to rest my legs just to get to the next day’s workout. But come July I’m back out there running! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wild Half Training Week 2 « - June 6, 2011

    […] You can read about Week 1 – here.  […]

Leave a Reply

