a different sort of confession

31 May

  • I indulged and I enjoyed food and treats this holiday weekend.
  • I indulged like a lot a lot.
  • I (with help of Big Man) set up the most amazing (for me and my tiny backyard) happy place.
  • I wore a swim suit and I didn’t spend the whole time tugging at it and trying to cover my body up with a towel or tee-shirt.
  • I ran all my training runs.
  • I missed one cross training workout.
BIG CONFESSION:
I have come to realize a few things about me and my journey:
  • I am NOT a number.
  • I like me the way I am.
  • I want to be healthy and happy.
  • I want to be a runner.
  • I want to be strong.
  • I am NOT a number.
  • I am ditching the scale for good!!
  • I am no longer on a weight-loss journey (hell, I haven’t been losing weight so it hasn’t been a weight loss journey in a while)!
  • I am on a journey to be the BEST JEN I can be!!
  • I am going to focus on mindful living!
  • I have enough to focus on: a half marathon and taking back my headspace….
  • I am tired of being depressed – the scale does not help with my head.
  • so, the scale goes!!
Stay Tuned….the adventure is going to continue….

 

17 Responses to “a different sort of confession”

  1. April @ Grits and Granola Bars May 31, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I kind of love this.

  2. Kerri O May 31, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m so happy for you. This is too awesome for words.

  3. AnnG May 31, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    These are the inds of confessions I like to read!! The ones where my peeps are finding that “happy place” and getting comfortable in their own skin….regardless of the stupid number on the scale! This is the kind of post that shows TRUE progress and a change that make everything else come into line!! Whoohooo Jen!!

  4. nicol May 31, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    great confession jen. it sounds like you’re in a great place! i fight with my scale all of the time & it seems to me that i should just throw mine out too. good for you for being confident in your swimsuit! best of luck to you.

  5. Christie {Nourishing Circle} May 31, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    love this. love you. ‘nough said.

  6. Christy_TheSisterhood May 31, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Jen, I am so proud of you for finding what works for you!!! Ditching the scale might be the key to your success, and I can’t wait to watch you find that success, that happy place! I know you can do it!!

    xoxoxoxo

  7. Brooke May 31, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    i like the way you think 🙂

  8. Tina May 31, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    You go girl, just throw that scale right outta your hair! It’s a worthless piece of crap. Woohoo for you!

  9. Bari May 31, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Best confession EVER!

  10. growingupmo May 31, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I already think of you as strong. Love you-mwah!

  11. Patty May 31, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    WOW! Bravo!
    I’d love to do this but I really can’t! I have to have at least my one weekly weigh in at WW.

    I have given up daily weighs though.

    Good for you! 🙂

  12. Babyboy3 aka Dawn May 31, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Way to go Jen! So cool that you are training for a half marathon. I totally like your way of thinking.

  13. Wifey May 31, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Boo to the scale. Love this post … and your new look. I’ve been MIA. Love it!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  14. Miz June 1, 2011 at 5:28 am #

    YOU
    KNOW
    I
    CHEEEEERED!!!

    xo

  15. KCLAnderson (Karen) June 1, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    WOOT!!

    I know giving up the scale is not for everyone, nor should it be, but for some of us, it’s the most liberating, healthy change we can make. And the good news? If you decide somewhere down the road that you want to weigh yourself? Go for it. Experimenting is a good thing! 🙂

  16. Heather June 1, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Love this post, Jen!!!!! It’s so true. All we can do is our best. Be our healthiest.

  17. Julie @ Wearing Mascara June 5, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Yes, yes, yes! Love your perspective 🙂 thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

