Wild Half Training Week 2

6 Jun

You can read about Week 1 – here. 

 

 

Workouts:

Monday: 1.79 miles

Tuesday:  1.8 miles

Wednesday: Zumba & Yoga

Thursday: 1.82 miles

Friday: yardwork (mowing & weeding)

Saturday: 3.5 miles

Sunday: yardwork (digging and squatting) and stretching.

week 2 total miles:  8.91 miles 

Week 2 was a STRONG week!

I rocked every workout on my plan. Every workout was not awesome but I did not make any excuses. Heat, humidity and bugs did not deter me…ok, they may have backed me up a bit. In fact, a few times I was down right annoyed that our Spring was all of four hours long BUT….

but I made myself go out later and long those runs.

I have heard it said many. many times that running is 90% mental!

Week 2 taught me just what that means.

Lessons of the week:

 

I love running. I was not really sure until this week.  Even crappy runs were better than not running. Running clears all the gunk out of my head.  I usually have a hard time turning off my never-ending to-do list that runs in my head, when I run that little voice shuts up. Running is my therapy!

I can finally call my running, running. I have had a hard time with this one.  I have tried to be a runner who never walks and I never stick with it. i have been training using 2:2 intervals and I am so happy with that and I am loving it! I am a runner.

I do not like Zumba. There I said it out loud.  I received a zumba dvd in the swag from #fitbloggin and I finally got around to taking it for a test drive.  My hips and knees do not like all that wiggling. I never knew what my feet were supposed to be doing. I used my Polar FT7 to track my heart rate and calories burned….and I get a better bang out of running and I enjoy running more. My hip/piriformis was really irritated after zumba. Sorry to all the zumba heads but I am not a dancer and this was NOT for me.

 

 

Week 2 was a fun and interesting week. I tried a new workout and I braved “wild” temperatures!

I wonder what week 3 will bring….

 

 

 

 

disclosure: I have been asked by Morey’s Pier (a sponsor for this half marathon) to run and occasionally blog about my training (which I would be doing anyway) in exchange for registration to the event. All opinions are my own. I am training for this race and this is my experience. I am simply sharing my thoughts on the training process. I am not an expert or a doctor, I am simply a girl on a quest to train for and complete a half marathon. 

10 Responses to “Wild Half Training Week 2”

  1. KCLAnderson (Karen) June 6, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I don’t like Zumba either!! So there 🙂

  2. sizing down the diva June 6, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    I, too, am trying to shift from the realm of jog/walker to runner, and it has been quite the (long) journey. Good for you for sticking to your plan!

  3. Laura Jane @ Recovering Chocoholic June 6, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I’m not a huge fan of the dancy stuff myself. I just have a really hard time getting into it and almost always burn more calories with something like running. Great job on the running!! It’s wonderful that you love it.

  4. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama June 6, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Zumba wasn’t my thing, either, so don’t feel bad.

    YOU’RE A RUNNER!!!!!

  5. fat loss 4 idiots June 7, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    Excellent story over again! I am looking forward for more updates!

  6. Irene June 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Awesome job! I am right there with you with the 13.1 training. Maybe we can train virtually together.

  7. Kerri O June 7, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    You rock! I love how it clears all the crap outta my head too.
    I haven’t tried my Zumba swag yet!

  8. Michelle June 7, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Yay for running! Sounds like you had an awesome week with it. I love it when people fall in love with running just like I have, it is a truly beautiful thing.

    And if you don’t want that Zumba DVD, I’ll take it off your hands…

  9. Miz June 8, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Ive gots me TWO LEFT FEET—doesnt work for zumba 🙂

  10. Wifey June 8, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Good for you! I do run/walk intervals … and have got faster than when I “jogged” straight. Shaved 30 minutes off my half marathon time. My shorter runs without walking got much faster, too. Girl, do you!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

Leave a Reply

