I didn’t run, I listened

13 Jun

 

A little while ago I blogged about my piriformis pain.  I know that stress flares up my pirformis but I also know that my body goes out of alignment and I need regular chiropractic adjustments.  I should go more often but right now I am averaging about once every 4 to 5 weeks.

 

This morning, I woke up early and fought my way out of bed. I did my thing and made myself go out for a run. I was actually looking forward to the run…

until I started running!

I knew from the first step that something was not right.

My left leg was twingey. My right foot was screaming. It felt like I was striking my right foot with all my force.

I did not push it. I switched to straight up walking.

I walked for 30 minutes and I walked at a speed that wasn’t uncomfortable to my body.

I went in to see Mr. Chiropractor as soon as I could get done school.

I am so glad I went to see Mr. Chiro because he was able to adjust and do his chiropractorly magic. My hip is feeling better and I am not getting twingey pain running down my leg.  Mr. Chiro also stretched out my legs.  He told me he could tell I had been stretching more since the last time I was there. Dr. Chiro also said my legs felt stronger.

 

WOOT WOOT!!

 

I didn’t run this morning.

I listened to my body.

I did right by my body!

I will continue to kick half marathon training ass!!

I will do so and give myself the best chance to be injury free!

I refuse to let this damn piriformis get in my way.

I must stretch and strengthen my core.

 

hmmm……

 

where have I heard that before?!?

 

I am listening and my body is demanding I stretch and strengthen!

 

What is your body telling you?!?

 

5 Responses to “I didn’t run, I listened”

  1. Michelle June 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Listening to your body is the smartest thing you could have done in that situation. I’m glad to hear you were able to make it to the chiro and get everything in working order. You’re going to kick this half marathons butt, injury free!

    My body is currently telling me that I shouldn’t enjoy too much food late at night. Even if it is free. And absolutely delicious. Hope you have a great run tomorrow!

  2. sarah June 13, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    That is such a great example of listening to your body! Today my body tells me that my knee ligament is repairing so I rode the stationary bike for 50 minutes and felt fab.
    Now it is telling my to put on gloves because it is freezing down here!

  3. AnnG June 14, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Yay, Jen!! Our body will always tell us what is best!! Good job for listening to your body!! Yay, for Mr. Chiro!!

  4. Christie Inge June 14, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Yay! Body knows best!! So proud of you.

    My body has also been telling me to become stronger since I stopped practicing so much yoga. When I was a yoga junkie, I was very strong and now that I haven’t shy of about 5 times in the last year, I am losing strength. I started a new fitness regime with just basic body movements and it was a real wake up call about my strength. Funny thing is – in my past life, I was always so focused on weight that “fit” never crossed my mind. And now, my body craves being fit. So interesting what happens when you listen to your body.

  5. Kris M Beal @Krazy_Kris June 21, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Ahhhhhhh – good for you! I have no problem listening to my body re: workouts cuz I’m a sissy and I tolerate LITTLE discomfort. BUT, the biggies for me is thirst and hunger. I’m FINALLY starting to get hungry – so strange – cuz I was a sporadic undereater before and was NEVER hungry. Thirst? Well – I’m still not getting that – so I have to guess if I’m thirsty LOL

Leave a Reply

