Wild Half Training Week 3 Recap

14 Jun

A little late!

Ooops!

There are 3 days of school left and for me that means INSANITY! The last week of school is always the craziest! 

I am staying active! 

Just look at my Week 3 training log:

I worked out every single day!

I followed my plan! 

I kicked ASS! 

Some days were better than others. Some days plainly sucked. Sounds about normal, wether there is a training plan or not. The difference here is I do have a training plan. I am following my plan. I am living my plan. I am not letting my crazy busy end of school-year week be an excuse. I am not letting ridiculous heat and humidity (this week the H&H have been blissfully better than last week but summer is on the horizon) be an excuse.   

In fact, somewhere in the middle of week 3 I got the hairbrained idea of switching to morning runs. I sortakindamaybejustalittlebit like morning runs. Who said that?!? It’s hard hearing an alarm go off at 5:27 and harder to actually get out of bed.  By 6:10 I am out running or walking.  I am so not a morning person so this is pretty big progress for me!  

Lesson of the week: NO EXCUSES!! NO MORE BULL SHIT!!  

I can do this training thing! I have the power inside me to get up and get out the door and run. I love my runs. I love the way I feel after 3 weeks of running consistently. I am running 4 days a week and I am loving it. I am waking up early to run….ME?!?  If I can run 4 days a week and love it, if I can wake up early and go for a run and love it….I can do anything! 

I can certainly keep going for another week! 

Plus, I have to admit…I like seeing my mileage increase each week…just look:

Weekly Running Miles

Week 1:  6.15

Week 2: 8.91

Week 3:  10.67 

Ok, it is time for bed! I have an early morning run planned! 

Week 4 is already awesome! 

 

disclosure: I have been asked by Morey’s Pier (a sponsor for this half marathon) to run and occasionally blog about my training (which I would be doing anyway) in exchange for registration to the event. All opinions are my own. I am training for this race and this is my experience. I am simply sharing my thoughts on the training process. I am not an expert or a doctor, I am simply a girl on a quest to train for and complete a half marathon. 

6 Responses to “Wild Half Training Week 3 Recap”

  1. Miz June 15, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    you did kick ass.
    and youre doing it with a bum piriformis as well.
    you kick ass and inspire MY ass.

    Carla

  2. IamIrene June 15, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Yes, you did an awesome job! you’ll be running 15 miles a week in no time. Keep up the good work.

  3. Michelle June 15, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Way to go! Hope week 4 is even better than before. Keep on kickin’ butt!

  4. Heather June 15, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    LMFAO! “I am simply a girl training for a half marathon”….I love it! I feel the same way! I don’t know how you’re able to do all you do. The last week of school is AWFUL for parents. I can only imagine teaching these little cherubs. You rock. It will be over soon (thank God!).

    XOXO,
    Heather

  5. Kris M Beal @Krazy_Kris June 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Yeah Baby! Kickin’ Some Ass! Way to go!

  6. AnnG June 18, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    so proud of you for not giving in to the excuses and following through on the plan to do this! You are gonna rock that 1/2 marathon!!

Leave a Reply

