Wild Half Training: Week 4

21 Jun

*I am going with something new for my recap this week. I am posting my workouts daily at dailymile.com.  I am pretty detailed in my dailymile posts so I am not going to rehash here in a weekly recap. That is just boring.  Instead I am going to share pictures and stories or lessons from the past week.

*Click on me and you will be taken directly to my dailymile page.

IMG00886-20110618-1207

As you can see, Week 4 was a good week!! I took this picture after 4.5 miles on Saturday! I think the smile and thumbs up after 4.5 miles just says it all about Week 4 but I guess I should give you more.

Last week the heat of summer hit me hard. Summer officially starts this week but temps have already hit 90+ temps and let us not even get started about the dang humidity.

So, I altered my running plans. I am normally an afternoon/night runner.  I am usually home from school by 3pm and running after school is usually perfect for me….a non-morning person.  However, when its 90* and humid and the sun is blazing in my face its not that easy to want to run at my normal time. 

Time to switch things up!!

Me?!?! Run in the mornings?!? Before work?!?

IMG00848-20110613-2220

Me and Morning running takes planning and preparations. I pack a gym bag (my handy dandy Polar gym bag) and I set it out on my table before I go to bed.  I don’t go to a gym but I pack the bag so when I wake up in the morning everything is ready to go. I don’t have to wake Big Man when I clumsily looks for clothes and shoes in the wee hours of the morning.

Why is it the quieter I try to be the louder I actually am?!?

 

IMG00849-20110614-0932

A while ago, I was asked to be a Polar Ambassador (I will blog more about this in its own post) and I have been using my Polar FT7 to train. I am focusing more on my heart rate than my pace. 

 

IMG00887-20110618-1209

I found I enjoy running when I do my thing…run my way. I am a slow runner and that is okay with me! I am a runner who uses the Galloway method of run:walk:run and that is okay with me!

 

IMG00888-20110618-1227

I have learned that I need to eat within 30 minutes of completing a run….especially my long weekend runs. After completing 4.5 miles I needed some fuel but I had errands to go run.  I stopped at a 7-11 and grabbed a few things!  I probably won’t ever go for the Special K bar again – it was way too chewy and that bugged my jaw but the banana and gatorade are sort of a go-to!

 

And, finally…everyone deserves a treat at the end of an awesome training week!

Ok, deserve may not be the right word.

After a long week of training and a long final week of school, I decided to celebrate with a nice cold glass of Firefly Sweet Tea Vodka and sparkling lemonade. My husband and I sat out in our backyard tent-thing and enjoyed!!

 

IMG00892-20110619-1955

 

disclosure: I have been asked by Morey’s Pier (a sponsor for this half marathon) to run and occasionally blog about my training (which I would be doing anyway) in exchange for registration to the event. All opinions are my own. I am training for this race and this is my experience. I am simply sharing my thoughts on the training process. I am not an expert or a doctor, I am simply a girl on a quest to train for and complete a half marathon.

7 Responses to “Wild Half Training: Week 4”

  1. tryn2bfit June 21, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Woohoo! I’m so Damn proud of you for taking control of your life and going after what you want!!
    Love that hat!

  2. Sizingdowndiva June 21, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Morning runs will leave you feeling rejuvenated and ready to take on the day, have fun and good luck!

  3. AnnG June 22, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I love reading about your runs! You are doing awesome!! So proud of you!!

  4. IamIrene June 22, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Awesome! I am so envious of your ability to run without injury. No matter what I do, I seem to have pain. But I am happy you are doing so well.

  5. Heather June 22, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Run u mother! lmao Love that hat. 🙂

  6. Miz June 23, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    ROCK ON OF GLUTESISTER!!

  7. Tara Burner June 24, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    awesome!!! morning runs rule dont they 🙂

Leave a Reply

