a bulleted note to self

24 Jun

photo source

  • I did not workout Wednesday
  • I did not workout Thursday
  • I could tell you my excuses but that is just what they would be….excuses.
  • I woke up this morning and did not go for a run.
  • I have reasons but again, just excuses.
  • So I tweeted it. (not the excuse, just that I didn’t do it)
  • and my phone rang.
  • And it was my awesomest friend Colleen….know what she said….

 

photo source

  • To be fair, she asked me a question first.
  • She asked me who gave me permission to skip my workouts.
  • Fuuuck!
  • she gets right to the point!
  • I gave ME permission and I don’t even really know why.
  • So, I must say to myself….
  • SUCK IT UP, BUTTERCUP!!!!
  • I know I must come up with a plan for the rest of the summer, I cannot allow myself to have these days where I don’t want to get out of bed to workout because then I give myself permission to do nothing all day and that is just LAME!

photo source

 

  • I am not a Canucks fan (I don’t even know what a Canuck is or what sport even) but this picture is just perfect!!
  • I am going to keep these two “mantras” in my head!!
  • Because there is no other choice!
  • No other option!
  • I must SUCK IT UP, BUTTERCUP!!
  • It is time to FUCKING DO THIS!!!
  • I am worth it!
  • I deserve it!!
  • I feel better when I do it!
  • No EXCUSE!
  • NO MORE BULLSHIT!!

 

Jen,

No one ever said this would be easy! No one ever said we were gonna like every aspect of training and working out. But it’s time to get it through that thick skull….working out just feels right!! I wish I had the magic answer to motivation and a natural want to workout. I don’t but I DO feel better after a good, sweaty run. I DO feel better when my arms and legs are shaking from a good kettlebell workout.

I DO feel better after a good, sweaty workout!!

 

So Jen, what are you waiting for?!?

 

The time is now!!

 

Much love,

your self

7 Responses to “a bulleted note to self”

  1. tryn2bfit June 24, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    I love you and you know what, I’m so fucking proud of you. For the simple fact that instead of giving up and hiding you tweeted. You know deep down inside what you want and need and you are listening to that inner voice 🙂 glad you reached out and could get a lil nudge in the right direction that’s why I love my friends!! We know how to kick each other in the ass when we need it 😉
    Have a great run today!!!

  2. workout mommy June 24, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    i just love this post and the power of online friends! 🙂 and the cute baby saying the Fbomb is just icing on the cake.

    GO JEN GOOOOOOO!!!!!

  3. Marisa @ Loser for Life June 24, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    You’ve got a running buddy! Either Wednesday or Thursday. Still working out the deets and I will text you!!!!

  4. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama June 24, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I am right there with you. Summer “schedule” is hitting my workouts HARD. But I got one in today. And I hope to get another in tonight. We can do this.

  5. Nadine June 25, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    There is NOTHING wrong with you my friend.

    For some motivation, go take a look at this:

    http://pfiesterpfit.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/no-more-regret/

    its a great site with a lot of information, but your post instantly made me think of this post!

  6. to dream the KIMpossible dream June 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    For what it is worth, you are not alone in this battle. I struggle, too. We can do this! =)

  7. Weighting For 50 June 27, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Hi Jenn, I found you via Marisa’s site…and I love your blog. I need to visit WAY more often than I do! And way to go on getting back on the exercise track (I read your more recent posts). I live in Vancouver, so can let you know the Canuck’s are our hockey team, we just lost the Stanley Cup to Boston…great picture isn’t it? It’s been making the rounds up here. Have a great day!!!!

Leave a Reply

