5 miles first thing Saturday

25 Jun

I set the alarm for 5:01

(that’s AM people)

and then was up at 11:43, 1:30, 2, 2:30, and 3:02.

I had a bellyache that just kept waking me up. I was able to roll over and go right back to bed but still, wtf??

The alarm went off at 5:01 but I did not get out of bed until 5:20. I was out the door and running around 5:48.

I stayed in my ‘hood, figuring with a bellyache it was better to be close to home and the bathroom. And after first loop (approx. 2 miles) I needed to stop at home. Lucy (my Lab) hated this but it had to be done.

I did what needed to be done and then I headed out. My poor husband got trampled on my a very upset Lucy.  She is a very emotional puppy and she hates it when we leave without her. One day we will run together but she is too clumsy and I am too clumsy to make that work. Right now anyway.

I headed back out to knock out the last 3 miles.

When I run I have my iPod touch with Nike +app running. I set it to tell me every minute. (1 minute completed, 10 minutes remaining, etc.) so I can keep track of my intervals. My gymboss no longer works so this is what I do. I also wear my Polar FT7 to keep track of my heart rate. I am trying to use my heart rate in coordination for my intervals (if my heart rate is too high I switch to a walk intervals).  I am still learning heart rate.

With the exception of needing to stop off at home, I had a GREAT run.  I was worried that my run was going to suck.

This week was not my greatest weeks. I blew off both cross training workouts. I did not stretch enough. I let a change in my schedule throw me for a loop and I was totally hating on myself for missed workouts.  Friday I went for a run, just a short 30 minutes, and was totally expecting it to SUCK because my earlier runs this week did in fact, suck big time.  I was not sure what to expect heading out for 5 miles while it was still 5-something in the AM and I had a bellyache.

I ROCKED my 5 miles.

I felt strong the whole time. I ran more.  I switched up my intervals based on how I was feeling but I also paid more attention to my HRM (heart rate monitor).

My brain moved as much as my feet during this run!

This run was good for me. I worked some things out in my head. I felt and still feel strong about the 5 miles and my running in general.  I am not sure what got into me this week or why I skipped workouts but 5 miles reminded me that I need all my workouts….for my head and my body.

I am going to focus on cross training and strength training this week as well as my runs!

But…first the picture proof of a 5-miler!

 

 

IMG00923-20110625-0702IMG00924-20110625-0703

 

5 miles and I am still smiling. I ended my 5 miles at a local convenience store because I had no eggs in the house. I ended my 5 miles at the store and then walked home (a little more than half mile) with eggs for hubby’s breakfast.

 

I usually take a picture of my Polar at then end of my workouts. I post said pics on facebook.  I did this yesterday like usual but as I walked home from the store an idea hopped into my head…

I am such a tease! You will have to come back for my Big IDEA!!

 

I leave you with this:

 

nomatterhowslow-227x300

I found this on Tara’s blog and I had to steal it.

Isn’t is just the perfectest quote?!?

I am a slow runner!!

I am proudly a slow runner!!

I am a runner!

Are you guys ready for a really big idea?!?

 

live signature

9 Responses to “5 miles first thing Saturday”

  1. knackfornutrition June 26, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    Mazel tov on your 5 miler!! I’m so proud of you! I am about to head out for the same number. It has been a while since I completed that distance….here goes nothing!

  2. @runfromthecouch June 26, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    I love the picture from Tara’s blog! Great job! When I ran last night, I was reminded of just that. I blew off two runs this week, too. Next week will be better because I read your post!

  3. Brooke June 26, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    congrats on a great run!! 🙂

    but we have to wait for the idea???

  4. Lissa June 26, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Way to go on your 5 miles!!

  5. AnnG June 26, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Love the quote!! Love that you got up even though I’m sure your body kept telling you “NO” and I’m loving the fact that it was a great run!! Whoooohoooo!!

  6. Michelle June 26, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Congrats on your five miler, that is a fantastic accomplishment!

  7. Bari June 26, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Spill skank!

  8. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama June 26, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I am so proud of you that it makes me want to jump up and yell “I AM SO PROUD OF JEN!!”

    And hurray to slow runners! You don’t have to get it done fast, you just have to get it done!!

  9. Kerry, the Changing Chick June 27, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    you are awesome!! I need just a little bit of your mojo!! LOL! I also love that pic from Tara’s blog!!

    PS – Canucks are a Canadian hockey team 😉
    xoxo
    me

Leave a comment