who needs a beach book? UPDATED

28 Jun

UPDATED: WE HAVE A WINNER!!! 

 

I used Random.rog to help me pick a winner but I could not get the silly widget thing to work 😦

WINNER is 

ROO

 

Sometimes I am amazed that people read my blog. Sometimes I am even more amazed when people send me stuff to review on this blog. How cool is it when I get sent a book?!?!

How much cooler is it when I really really like the book?!?

How much awesomer and cooler is it when I get a copy to give one of my awesome amazing readers?!?!

Seriously outstanding I say!!

I may be an high school English teacher but I am in no way a book snob. In fact, give me a trashy romance on a hot summer day and I am in my glory.

I was sent Allison Winn Scotch’s new yet-to-be-released book The One That I Want.

The book arrived just as school was letting out for the summer, so I put it on my table while I finished up my last few days of business. It is a very good thing I waited. As soon as I started this book, I could not put it down.  I love stories and characters that just suck me in to the story.

Tilly Farmer sucked me in the first time she snaps a polaroid picture of one of her students. Tilly is a guidance counselor and when her students plop on the couch in her office it is fair game for a polaroid shot. And Tilly does not give said student time to pose.  *yes, I am the crazy teacher in charge of the school newsletter and yearbook. yes, I am forever taking annoying candid pictures of my students*

Tilly struggles with familial, marital, and school obligations all while saying she was/is happy.  Yet, Tilly’ starts seeing things (things in the future) and then her world gets turned upside down in more ways than one.

I liked Tilly.

Here is what Allison Winn Scotch’s website says about the book:

PBK Jacket--The One That I Want

The One That I Want

What if you woke up one day to all your dreams coming true…but those dreams were more like nightmares?

Tilly Farmer is thirty-two years old and has the perfect life she always dreamed of: married to her high school sweetheart, working as a school guidance counselor, trying for a baby. Perfect.
But one sweltering afternoon at the local fair, everything changes. Tilly wanders into a fortune teller’s tent and meets an old childhood friend, who offers her more than just a reading. “I’m giving you the gift of clarity,” her friend says. “It’s what I always thought you needed.” And soon enough, Tilly starts seeing things: her alcoholic father relapsing, staggering out of a bar with his car keys in hand; her husband uprooting their happy, stable life, a packed U-Haul in their driveway. And even more disturbing, these visions start coming true. Suddenly Tilly’s perfect life, so meticulously mapped out, seems to be crumbling around her. And as she furiously races to keep up with – and hopefully change – her destiny, she faces the question: Which life does she want? The one she’s carefully nursed for decades, or the one she never considered possible?
What if you could see into the future? Would you want to know what fate has in store?

Headshot1done_2

Who needs a new book to read on the beach this summer?!?

Of course you do!!

Just leave me a comment telling me what you are currently reading.

I will close contest on July 4th and announce winner July 5th!

Happy reading!!

15 Responses to “who needs a beach book? UPDATED”

  1. Andrea June 28, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    I’m currently reading The Virgin Suicides – not very far into it, but so far it’s good.

  2. MizFit June 28, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    Im loving me some JAMES FREY 🙂
    Im a misfit.
    text me?

  3. Nadine June 28, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    I just finished Deeper Than the Dead, by Tami Hoag. I am not usually a suspense/mystery reader but this came to me from a friend. I am excited that it is actually part of a series and am on the hunt for the next one. Before that I read Left Neglected by Lisa Genova, an author I had never read. That book? 2 days. It would have been less if I didn’t have to work. Couldn’t put it down.

  4. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story June 28, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Oh! That sounds fantastic!

    I wish I had time to read this summer! As of right now I’m not reading anything. 😦

  5. Kelly June 28, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Almost Perfect by Susan Mallery…love her!!!!

  6. Martha Jane June 28, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I’m reading “Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang” by Chelsea Lately. Also – “Bright Lights, Big Ass” by Jen Lancaster

  7. lissa June 28, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I’m currently reading… blogs. ;p

    I have the Game of Thrones next to me but haven’t started it yet.

  8. Cindy Magruder June 28, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I am reading “Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter” by Seth Graham-Smith. As an elementary school teacher, I have to teach some American history and I don’t always enjoy it, so this book is teaching me some history with a sci-fi twist. And there’s a movie that is coming out in the summer of 2012, so that’s a bonus.

    I’ve also been reading so many blogs my head can’t keep everything I’ve read straight. Loving the blogging community!

  9. Sizingdowndiva June 28, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I am currently reading The Immortal Life of Hanrietta Lacks. Very insightful so far.

  10. Patty June 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Sounds like a great book! I so need a beach read! Right now I am reading Intuitive Eating…learning a lot!

  11. Alison June 28, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    I am reading “Unbroken” and boy, is it good!!!

  12. Elisha Dew June 28, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I review books for a blog (bestdamncreativewritingblog.com), so I don’t need my name thrown in the pot for your book giveaway, because I AM a book snob and I have WAY too many books on my To Read list as it is.

    I just wanted to say that having people send you books is, indeed, the best thing ever 🙂

  13. Roo June 29, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    This sounds like a great book. I’m currently reading After by K Anderson from Fitbloggin. Just started it actually. 🙂

  14. Kathy July 1, 2011 at 4:54 am #

    I’m reading “Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen” I’m on Chapter 8. It’s an interesting read.

  15. gene @boutdrz July 1, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    my wife has been reading Emily Giffin, stuart woods and harlan coben.
    i think she needs a change of pace!
    AAAANNNND we’re coming to Jersey…
    so…

    i think she should win!!! lol….

    thanks for the chance!!

    gene

Leave a Reply

