true confessions: the ice cream chronicles

5 Jul

TrueConfessions

  • I have been running like a mad woman – following my training plan.
  • I have missed a workout here or there but I am rocking at about 93%
  • I have run every training run
  • I have been skimpy on strength training
  • Especially Shrinking Jeans bootcamp – I have really only half-assed participated in the workout part of the current SJ challenge.
  • I am not exactly BURSTING into summer.
  • I need to improve in the strength training department.
  • There has been a lot, A LOT, of ice cream since about June.
  • Summer heat hit and apparently my no voice went away.
  • Did I mention a lot of ice cream?!?
  • Please don’t tell April!
  • I have been eating fruits and veggies but not enough.
  • I have been eating good food, but more than enough.
  • portions…what are those?!?
  • Did I tell you about the ice cream?!?
  • I need to track my nutrition but I haven’t been doing it.
  • I have allowed myself to use the excuse… “I am running and training, I can eat whatever I want!”
  • ummm, no…this is NOT good for me!
  • I do not need ice cream every day!
  • I certainly don’t need giant bowls of ice cream every day.
  • Please don’t tell April Winking smile 
  • I think ice cream may be the reason this morning’s run had to be cut short – I had to come home for mother nature if ya know what I mean….
  • Ice cream is not the proper way to fuel for a morning run!
  • I need rules for myself.
  • I need to take better care of my body!
  • Did I mention Ice Cream?!?
  • Yeah, I thought so!
  • On to a new week!
  • I will come back here later and tell you my plans!!
  • For now, I have to get my butt moving. Today starts my summer program and I am in charge of the whole dang thing and I am nervous/angsty – putting together this program has been a lot of work!

 

Confession is good for the soul!

14 Responses to “true confessions: the ice cream chronicles”

  1. Miz July 5, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    ok so call me psychic but I think youve had ice cream on the brain in the mouth lately? I can just sense it 🙂

    we’ve had that and are sloooowly trying to replace with whipppped frozen ‘nanners.

    wish us luck 🙂

  2. Nadine July 5, 2011 at 6:51 am #

    in FL where it is *always* hot, I discovered that I needed to cure the ice cream thing quickly. It was definitely becoming an every night treat.

    Whoo hooo for rocking that 93%

  3. Roo July 5, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Oh…ice cream…been there, done that. In my case, April knows!!! 😉

  4. Donna July 5, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Jen, it sounds like you’re a little too focused on your one stumbling block. How about looking at all you have accomplished instead? As for the ice cream – accept that it’s a seasonal thing – I’m guessing you don’t crave it in the dead of winter. How about substituting a little Greek yogurt mixed with fruit/nuts for your “daily” fix & then saving up a “splurge” for one day of the week? That might help keep you on track and avoid those not so nice encounters with Mother Nature. Good luck!

  5. gene @boutdrz July 5, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    mmmmm…..ice creeeeeeeeeam. (not helping, am i?) thank you for the honest and humorous post!
    keep up the GREAT work.
    focus on that……

  6. Joanna July 5, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I’m not usually a big ice-cream fan…but have been lately. Maybe it’s the hotter than Satan’s balls weather we’ve been having.

    It sounds to me that even with the ice-cream – you had a pretty good week. 93%? That’s awesome!!

  7. Nanci July 6, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    I love your blog! I don’t always comment, but I do read. Love it!

  8. Brenda Hardy July 6, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Ice cream is a necessity of summer (that is what I tell myself) and it is so much easier to eat that than vegetables! Great blog…

  9. AnnG July 8, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    Summer and ice cream go together, BUT NOT when you are trying to lose weight or train for a 1/2 marathon or blah, blah, blah! I totally understand the ice cream thing and I wish I had some advice other than DONT BUY IT or EAT IT!! but….I don’t so….DONT BUY IT OR EAT IT….maybe I should take my own advice here, too!!

  10. Weighting For 50 July 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Love the title of the post. sigh. Ice cream….I have a love/hate relationship with it. Love it, hate that I have a tough time portion controlling! 🙂 Have a great weekend Jen.

  11. Ryan July 8, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Jen, Don’t beat yourself up? You had the ice cream consider it the past time to move on. It’s understandable to think that you can have it with enjoyment because you are exercising daily (for the most part)but that’s not the case but in time you will have less & less when the mind set sets in that together it will not work. I’ve made the mistake of having ice cream thinking it’s ok & still struggling with it. Stick with it, being healthy is a state of mind & there will come a time when you will be able to manage it with saying no when needed.

    Keep up the good work you’ve come far in a short time. I’m proud of you & you provide me with the energy & strenght when I need it.

  12. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama July 13, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Ooooh, the ice cream. I totally get it. Totally. (As I wipe hot fudge off my mouth…)

  13. Heather July 13, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    If I were in Jersey…I would eat ice cream with you. 🙂

  14. April July 14, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    you make me laugh! I love icecream alot too.

Leave a Reply

