#jensrunningWILD

26 Jul

oy! I looked back through and realized I have not updated you all about my running and training in almost 4 weeks.  Most times when bloggers fail to post it means said blogger has been slacking. I am proud to tell you, I have not been slacking!!

Quite the opposite actually.

This summer, I am in charge of my school’s summer program.  We only have the month of July for the program, so I have been one busy mama!  I have also maintained (for the most part) my training schedule. 

When last I posted, I had just completed my log run of 5 miles at the end of Week 5.

Yesterday I logged my 8-mile run to finish out Week 9.

A quick recap of the weeks in between.

Week 6: I nailed every single workout. I ran my long run of 5.5 miles.

Week 7: I got sick midway through the week and missed a few runs and workouts but managed to log my long run of 6 miles.

Week 8: an ok week. uneventful in the running department. Just going with the flow. Long run of 7 miles.

See….quick recap!

And we are at week 9….holy bananas it was freaking hot in south Jersey this week. We hovered at or above 100* with some insane humidity to match. I took my runs in to the treadmill at school. I have a fear of the treadmill. I have run a long run of 4 miles on the treadmill and that was  due to location (the husband did not want me running by myself in the area I was in) but I am not comfortable on the treadmill. But I sucked it up because it was even ridiculously hot at 5:30am this past week.

However, there was no way I was going to run 8 miles on a treadmill.

NOT HAPPENING!

I switched my training schedule around (and I plan on keeping it this way) and decided that Sunday would work better for long runs, at least for the rest of the summer.

IMG01051-20110724-0543I had 8 miles on tap for this week’s long run. The heat and humidity were not going to give me much slack so I sought the breeziest place possible, and picked the earliest time I thought I could do.

I set the alarm for 4:03AM.

I kid you not! IMG01052-20110724-0547

I was in Ocean City, parked and moving by 5.  I parked about a mile from the boardwalk. I walked the first 5 minutes to warm up then I ran 2:1 intervals until I hit the boardwalk. Once on the boardwalk I decided to run between the ramp entrances at each street; I walked up and down each entrance ramp. I did this until about 15th street then I walked for about 5 minutes and once again switched back to my 2:1 intervals. I ran intervals to the end of the boardwalk on 23rd Street and then back the other way to the North end and back to the street to my car.

Please enjoy some of the pretty pictures of the sun rising over the Ocean City, NJ Boardwalk. I snapped these pictures using my blackberry during walk intervals!

IMG01053-20110724-0648IMG01054-20110724-0658IMG01055-20110724-0702

It was a beautiful run!

It was a hard run! When I set out it was hot – in the 80s with +85% humidity but at least I didn’t have the sun blazing on me. I felt slow but I felt good. My breathing was ok and my heart rate was not racing all over the place. My intervals work for me. I felt slow and I had a few moments of self-doubt when “real” runners sped past me. I was about 3 miles from my car and these people were flying past me and they weren’t taking walking breaks and and and…oh I let the negative nelly demon creep in my head. I wanted to sit on a bench and cry. But, I was 3 miles from my car. I had to get back there.

I had to dig deep.

I had to believe in myself.

I had to push myself but I couldn’t beat myself up.

I looked at the scenery around me.

I looked within and saw where I have been and how far I have come.

Then I gave myself permission to walk more if I needed.

I did not, however, give myself permission to give up on myself.

I dug deep and I am damn proud of my 8.6 miles!

I also conquered a super-early alarm clock.

4 am and 8+ miles….I have come along way, baby!!

 

 

disclosure: I have been asked by Morey’s Pier (a sponsor for this half marathon) to run and occasionally blog about my training (which I would be doing anyway) in exchange for registration to the event. All opinions are my own. I am training for this race and this is my experience. I am simply sharing my thoughts on the training process. I am not an expert or a doctor, I am simply a girl on a quest to train for and complete a half marathon.

10 Responses to “#jensrunningWILD”

  1. Roni Noone July 26, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    WHOOO HOOOO!!

    Love this post!

    “I did not, however, give myself permission to give up on myself.”

    best. quote. ever.

  2. to dream the KIMpossible dream July 26, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    When I saw your tweet the other day about what time you finished your run at, I was like – WHOA…why can’t I be smart like Jen and get my booty out of bed turbo early to beat the heat/humidity (well…there is no beating it in Houston, but at least it would have been a lesser evil). You have inspired me to get up in the wee hours of the morning this coming Sunday to do just that! Great job on your training, your long runs, and getting up so gosh-darn early! =)

  3. Nadine July 26, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    You’re not fake running, right? So I guess you’re a real runner. Jeff Galloway is a superstar runner. Jeff Galloway WALKS. And, he’s super rich cause he taught everyone else to walk while they run, too.

    There is no shame in taking walk breaks. Ever. Hot, cold, humid, snow…whatever. Shut that negative talk down and remember. You did it. You’re out there at 4am kicking asphault! You’re a runner!

    • KCLAnderson (Karen) July 26, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      YAH!!!! Go Jenn!! And I have to agree with Nadine…you, my dear, are a real runner.

  4. Phatterri July 26, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    I know that feeling when it seems like you’re the slowest person out there. But just like you I close my eyes (but not too long or I’ll fall) think of how far I’ve come, suck it up and keep going. You are such an Rockstar.

  5. IamIrene July 26, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    I have had a hard time getting through the walk breaks. I feel like I need to be running, like everyone else who passes me. But I realize that in order to run a long distance, I need to give the walk breaks a chance. They help me avoid injury and to go farther.

    You are doing incredibly well. Don’t doubt yourself.

  6. Michelle July 26, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    8 miles is absolutely awesome! You are well on your way for this half marathon, you’re going to be amazing.

  7. @FitInmyheart July 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    So Proud of YOU, Cutie!!!! You are doing this RIGHT!! #FootlooseAndFancyFREE 

  8. AnnG July 27, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I’ve said it before and I will say it again! You are amazing!! You rock!! 8.6 miles is along way!! I know cuz I walked ALMOST that much Sunday and I was tired after doing that!! Whooohhooo!!

  9. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama July 27, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    “I did not, however, give myself permission to give up on myself. ”

    And the people said AMEN!!!

    That’s how I feel with every single time I get out there. I do what I can and if that means walking, at least I’m not sitting at home.

    Here’s to being slow, but still moving forward! You are beyond awesome.

Leave a Reply

