really rough week

1 Aug

I do not really want to rehash the last week’s event but it is all part of the journey.  I feel like I need to get some things off my chest….and this blog is my place to let it all out. And you know how much I like bullets.

  • I worked very hard to close out my school’s summer program. This summer I was in charge of the program and I was so insanely busy. I cannot believe July is already over.
  • I did not track my food most days.
  • I used food to comfort. I used foods I had been avoiding because they are triggers for me.
  • I had to take my cat, Angus to the vet yesterday. I knew going that Angus would not be coming home with me. I took him because Big Man was just a complete mess and he couldn’t do it. We have lost 3 cats and 1 dog in the last 3 years. It has been very hard on Big Man – they were his babies long before he even knew me. I thought I could be strong and stoic for Big Man and Q. I thought it would be easier for me. I started crying on the drive to the  vet’s office and I am not sure when I stopped.
  • I ate more junky food. Now, I can see that I did this to stop feeling “empty” but it just didn’t help and now I feel worse. (Not mentally – I have accepted what I did and why so I am not beating myself up over it but I feel physically lousy-headachy and bellyachy and “heavy”)
  • I did not train this week. It was a lousy week and instead of turning to my training I shied away from it.  WHY?!?!
  • I spent a lot of time yesterday with my thoughts. I was very weepy and emotional and tired.
  • This morning and I stepped on the scale. I don’t really have a set day (usually Sunday or Monday) and surprise, surprise I was up 2.6 pounds. Ok, I was not surprised at all.
  • I am also not upset about the # on the scale – the scale has no power over me. It is just a number. And I certainly didn’t need to see the scale to know what a lousy week I had.
  • Let’s just say I am super happy that it is a new week!!
  • and a new month!

 

ON TO AUGUST!!!!

  • The month of August is going to be AWESOME-AMAZEBALLS-SPECTACULAR!!!!
  • I have my second half-marathon on August 28th.
  • I have NO work (Ok, I have “stuff” to do for school’s start in September and I have a meeting or two to attend but no real work schedule).
  • I am joining Josie’s “Finish what you start Challenge” (click on the picture below for more details) – I am terrible about finishing what I start. I have BIG ideas and impressive starts but I lack follow-through.
  • August is for follow through! August is for finishing. August is for kicking ass.
  • I have a training schedule for the next month but I need a bit more of a “plan” so I am going to sit down for a few minutes every night and reflect on the day behind and the day ahead. During this time, I will plan out the next day’s activities.
  • August is for the BEACH!!! Yep, it is most definitely a benefit of  being a teacher and living this close to the beach (I can choose the bay, ocean or lake for our summer water activities – yep, I know #lifeisgood)

 

BUTTONfwysc

So, I am setting out to shake off  the funk of last week’s suckiness!! I am setting to enjoy a fabulous August. I am setting off to start something and FINISH it!!

 

On today’s agenda: Fitness – 45 minutes run plus 10 minutes of KB swings, 25 squats, and 5 planks. Food – track all food and stay away from “junky” food.

I will check in daily  with a minimal post of what I did the day before and what my agenda is for the current day…..it’s about accountability. I need to be more accountable to myself!!

 

Here’s to AUGUST!!!!

10 Responses to “really rough week”

  1. IamIrene August 1, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Sorry you had a crappy week. We lost 2 pets last year and it was harder than I expected.

    You are gonna rock it this week. What’s your long run- 9 miles?

  2. Beki August 1, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Jen – so sorry you had a rough week. And about your kitty. 😦

    I turned to food this past week as well. Mostly for anxiety comfort.

    But it’s August! We’ve got a half marathon in 4 weeks! Let’s do this girl!! Call or text me anytime! (I’m going to get your hats out tomorrow!)

    Big hugs!

  3. Brooke August 1, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    i’m sorry 😦 having to say goodbye to a pet is never easy.

    here’s to a kick ass august though!!!

  4. Heather Hurd August 1, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Big hugs! I am so sorry you’ve had such a rough time. This week, this month will be better!

  5. gene @boutdrz August 1, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    pick yourself up, dust yourself off.
    you can do this!!!!!
    hey! i’d LOVE to hang with you at the beach, but….#ihatethebeach !!
    ahahahaahahahaha….
    hey, smile.

  6. Hanlie August 1, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I’m sorry you had a rough week! I hope August is all you’ve hoped for…

  7. @FitInMyHeart (Dr. Mo) August 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Here’s to an Amazing August!!!! *Hugs*

  8. lissa August 1, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I hope August is waaaay better for you! I want to go to the beach with you, k?

  9. Wifey August 3, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    So sorry about your cat. 😦

    LOVING your new attitude for August! Will be cheering you on.

    Hugs, Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  10. AnnG August 4, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    Hugs!! I think with all you have gone through you have done great! Stress is such a trigger for “junk” eating….why can’t we just skip over it?? Enjoy the beach! You DESERVE It!!

Leave a Reply

