being a girl #rant

13 Aug

WARNING: I am writing this post to bitch about girl issues. I don’t know if anyone, let alone a boy, wants to continue reading.

 

I finally got my period yesterday.

I was 8 days late.

No! I didn’t think I was pregnant. I guess I could have been – I mean I do enjoy relations with my husband but  I had an IUS put in a few years ago so I was fairly certain I was not pregnant.

I had all the PMS symptoms-starting around August 1. That would be totally normal for me. 3 days of the cramps and bloating and period on the 4th. I have been completely and ridiculously regular for the last year.

11 days of PMS is SO NOT COOL!

I have been fighting self-doubt and I realize it is all tied in with my hormones.

My hormones have been OUT OF CONTROL and I have been feeling out of control.

I can’t blame everything on hormones but hormones were the gateway to the terrible feelings, to the self doubt, to the lack of want, to the “I’ll just put it off” attitude.

I let my hormones control me.

My out of control hormones are just as bad (and I am sure the hormones made it worse) as lack of schedule.

I am realizing I am not doing well with stress and change and interruptions in the way things are supposed to be.

Yesterday was absolutely terrible. I woke up feeling miserable – cramps, bloating and tender boobies. Oh, and did I mention the attitude I had?!?! Oh yeah, it wasn’t pretty. And then the headache arrived and my 4pm, I couldn’t leave the couch.  Period finally decided to make an appearance last night. I decided that was my cue for an early bedtime.

Today, I needed to get all this out. I am sure I am not the only one who has dealt with this stuff but I sure felt that way yesterday and the days before yesterday.

Today, I will go for a nice long walk to clear my head.  I have 10 miles to log tomorrow and I am not going to give in. I have already caved and bailed on two long runs because of self-doubt and hormones and self-doubt. Tomorrow, I suck it up!!

I know I feel better when I am running regularly.

How do you push yourself out the door when every ounce of your being is screaming at you not to do it?!?

Sometimes being a girl just sucks!!

#endrant

live signature

8 Responses to “being a girl #rant”

  1. Colleen August 13, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    You know what as women we can all relate. Each one of us has had similiar issues and I know me personally I have dealt with a lot of self doubt from the beginning and I still deal with it on a daily basis.
    No its not easy to get out there and train. And you know what it sucks sometimes, its hard, it can be boring, and just really tough to push to finish.
    But one thing I have learned that in the end after 10 minutes into a workout I always feel: accomplished, satisfied, happy, and like a warrior. No matter what every workout is an accomplishment because it brings you one more step closer to that race day and all the glory and satisfaction that comes with it.
    Keep pushing girl you are almost there. *hugz*

    • Nadine August 13, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      It is not often that I have to fight myself about a workout, but when I do, I am the queen of excuses! When it happens, I try to remember that I *always* feel better having DONE it, and *always* feel worse when I don’t.

  2. Hefty Humor August 13, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    A quote that we have found really helpful and inspirational during times like this is “Never trade what you want right now [to lounge, sleep, eat, relax] for what you really want [fitness, weight loss].” Good luck today!

  3. Nanci August 13, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Being a girl totally sucks.I mean I wouldn’t want to be a guy, but girl stuff is a pain in the butt and hormones can screw everything up. I am so glad you’re going to get back to it tomorrow. Enjoy that long walk today!

  4. IamIrene (@itrytotri) August 13, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    You are gonna rock it tomorrow. I just know it.

  5. KCLAnderson (Karen) August 14, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Lately I haven’t been very good at forcing myself out the door…so if you figure it out, please let me know!! 😉

    And those hormones…they really exacerbate stuff don’t they??

  6. Lorinda @ Waisting Away August 14, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Yes, hormones are such cruel and nasty things. They not only mess with us physically but emotionally and mentally as well. And when they go even a little out of whack they’re even worse! I’ve been having issues the last few months as well. Makes figuring who the ‘real me’ is difficult sometimes. Is it my voice or the hormones talking? I hope yesterday’s walk helped and that you rocked your run today!

  7. AnnG August 18, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    I wish I had an easy answer for you but I don’t…sometimes being a girl really sucks! My hormones are waaaaaaay off and I haven’t had a period in months! I’m sure I’m pre-menopausal but wow with the hormones…up and down and up and down really sucks big time! Hope you get regulated soon!

Leave a Reply

