a pain in the …

15 Aug

photo source

 

My last post I bitched about being a girl and then I went about my day. Saturdays are my day to clean. I go over to Ocean City and I clean changeovers (basically, people come to the shore for a week and I clean in between rentals) in some of the nicest remodels OC has to offer.

Well, after two and half hours of aggressive cleaning I bent down to pick up a fuzzie off the floor I was mopping and I felt a tweak. I didn’t really think too much of it and when on my way with the mopping. By the time I was done mopping and had loaded up the car to head home my back was very angry. By the time I got out of the car at my mom’s house I was really in pain. By the time I got back to my house,  I could barely stand up straight.

Oh fuck!

I was so not a happy camper.

I mean seriously, how in the world did I mess up my back so bad?!?! I didn’t do anything out of the ordinary!!

There was not much I could do but rest it! I spent all day Sunday babying my back – hot showers, woodlock massages, biofreeze, hot epsom salt baths, REST! Do you know how hard it is to rest on a Sunday when I had 10 miles scheduled?!?

Do you know how hard it is to rest when I was just getting back to my groove?!? No, it wasn’t perfect but I was getting there.

Do you know how hard it is to rest when your own house needs cleaning but you wacked out your back cleaning other people’s houses?!?

Last night I went to bed feeling like I had made some progress with my tweaked back. Apparently NOT!

I woke up all wonky again and I am not a happy camper.

I am not going to let this get me down <~~~this might be harder than I make it seem. I am trying so hard not to be negative and down in the dumps but really it is going to be hard.

I am scheduled for a half marathon on August 28th.

I am going to use this as a lesson to LISTEN to my body.

I know I have not been properly training the rest of my body.  Sure, I have been running and logging lots of miles but I have not been consistent with strength or cross training. I wonder if this back-thing is my body’s way of reminding me there is more to training than running?!?

I am going to go ponder this while I watch the pouring rain!!  I have an acupuncture appointment tonight and if I can get myself out of the house I may hit up my chiropractor as well.

I may whine a lot.

But I will try to stay positive….or at least, I will try not to whine too loudly!

I really hope to give you an upbeat post soon.

xox

live signature

8 Responses to “a pain in the …”

  1. Nanci August 15, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    I feel your pain, girl. I have a sensitive back since throwing it out several years ago picking up a paper cutter. It wasn’t heavy, I just moved the wrong way. And ever since then, not only do I not go near the paper cutter, but I have to be really careful with my back because clearly it can go out from the stupidest thing. And it sucks. When it happens it can take days for it to get better. So don’t ignore it, listen to your body and take the time let it heal. I know how hard it is when you want to run, run, run. I know… Hugs!!

  2. HeShatSheShat August 15, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Back pain sucks!

  3. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama August 15, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Oh, dude. I’m so sorry. Back injuries are the worst! Hopefully the acupuncture (brave girl) worked and you were able to get to the chiro for an adjustment!

  4. Ryan Raphael August 15, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Hope you are feeling better. Sometimes it’s simple as picking a piece of paper off the floor, our bodies know when to say it had enough. Hope the acupuncture did the trick

  5. Elisha Dew August 15, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Oh god, do I feel your pain. As in, I hurt my back two weeks ago, just when I was starting to get the hang of this running thing, and by doing absolutely nothing at all. WTF, Cosmos?

    All I can say, to you and me both, is “Listen to your body. It knows what it needs.”

    Sometimes I have to repeat it over and over and over, but I keep trying, hoping it will sink in.

    I hope you feel better ASAP. 🙂

  6. Patty @A Day in My NYC August 16, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I hope you are feeling better soon! {hugs}

    I agree 100% with you girl rant! 🙂

  7. AnnG August 18, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Hope the back is feeling better by now. Sounds like accupuncture and chiro did good for you! Sorry you whacked it up…that really sucks!

  8. Kris M Beal August 18, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    you can whine with me… I wish I could blame running on my injury. And I was even “cross trained” – 2 min planks blah blah blah – so when I tweaked mine doing NOTHING – I was SHOCKED!
    I know you hate this… but slow and steady… listen to your body so that you can properly heal. You DO NOT want this to be a permanent, forever, nagging injury.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

